We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   18 Sea Fan Drive, KY1-1401, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Great meals - Save now!
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Grand Cayman
Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfection as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is our third time staying with CCR. They make everything so easy! Arie goes beyond being a great host! If you ever think about owning your own resort, spend a week with Arie and find out what it takes to be a businessman who not only cares about his guests but also his staff. The pkg with the room and food and diving is awesome. You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guests, I just loved the way you summed up your experience while staying with us in July. You made a good choice going with the meal plan and at US$60 per day/per person for lunch, dinner and gratuity, there is no better offer then that. As you know, the Cayman Island dollar exchanges at US$1.25. With only 20 suites, the staff is never stressed to take care of the guests. Thanks for commenting on the service. I'll pass on your kind comments. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    55
    4
    9
    1
See reviews for
75
114
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the moment we began interacting with the folks at Cobalt Coast (used their website), we had nothing but wonderful, prompt, warm service! From on-line booking to confirmation and question follow up e-mails to the stay itself, we LOVED everything about Cobalt Coast! Arie and Dora were more than concerned that our stay be amazing, and it was! In fact, this was our 3rd time to Grand Cayman, but our first to Cobalt Coast and we now know we would go no place else! This will be our new island "home away from home". Every single person at Cobalt Coast worked diligently and tirelessly to make our vacation the best one yet! And in closing to give you a sense of how they treat their guests, my husband had lost a pen in one of their chairs, and Arie e-mailed us and told us he'd ship it back to us! You ain't going to find that kind of patron dedication anywhere these days!
We love Cobalt Coast and can't wait to get back there next trip, I am just sorry Trip Advisor doesn't have more stars!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernedHost, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear guest, Not sure why I did not respond earlier, my apologies. You were so kind sharing your experience about your stay with us, that I just do not know what to say but thanks. Hope you keep us on your list for a return visit. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This had to be one of my best vacations. We came down to the Caymans to get our open water PADI dive certification and the Cobalt Coast Resort had been recommended. It outdid my expectations. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The facilities were well maintained. The proximity to Dive Tech is unbeatable. Arie and Dora are on top of everything and very gracious hosts. We met some of the nicest, most fun people. There is a certain kind of kinship there amongst the guests and people join and include each other in meals and drinks and adventure sharing. Not everyone we met was there to dive, and there wasn't if a "divers only" vibe, which made it so unpretentious and warm. Dive Tech was amazing. The staff is competent and efficient but also really fun, and informative. If I had to do the whole SCUBA thing all over, I would have done the entire program there. We did the 6 week program in Ct and just went down for our certification open water dives. We will definitely be going back-- hopefully meeting back up with the same people we just met and left there!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocen view suite on the 2nd floor and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dusty, "This had to be one of my best vacations". Can I add anything else, without spoiling your write up? Thank you so much for your kind comments. You picked on some very important subtleties. You will always remember Cayman for doing your certification dives and I just hope our name comes up as well. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my first time in Grand Cayman but I had heard amazing things about it always. So far so good. This is a Dive resort (SCUBA/CCR) where many divers come to learn to renew to just plain have fun!
Dora and Arie are the owners an they are SO nice. The rooms are large and clean, they are cool and they have everything you could need. A refrigerator, a desk for working, a couch, a great bed, a large bathroom where they even supply shampoo and soap and a hair dryer!
The meals are very very good and they are always fresh. You can have just about anything you want for breakfast, including teas and coffees and juices.
They have a full bar and they can mix just about anything.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They work very hard to keep things running and to be there for you.
This is mostly a divers resort so most everyone who stays here is a hard core diver. Though it would also be a good place to get your training, to discover SCUBA or to get your check out dives done.
The Dive shop is very nice and they are more than willing to help out in anyway.
This resort has a pool and a convenient dock where you can just walk off and swim or snorkel at your leisure.
the Caymans are not cheap so don't be fooled that you wont spend a lot of money because you will. But in my experience going to many many tropical islands this seems to be one of my top spots so far.
If you want a good dive experience, to meet new friends from all over the world, good food, good laughs this is your place.
ALSO you can get a van to StingRay city from the resort.
You can also take a bus into town to do some shopping.
The resort can help you plan any of these things with ease.
Just ask and they will accommodate whatever your interests are.

Room Tip: All the room here are nice. If there are large groups of people staying up late and having a few co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ms. Redness, It is fun reading about your experience and impressions of the resort and the dive shop. Kind of sounds like a place I would like to stay at. Maybe it is our size, 20 units only which makes us attractive, away from the hustle and bustle and never crowded. The cost of living in the Islands is contributed to the exchange of the Cayman dollar, 1.25 US for one Cayman dollar, but do not feel too bad for us, in return we get to experience a great vacation destination or wonderful place to live and as you discovered, there are ways to make ends meet. At our restaurant we never charge extra for splitting a plate and then we offer the mealplan, lunch and dinner at US$60 per person, including the gratuity. Wow, now your are saving and dining in style, oceanfront! I hope we stay on your list and we do look forward to welcome you back again, soon. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a Fantastic place to Stay, Clean and Refreshing. IF your stay is in Caymans, this is the Place. Rooms are great. always Cleans. IF you a Scuba Diver, it the best in Grand Caymans. Its Relaxing and Quiet, Fantastic Staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you so much for great comments about our resort and our staff. You summed it up beautifully. I know we can count on you to visit us again. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom garden suite. This place is across a one lane road from the hotel. It is not attached to any other building. It is like a nice cabin inside, kind of like a well kept North Woods cabin. Plenty of room in the bedrooms, and the kitchen is adequately equipped. It was surprisingly clean, and the maid came in midweek and spent three hours cleaning it up. Props to her. My wife is a clean freak, and her only complaints were a little mold in the grout of the shower and the refrigerator, which she cleaned when we got there. The Cobalt Coast is in West End, a little way away from the hotel zone. You get a little of the local vibe. It took me a day or two to decide, but we liked it better than staying on Seven Mile Beach. One of the local dogs, who we nicknamed Stinky, would usually sleep on our front porch in the afternoons. All in all, very satisfying.

Like everyone says, Ari and Dora were very charming, as was the rest of the staff. The pool is small but adequate. We dove with Divetech, and I snorkeled with my wife off the dock. Divetech is a little more expensive than other dive shops in the area. They did a good job and were very convenient, but I'm not sure if they were worth the extra cost or not. One of our fellow divers said they are one of the best when it comes to technical diving. I don't have much to compare it to. The snorkeling right off the dock is very good.

I saw one comment recently that said that the island is very expensive and the food mediocre. I agree that it is very expensive. That is hard to avoid. However, there was very good food right in the local area. We ate at Pappagallo, Calypso Grill, Morgan Harbor, the Cracked Conch, Heritage Kitchen, and Cobalt Cove, all of which we got from Tripadvisor reviews. Every meal was excellent. I would recommend all of them, and make several suggestions. First, you might be tempted to skip Heritage Kitchen because it is a small hole in the wall with picnic tables. That would be a mistake. You can split a serving of mahi mahi, grouper, or snapper, between two people for $12.50 US. Best deal for fresh fish on the island. BYOB and make it a great meal by the beach. You can get groceries at any of the Fosters IGA's, but the one on the way to West End has a combo IGA and Costco like box store. Bring alcohol if possible because it is ridiculously expensive.

All in all, we enjoyed it greatly and will be back. We recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Steve, Thanks for your report about your experience at our resort. The garden suite or cottages you referred to in your comments, are located just behind the resort, away from the ocean, a few hundred yards away in a garden setting. You were able to book the garden suites through Global Connections, a Vacation Club I have worked with for several years. And I am happy you did. As you said, dinners can be expensive where even you live, but with a bit of thought and planning you can have a great evening out and not go broke. Heritage Kitchen my favorite local place for Fish Tea. And thanks for warning me that you will be back! I love that. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent a week at Cobalt Coast in April, and enjoyed every moment. Our room was comfy, clean and well-appointed, the food selection and service outstanding, and Dora and Arie so very helpful.
But, oh, the view!!! We opted for an oceanfront king suite, and each day began with our morning coffee and email (free wifi!) while overlooking the lovely, sometimes unruly Caribbean. The lone, long pier stretching out to the fishes was the only sign of human existence from our second floor, and it seemed as if we had the entire coastline to ourselves. The pool was refreshing, the Dive Tech staff friendly and helpful, and Mojo and Ivan helped us feel so much at home. We definitely plan to return for another relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Room 16 is right above the restaurant and bar, but the divers tend to go to bed really early, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest, Reading about your experience is like watching Candid Camera, a vacation day at Cobalt Coast Resort. You were able to pin down exactly what we are all about, trying to compliment our location, away from the crowded areas. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with all of us. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites

Address: 18 Sea Fan Drive, KY1-1401, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Cayman
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a residential area in Grand Cayman's north shore, Cobalt Coast offers oceanfront lodging. Cobalt Coast has a full restaurant and bar and dive center Divetech on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobalt Coast Resort And Suites
Cobalt Coast Hotel Grand Cayman
Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobalt Coast Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.