We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touching stingrays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sting Ray City

Sting Ray City
KY1-1207, Grand Cayman
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sting Ray City like an insider
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Cayman Islands Breakfast and Snorkel Cruise to...
Ranked #1 of 161 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Jackson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touching stingrays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have visited the Caymans twice now and have visited Stingray Sandbar both times. It is amazing that there are so many huge stingrays to feed and hold! This past time we were treated to an even better view since there were few boats there. I would advise planning your trip for 2:00 or later so that all of the cruise ship people have left. This meant that we had only 25 people on our tour and so had more individualize attention when in the water. One of our party had only snorkeled once before. Our captain Vernon, from Captain Marvin's pulled her around on the floatation ring and showed her personally many types of fish - some that I never saw during my snorkel adventure that day. We stopped at two other places as well. The third stop was to feed fish. I felt like I was in an aquarium because there were hundreds of fish and so many different kinds! An amazing adventure!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,361
    294
    36
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great one of a kind experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visited the Stingray City as part of a wave runner excursion. We first met at a private resort/beach area where we changed and set out across the absolutely clear water to Stingray City. There were a few chartered boats there when we arrived but there is plenty of area to spread out, not to mention there was much more room when my wife jumped into my sons arms when she saw the shadow of a giant stingray. These creatures are amazing and gentle, we were given a class and squid from our guide to feed them by hand, you can also put your arms out and they will come right up to your lips IF YOU ARE BRAVE. If you do this it is supposedly good luck, this is a must to see and at a minimum the water is beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“If you miss it, you've missed out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A true experience for everyone and one you won't soon forget!

Don't let fear stop you, just say "yes" to Stingray City!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's a must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Grand Cayman, but for visitors this is a must do. Period. Do it! Personally, I have always taken my guests to Stingray City via Captain Marvin's. They are affordable, friendly and do not overcrowd their boats.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A spiritual experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited the Caymans a few years ago, and went to this attraction. I cannot remember the name of the charter, but they were very nice. They were located in a strip mall on one of the main roads. If you go to the Grand Caymans, you absolutely MUST go on this charter. The stingrays are calm, and sweet, and are always hungry for the squid you will feed them. To be up close with these birds of the sea, is an amazing and spiritual experience. We did not have any issues with the charter, the photographers, or the stingrays. You must always remember that stingrays in other parts of the world are not used to humans like these are, and even at the other side of the Caymans at Rum Point, they are not "domesticated" and you should be respectful of them. I think that everyone should have a chance to share 15 minutes with these gentle creatures and their view of ocean life will change for the betterment of all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sting Ray City also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Sting Ray City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sting Ray City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.