We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Complex, Very Nice Condo Unit #24” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Bay Condos

Tamarind Bay Condos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarind Bay Condos
West Bay Rd | P.O. Box 30243 SMB, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Wonderful Complex, Very Nice Condo Unit #24”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This review is written on behalf of 4 people (couple in mid-sixties and a couple in mid 40s and 50s).

How we found condo: We booked 3 nights (Fri/Sat/Sun) in Condo #24 using VBRO.com for Tamarind Bay. Although, I didn’t partner with an ‘owner’ like I normally do when using VBRO, instead I emailed Kathy, the office manager at Tamarind Bay. Our stay w/tax was about $1,200 and the condo was about 1800 square foot with 3 bedrooms/2 bathrooms. My parents sleep apart so we needed a 3 bedroom place to stay.

Location: Is on the South end of SMB (closer to Georgetown) and is 2-3 buildings away from the Marriott. Coconut Joe’s is across the street. Kirk’s Supermarket is about a 20 minute walk (one way), heading towards Georgetown. We booked the condo about 2 months prior to arrival.

Condo, Pool, Beach: The condo was quite large, had a screened in porch (pool/ocean view) and an outdoor patio off the master bedroom (pool/ocean view). The beds were very comfortable and the place had lots of ceiling fans. The beach out front was better snorkeling than I had expected (shore snorkels). My parents didn’t like how rocky it was since they are in their sixties and felt ‘unstable’ walking into the ocean but you can’t have good snorkeling without a reef so I had not expected a flat ocean floor right outside the condo. If you walked down past the Marriott, there was a large flat area that you could enter the ocean to just float/relax. The beach loungers provided by Tamarind Bay were in a good condition and the beach umbrellas were durable. Since we were a group of 4 and all of us wanted plenty of shade, we were glad that our condo unit had a beach umbrella since it allowed us a good span of shade. The wine colored umbrella’s Tamarind Bay provided are not portable we were unable to move two of them together so that we all 4 could have shade. The pool felt like it was heated and during our stay, we were nearly the only ones in it. The pool ‘box’ had plenty of noodles/floaters, etc… but these are ‘shared’ and may not be available. We used the outdoor table (under the gazebo, once to eat dinner and play dominos).

Miscellaneous: Since the condo wasn’t rented before or after our stay, we were able to check in 2 hours early and we checked out 1 hour past time. Housekeeping came once during our short stay (on Saturday) and replaced our towels. The grounds keeper is always hard at work (cleaning pool, beach and making sure the chairs/umbrella’s on the beach are occupied by only Tamarind Bay guests. We used the shared grill, by the pool twice (for dinner and the next day for lunch) and it was very clean and worked well. During our stay, we estimated that out of the 28 condo’s there, about 6-8 were actually rented. The establishment felt like a ghost town (which was fine with us). The complex was relaxing and quiet – just what we were looking for. Thank you, Tamarind Bay for providing such nice accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I cannot say enough about this unit. We have been fortunate to travel extensively and have rented vacation homes and villas in other countries. This is by far one of my favorite places we have stayed. Perfectly situated right over the beach and ocean. I had done quite a bit of research and picked this unit due to the reviews I read and the great pictures online. Honestly, none of them prepared me for our first moments coming through the front door. It literally took my breath away! The large front window with the view of the ocean and beach is indescribable. There is a large sectional sofa that my husband claimed as his own and sat many, many hours just watching the happenings on the beach and ocean. It was rather warm while we there so we would watch the sunset each night from that very couch. The rest of unit is beautiful and recently remodeled. Both bedrooms have king size beds. The kitchen was well appointed. The entire unit is decorated with quality finishes. The bathrooms are completely tiled, every room has large crown molding and the window coverings are high quality and functional. The facility is great. Perfect pool, outdoor grills we used often, lots of beach chairs. More quiet on this part of the beach but we liked that. We snorkeled every day right outside our door. The Marriott is just down the way and had lots of activities going on. Excellent unit, wonderful location, beautiful complex. My only advise would be to check a bag with spices, sunscreen, coffee, collapsable cooler, insulated water bottles, insulated coffee mugs, snorkeling equipment. All of these things are expensive there and make it worth it to just bring along. For once, we did not check a bag and did a carry on and regret the decision. We got stopped numerous times on our return trip with bag checks, etc. Plus I think I would have saved hundreds of dollars in buying all those items state side, when I could even find them. (We spent $50 on spices alone!). We cooked in the unit everyday and only out to dinner 4 times in 8 days. The grocery store is about a mile walk. We would walk there and take the bus back. Overall a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in Unit #5...it was perfect...condo was in great shape, the grounds are immaculate (as others have stated, Thanks Henry!), unbelievable view from the family room, 10 feet from the pool and the beach (and the beach is definitely back), walking distance to many restaurants, bars, stores, etc...tempted not to even write a review, as I don't want the competition in booking it for next year :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is our third place we have stayed on the island, and for certain our most favorite. Tamarind Bay offer something for everyone in the family. Stepping outside the door onto the beach or pool, great snorkeling, breezes, sun. The unit we're staying in is ground floor, oceanfront, and is beautiful. The owner and management have paid attention to every detail, that there isn't one small thing I could improve. The groundskeeper, Henry, is an absolute treasure. He does a meticulous job with the gardens, pool area, and watching the beach area too. We will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Tamarind Bay for 9 days during the Christmas Holidays and had a fabulous time! We were in unit 26 (third floor) and had a great view of the ocean. The grounds are very well maintained. The location is perfect: within walking distance of many great restaurants, nice shops and Camana Bay. Also it's a short drive from the airport.
Finding a place on the beach is never a problem, there are many chairs and palapas and it's not at all crowded.
For those wondering about the beach situation: it's all back !! The kids had a blast building huge sand castles. And the beachfront pool is a great feature for families.

Don't hesitate, it's a perfect place!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in Unit #16 during the last week of July 2012.
Condo Unit Details:
Unit #16 is a 2 Bedroom + 1 Den unit full ocean facing unit. The Den was converted into a 3rd Bedroom. Tamarind Bay is a C shaped Condominium. Unit 16 is a second floor unit at the edge of the C. This is an important detail as you have full ocean front from the unit. Also you have ocean view from every room in the unit. The Living room directly faces the ocean. The screened patio also faces the ocean directly. The screened patio is accessible from the Living room, Den and from the Master bedroom. Also the Den is very nicely converted into a bedroom with full privacy. The Kitchen is well equipped. We were 3 adults and 4 children and the Kitchen had all we needed for cooking and dining. The unit has excellent WIFI, Cable TV, Skype for calling back to US and another phone for local calls.

Complex:
As a few people have mentioned, this is a well kept complex. Depending on your arrangement with the owner, you will get a set number of housekeeping visit / week. There is a groundskeeper on site. The complex has a nice pool and several gas grills for resident's use. The office is during daytime and are quite helpful and efficient. As some of you might have heard, the beach in front of the unit has suffered significant erosion. There is very little beach left in front of the complex. The complex office contacted us a few weeks before our visit and appraised of the situation. They also gave us the option of cancelling the reservation without penalty or avail of a good discount. We decided to keep the reservation and are quite happy with the decision. There is not enough beach yet for lounge chairs and so I would check this with the complex if this is important for you.

Reservation:
We found the unit through vrbo. The owner was quite responsive and the the entire reservation is handled by the complex office. They are quite responsive and provide very effective and efficient service. I was contemplating on 2 units in the same complex and the office was very helpful in describing the difference between the 2 units and help us make the decision. They were also very informative when the erosion situation happened. They provided all the information we needed to make a decision on whether to go ahead.

Location:
The Complex is located on Seven mile beach. This is an excellent section of SMB from a proximity point of view. It is located a little south of Marriot. For Groceries, there are 2 supermarkets (Kirk is 1 mile south and Fosters is 1.5 miles north). Not within Walking distance, but can take a bus. For quick pick up of basic stuff like milk and eggs, there is a Texaco within walking distance. Andy's Rent a car is literally on the other side of the SMB road. Chicken Chicken, Pizza Hut, Wendy's are well within a short walking distance. There are a few other places like Burger King, Cimboco which are a little farther, but can be walked to by able adults. The Chicken Chicken complex has a liquor store with a good selection and a Cigar shop (Havana Club). So this is an ideal place from a convenience point of view. This is my second time staying in the same area (not the same complex), and every time I rent a car only to go to Rum point (a day or max day and a half).

Summary:

An Excellent condo at an ideal location. The only downside is the beach erosion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tb28, Owner at Tamarind Bay Condos, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are happy to announce that our beach is now in great condition ! In December , the beautiful sand gradually came back and the rocks are all covered . It' s quite amazing !
We have plenty of chairs and umbrellas on the beach . No need to worry , our guests will fully enjoy their stay at Tamarind Bay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at Tamarind Bay for one week in Unit 28. Everything exceeded our expectations, from check-in through to our departure. The owner was quick to respond to our booking request, and was available to answer questions and provide additional information. Kathy and all the staff at Tamarind Bay were very friendly and helpful.
We loved the location of the property, which is kept in immaculate condition. The view of the pool and Seven Mile Beach from the terrace in Unit 28 (and the living room, and the master bedroom) was spectacular. The condo unit was clean, nicely decorated and had everything we needed.
The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and it was nice that the poolside was always quiet -- no need to fight for a chair or umbrella like at some hotels/resorts. We all had a fantastic time snorkelling out front. The man-made reef just steps up the beach was the perfect place to see all kinds of marine life.
The whole Cayman experience was pleasant. There are many great places within walking distance from Tamarind Bay. Grocery stores, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. are close by. And if you don't want to walk, there are frequent "busses" (they are vans) that will stop and pick you up as you walk. You can rent a car right across the street at Andy's, and drive to Rum Point-- well worth the trip.
Tamarind Bay is definitely the perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind Bay Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Bay Condos

Address: West Bay Rd | P.O. Box 30243 SMB, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Specialty lodging in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Tamarind Bay Condos Hotel Grand Cayman
Tamarind Bay Condos Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Bay Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tamarind Bay Condos to your Saves list