We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarind Bay Unit 16” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Bay Condos

Tamarind Bay Condos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarind Bay Condos
Save
You added Tamarind Bay Condos to your Saves list
West Bay Rd | P.O. Box 30243 SMB, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tamarind Bay Unit 16”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I cannot say enough about this unit. We have been fortunate to travel extensively and have rented vacation homes and villas in other countries. This is by far one of my favorite places we have stayed. Perfectly situated right over the beach and ocean. I had done quite a bit of research and picked this unit due to the reviews I read and the great pictures online. Honestly, none of them prepared me for our first moments coming through the front door. It literally took my breath away! The large front window with the view of the ocean and beach is indescribable. There is a large sectional sofa that my husband claimed as his own and sat many, many hours just watching the happenings on the beach and ocean. It was rather warm while we there so we would watch the sunset each night from that very couch. The rest of unit is beautiful and recently remodeled. Both bedrooms have king size beds. The kitchen was well appointed. The entire unit is decorated with quality finishes. The bathrooms are completely tiled, every room has large crown molding and the window coverings are high quality and functional. The facility is great. Perfect pool, outdoor grills we used often, lots of beach chairs. More quiet on this part of the beach but we liked that. We snorkeled every day right outside our door. The Marriott is just down the way and had lots of activities going on. Excellent unit, wonderful location, beautiful complex. My only advise would be to check a bag with spices, sunscreen, coffee, collapsable cooler, insulated water bottles, insulated coffee mugs, snorkeling equipment. All of these things are expensive there and make it worth it to just bring along. For once, we did not check a bag and did a carry on and regret the decision. We got stopped numerous times on our return trip with bag checks, etc. Plus I think I would have saved hundreds of dollars in buying all those items state side, when I could even find them. (We spent $50 on spices alone!). We cooked in the unit everyday and only out to dinner 4 times in 8 days. The grocery store is about a mile walk. We would walk there and take the bus back. Overall a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in Unit #5...it was perfect...condo was in great shape, the grounds are immaculate (as others have stated, Thanks Henry!), unbelievable view from the family room, 10 feet from the pool and the beach (and the beach is definitely back), walking distance to many restaurants, bars, stores, etc...tempted not to even write a review, as I don't want the competition in booking it for next year :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is our third place we have stayed on the island, and for certain our most favorite. Tamarind Bay offer something for everyone in the family. Stepping outside the door onto the beach or pool, great snorkeling, breezes, sun. The unit we're staying in is ground floor, oceanfront, and is beautiful. The owner and management have paid attention to every detail, that there isn't one small thing I could improve. The groundskeeper, Henry, is an absolute treasure. He does a meticulous job with the gardens, pool area, and watching the beach area too. We will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Tamarind Bay for 9 days during the Christmas Holidays and had a fabulous time! We were in unit 26 (third floor) and had a great view of the ocean. The grounds are very well maintained. The location is perfect: within walking distance of many great restaurants, nice shops and Camana Bay. Also it's a short drive from the airport.
Finding a place on the beach is never a problem, there are many chairs and palapas and it's not at all crowded.
For those wondering about the beach situation: it's all back !! The kids had a blast building huge sand castles. And the beachfront pool is a great feature for families.

Don't hesitate, it's a perfect place!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in Unit #16 during the last week of July 2012.
Condo Unit Details:
Unit #16 is a 2 Bedroom + 1 Den unit full ocean facing unit. The Den was converted into a 3rd Bedroom. Tamarind Bay is a C shaped Condominium. Unit 16 is a second floor unit at the edge of the C. This is an important detail as you have full ocean front from the unit. Also you have ocean view from every room in the unit. The Living room directly faces the ocean. The screened patio also faces the ocean directly. The screened patio is accessible from the Living room, Den and from the Master bedroom. Also the Den is very nicely converted into a bedroom with full privacy. The Kitchen is well equipped. We were 3 adults and 4 children and the Kitchen had all we needed for cooking and dining. The unit has excellent WIFI, Cable TV, Skype for calling back to US and another phone for local calls.

Complex:
As a few people have mentioned, this is a well kept complex. Depending on your arrangement with the owner, you will get a set number of housekeeping visit / week. There is a groundskeeper on site. The complex has a nice pool and several gas grills for resident's use. The office is during daytime and are quite helpful and efficient. As some of you might have heard, the beach in front of the unit has suffered significant erosion. There is very little beach left in front of the complex. The complex office contacted us a few weeks before our visit and appraised of the situation. They also gave us the option of cancelling the reservation without penalty or avail of a good discount. We decided to keep the reservation and are quite happy with the decision. There is not enough beach yet for lounge chairs and so I would check this with the complex if this is important for you.

Reservation:
We found the unit through vrbo. The owner was quite responsive and the the entire reservation is handled by the complex office. They are quite responsive and provide very effective and efficient service. I was contemplating on 2 units in the same complex and the office was very helpful in describing the difference between the 2 units and help us make the decision. They were also very informative when the erosion situation happened. They provided all the information we needed to make a decision on whether to go ahead.

Location:
The Complex is located on Seven mile beach. This is an excellent section of SMB from a proximity point of view. It is located a little south of Marriot. For Groceries, there are 2 supermarkets (Kirk is 1 mile south and Fosters is 1.5 miles north). Not within Walking distance, but can take a bus. For quick pick up of basic stuff like milk and eggs, there is a Texaco within walking distance. Andy's Rent a car is literally on the other side of the SMB road. Chicken Chicken, Pizza Hut, Wendy's are well within a short walking distance. There are a few other places like Burger King, Cimboco which are a little farther, but can be walked to by able adults. The Chicken Chicken complex has a liquor store with a good selection and a Cigar shop (Havana Club). So this is an ideal place from a convenience point of view. This is my second time staying in the same area (not the same complex), and every time I rent a car only to go to Rum point (a day or max day and a half).

Summary:

An Excellent condo at an ideal location. The only downside is the beach erosion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tb28, Owner at Tamarind Bay Condos, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are happy to announce that our beach is now in great condition ! In December , the beautiful sand gradually came back and the rocks are all covered . It' s quite amazing !
We have plenty of chairs and umbrellas on the beach . No need to worry , our guests will fully enjoy their stay at Tamarind Bay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at Tamarind Bay for one week in Unit 28. Everything exceeded our expectations, from check-in through to our departure. The owner was quick to respond to our booking request, and was available to answer questions and provide additional information. Kathy and all the staff at Tamarind Bay were very friendly and helpful.
We loved the location of the property, which is kept in immaculate condition. The view of the pool and Seven Mile Beach from the terrace in Unit 28 (and the living room, and the master bedroom) was spectacular. The condo unit was clean, nicely decorated and had everything we needed.
The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and it was nice that the poolside was always quiet -- no need to fight for a chair or umbrella like at some hotels/resorts. We all had a fantastic time snorkelling out front. The man-made reef just steps up the beach was the perfect place to see all kinds of marine life.
The whole Cayman experience was pleasant. There are many great places within walking distance from Tamarind Bay. Grocery stores, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. are close by. And if you don't want to walk, there are frequent "busses" (they are vans) that will stop and pick you up as you walk. You can rent a car right across the street at Andy's, and drive to Rum Point-- well worth the trip.
Tamarind Bay is definitely the perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookson, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I and another couple just returned from a weeklong vacation at Tamarind Bay in unit 28. The whole complex is very well kept - neat as a pin everywhere that you look. All of the staff were very helpful and very friendly. Unit 28 had 2 bedrooms (in addition to a den that could be used as a bedroom), 2 baths and it was great-comfortable, clean and it was stocked with everything we needed to cook whatever we wanted. We LOVED the screened in porch. We lived there whenever we were not on the beach or in the pool. The washer and dryer in the unit were also very handy. Tamarind Bay is in a great location as well - close to restaurants, shopping. We did rent a car, which was helpful for grocery shopping - but otherwise could have done without it. We would definitely stay here again but would appreciate a firmer mattress on the master bedroom bed.

Room Tip: It is a 3 story facility without elevators, so make sure to book a ground floor room if you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Bay Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Bay Condos

Address: West Bay Rd | P.O. Box 30243 SMB, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Tamarind Bay Condos Hotel Grand Cayman
Tamarind Bay Condos Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Bay Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.