We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Cayman Islands!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Pappagallo

Villas Pappagallo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas Pappagallo to your Saves list
Villas Pappagallo
West Bay Barker | P.O. Box 41GT, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the Cayman Islands!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We have traveled to a number of beach destinations in the Carribean and Mexico, and Cayman has been our favorite so far.

If youre staying at Pappagallo you will need to rent a car. However we loved driving around the island, discovering different beaches and snorkeling spots. I recommend Smith's Cove for great swimming and snorkeling, and GeorgeTown for shopping and eating out.

We stocked up on groceries at a nearby market and prices were very reasonable. We also tried some of the bars and restaurants. The seafood we had was all fresh and delicious. Theres also Wendys, Subway, Pizza Hut, and KFCs for those who favor familiarity.

The location of the villa was excellent. 10 minutes north of Seven Mile, very private, corner unit, steps from the beach. The beach is great for laying out, and we saw a number of fish snorkeling in the ocean. It is not a swimming beach and watershoes are recommended. It was nice having a pool and we used it a couple of times. There appears to be a hot tub but the water was never actually warm.

The unit was clean and well deocrated. It was definitely spacious enough for 5 people. I loved waking up each morning and relaxing on the ocean front balcony. The downstairs living area was updated and bright. The only reason we gave it a 4 was because the TV wasnt working and the electronic front door locks randomly malfunctioned.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The is a resort type atmosphere with large well kept condos, beautiful views of the sea, a private dock, a reef plentiful with marine life, miles of secluded beach to walk. a newly renovated pool and jacuzzi, friendly folks. A "home away from home" feeling as the condos are actually owners homes that are inspected and licensed by the Cayman Department of Tourism. Do not pass this up. Ten minutes gets you to any night life that you would want. A great five star restaurant across the street and many others within a few minutes drive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We spent two weeks in a two bed condo in this small development at an isolated location in the west of the island.

The condo we stayed in, we were told by the condo manager, was one of those that had not been upgraded. But it was in every respect beautifully decorated, with everything you could possibly want. There were four terraces each with a great view of the beach and the sea.

The condos share a lovely little pool and a beach. At the time of year we were there we usually had the pool and beach to ourselves, and there was never more than 8 people. The beach is idyllic, with no buildings in sight in either direction, it is what everyone would think of as a perfect tropical getaway. The sea is not ideal for swimming, because there are rocks in the water. You can enter the water from the boat dock if you wish to swim in the sea. The snorkelling from the dock is OK. We saw barracuda, flounders, rays and numberous reef fish, but we have snokelled in much better locatioins in the carribean. Strong swimmers could go out to the reef, which is 300 or so yards out.

In summary if you want an idyllic good quality quite location, within easy reach of 7 mile beach and George Town, this would be difficult to beat. It is not party central though, so if you want nightlife close at hand, this is not for you.

  • Liked — The isolated locatiioin
  • Disliked — Lack of straightforward entry into the sea
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
je_5172008
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We chose to stay at Villa Pappagallo for our honeymoon and it was EXCELLENT. We were only minutes away from the famous 7 mile beach... We booked through caymanvillas.com and were very pleased with our stay. We loved the peace and quiet... we were typically the only ones on the beach or in the pool. We chose this instead of a hotel because it had a full kitchen and 2 views of the ocean. :) We highly recommend this place if you are looking for some r & r--instead of the crowded beach. We snorkeled right off the dock and enjoyed nice sunsets on the same dock. We came here not wanting to be waited on hand and foot but to just enjoy each other and the atmosphere. We payed less for a 1 bedroom condo here than we would have on a hotel room--plus it helped to have the full kitchen to make our own meals since most of the meals are expensive in cayman. If you are looking for a place who has staff serve you left and right, a place that has a crowded beach, a place that is near all the touristy things---then this is not the place for you! The only thing that we didn't realize that we would have to do was to rent a car for our 10 day honeymoon. An extra expense that we would highly recommend if staying here. We loved this place and hope this helped! :)

  • Liked — it was ALL great!
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Mark and I came down for some r & r at Villas Poppagallos and we loved it. He had been here before so he thought I would like it. I not only liked it, I loved the peace and quiet! It was far away from town enough so we could enjoy getting away from the tourism, and the restaurant was very romantic. If you want a clean, and tastefully decorated villa to stay in, I would recommend this condominium complex. Children love it too since the horses are next door, and the sanctuary on the right.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

I am taken aback by the review written by ftkdenny reference the poor service. Villas Pappagallo does NOT have a restaurant. There is a restaurant (Ristorante Pappagallo) located across the road from the Villas but it is not associated with the Villas.

As for the Villas, the condos are privately owned and are rented/leased by the individual owners for the most part. The complex has a manager who in turn supervises the maintenance staff, maids (available at extra charge) and groundskeeper.

Reviewers of this complex are correct when saying it is quiet and "remote" since it is located at the far north side of West Bay and is next to a nature area.

As for water sports and snorkeling, there are none. There is a beach and a pier but the water is too shallow and a seabed strewn with rock. You have to travel elsewhere if you are looking for these activities.

The facility is mostly residential in nature.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell,GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2004

Papagallo condos are very pretty. They are located across from the restaurant of the same name. The beach is small but nice. Not lots of shade, but some. The best thing about the beach is it is so private. I have stayed there 4 times and usually my group is the only ones on the beach. A lot of people live there who work in town so they are gone most of the time. The housekeepers are very nice also. But, the water is not very good for swimming. Lots of sea grass and rocks and not too clear but a beautiful color. Actually, the water there is several colors. Get a condo on the upper level to see the colors of the water best. It has a beautiful pool and jacuzzi. It is not close to any restaurant except Papagallo Italian across the street and Calypso Grill in West Bay. The Grill is very good. Get some crab cakes. It is on the bay and has a beautiful view. Need to rent a car. You can snorkle there but the water is pretty rough, so we take the car to smoother places to snorkle. There is a grocery store in West Bay-very expensive but so are the rest of them. The condos are cheaper than those on Seven Mile Beach but if you want privacy, it is for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Pappagallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pappagallo

Address: West Bay Barker | P.O. Box 41GT, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Villas Pappagallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pappagallo Hotel Grand Cayman
Pappagallo Hotel Grand Cayman
Villas Pappagallo Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Pappagallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.