We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Village Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantation Village Beach Resort
323C West Bay, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Essex, Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were there during the start of the off season. It was very quiet. There were no issues getting a chair on the beach or by the pool. The condo was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The location is on a quiet section of Seven Mile Beach yet close enough to walk to shopping and a few restaurants. The security guard is very nice and a great source for snorkeling tips!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
38
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been timeshare owners at Plantation Village for almost 25 years. The service has continued to improve over the years and the condos have been completely restored after Hurricane Ivan. There's a coffee and cake welcome every Monday morning and a Rum Punch Social every Tuesday. Greta spot for families and reasonable...

Room Tip: Sometimes not overlooking the beach can be a good thing unless you enjoy people noise almost 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed recently at Plantation Village with our five children. We had a three bedroom condo which was large enough for us and very clean. Our children are in college and high school and found plenty to do along the beach. The beach at the resort is adequate for relaxing in a chair. Access to to the water is sandier if you go down the beach about 100 feet. Marlene and Jennifer in the office were very helpful and pleasant. Marlene helped us make reservations for New Year's Eve. One additional note if you go to Stingray City go with Frank. He has been given tours for 50 years and is a delight to be around. I hope I am that full of energy and joy when I am 79.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a view of the ocean from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Plantation Village, while not a high-end resort, is a very comfortable timeshare at the southern end of Seven Mile Beach in Grand Cayman. It is convenient to Georgetown and many shopping areas. The timeshare provides bicycles and kayaks to be used by guests at no charge. There are tennis courts, a playground, and two pools, and bbq grills. While the beach in front of Plantation Village is small, it is usable and from there you can easily walk to more spacious beach areas. The units are large - the 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit we use has a full kitchen, screened-in porch with ocean view, and washer/dryer. Of the 4 timeshare properties that are part of the timeshare exchange company we use, this one is the only one we'd stay at and is in the best location. High-end hotel resorts with plenty of amenities are in walking distance, as are some good restaurants. Much more reasonable to stay here and have the space for a family than to pay big bucks for a fancy resort where you have to eat all your meals out.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units face the pool, and three bedroom units face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So about 5 months before we arrived at Plantation Village i had emailed them asking a few questions. To make a long story short, after multiple emails back and forth, i finally got an email answering my questions. They will not let you upgrade, so good luck trying. The only person who was decent to me and my family was Jennifer, but Marlene did not do anything but upset us and never want to stay at this place again. The only reason why i gave this place an average is because the rooms were decent and had a kitchen, 2 bedrooms and bathrooms. There is VERY tiny beach area and there was this nasty smelling stuff washed up on the beach area. We couldn't even walk on the beach to the resort next to us because of this stuff. I would not stay here again. Restaurants are within walking distance, but cayman is more expensive than the U.S. Lone Star was fair prices not too far. Better beach and snorkeling is found to the right of Governors beach, before Cemetary Beach. Bring bags for your groceries because the store charges for them, which i thought was weird. Hope everyone's experience is better than ours.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms are NOT ocean view, you need a 3 bedroom for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

All things considered, for a Vacation in the Grand Caymans I think this is a pretty good value. Obviously not 5 star but...the condo with kitchens and two bedrooms are great for families wanting to balance eating out and cooking in. There are a couple good quality, large barbques at the front of the property - ideal for family outdoor cooking.
Kirks grocery seems to be the closest. maybe a mile.
Liquor store also close - 2 blocks.
There are two pools - one small one close to the water and larger one in the center courtyard.
NO BEACH. although of course it is close there a great beach close by there is no beach that you can hang out on attached to this property.
The property is time share so be careful about any "extra charges" etc. Don't let them harrass you about that. Offer them cash for a better deal on room prices.
save and dry your towels they only have a weekly exchange program.
NO restaurant or bar attached to the property.
Coconut Joes is right across the street for parent pub night. and a great little bar - restaurant (called sting rays - I think) in the middle court yard of the Comfort Inn and suites a block north. good thing about it is they have a pool. great for restless kids after they have gobbled dinner. parents can sit and enjoy a beverage and kids can play in the pool...:-)
Oh yea - last thing - if you stay here for more than a week the mid week garbage pickup is unbelievably loud. If you are in a room on the front half of the property you will be woken up wednesday or thurday morning with horrendous noise. FYI

Room Tip: No beach If you have kids - go for ground floor front part of the complex. Easier access to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well to start out we traded a week to stay here with our timeshare. Nowhere were we told about the $165 fee that we would be charged for the "utilities". This is something that everyone should know before they get to the resort. Next thing is the front desk. Friendly people but not very willing to allow you to change rooms. Luckily there was another family that wanted something on the 3rd floor,we had 5 pieces of luggage and a 2.5 y/o, so this was a life saver. Next is the beach. This resort says on 7 mile beach. While this is true; there is no beach to be found at this resort. There is enough room for 3 lounge chairs. You cannot get in the water from the resort. You will need to walk along the rocks to the Marriott beach; which is not very good either.

The pools are good. Nothing really special about them, they are pools.

The rooms are quite nice actually. We stayed in a 2 bedroom and had a full kitchen and 2 full bathrooms. There was a bookshelf that was stocked with books and had a couple of DVD's. They were a little older but still its something. The resort is very centrally located. It is within walking distance to everything. If you walked to Kirks, the grocery store, you may want to take a cab back. It would be kind of a walk with a bunch of groceries. Lot's of restaurants to walk to. If you are a diver there is a dive shop to pick up those last minute things if you forgot them.

One other thing I want to say about this resort is that they are converting all of the units into purchase units. I'm not really too sure if the staff is very pleased with this and really doesn't care too much about the current guests, but that is the impression that I got when we checked in.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Village Beach Resort

Address: 323C West Bay, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 59 Specialty lodging in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Plantation Village Beach Hotel Grand Cayman
Plantation Village Beach Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Plantation Village Beach Resort to your Saves list