We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat at Rum Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat at Rum Point
16 Sand Point Road | PO BOX 46, North Side, KY1-1102, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

A+ condo rental. Steps from the beach. Great accommodations. Bar and restaurant steps from condo. We stayed in unit 33, ask for it if possible. 3rd floor unit that looks over the beach and boat dock.

This IS the place to stay if going to Cayman. Get away from 7 mile island and get to rum point.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at The Retreat several times, most recently in #32. This cond has everything you need, from beach towels to cooking utensils and dishes, and even some snorkel gear. It is steps from the beach and the best snorkeling on the island. If you don't want to cook, the restaurant next door is a perfect solution. We had a couple of meals and many drinks there, all excellent.

The owner was great to work with and very accommodating, Answering all our questions. We will definitely be back. This was the best vacation we have taken in a long time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

For our second visit to Grand Cayman, my family insisted we return to the same condo we had enjoyed the previous year. There was no need for further discussion! The Retreat at Rum Point #32 had become our 'home away from home' in that initial one week visit. We looked forward to spending yet another week at The Retreat which is located on the quiet side of the island in the most beautiful spot on Grand Cayman. Condo #32 is located on the second level of the building. It is an immaculate, 2 bedroom (1 queen, 1 with 2-twins) 2.5 bath condo with a full kitchen, frosty central air conditioning, full size washer & dryer. This condo has all the comforts of home with a wonderful sea view, a spacious feel and very nice furnishings. No creatures. No signs of wear and tear. No odors. Everything about this condo is spotless and in great condition. On the ground level are Weber grills for the use of guests just bring your charcoal and starter products. Outside the door of each condo, is a basin with water to rinse sand from your feet. There is also an outdoor shower on the ground level that is extremely helpful. As you enter the door, there is an entry area where we liked to station our provided basket of snorkeling equipment between trips to the beach. A half bath found just across the hall from the entry door is quite handy in a condo on the beach. Area rugs absorb any drips that may fall preventing slippery tile floors. To the left as you enter, you pass the washer & dryer closet as you proceed along a hallway leading to the twin bedroom and en suite bathroom with single sink vanity and full tub/shower. This is a large bedroom with double closets and expansive views through the large windows of the trees and blooming tropical flowers in the courtyard. It is a bright and airy room with window blinds to shut out the morning sun if you so choose. The bedding is fresh with beach themed quilts on the comfy beds and a quiet ceiling fan overhead. Retracing our steps down the hallway, we enter a large open area that includes the kitchen, dining and living areas. A large double door pantry is adjacent to the kitchen and provides additional storage space to the already ample cabinetry in the kitchen. (I utilized Cayman Shoppers services and found all groceries on my list already delivered and stored upon our arrival. What a treat!) The kitchen is very efficient with one wall consisting of the full size refrigerator/ freezer next to cabinetry that surrounds the electric range. All the linens one would need are provided along with a limited supply of cleaning/ soap/paper items. Continuing on around is a full length countertop with cabinets above and below with a microwave, electric can opener, Mr. Coffee coffeemaker, a high end blender and other various kitchen accoutrements. Moving on around, there is a bottom cabinet allowing for the open concept into the dining area. This contains a double sink, dishwasher and more counter space and cabinetry. The appliances, cookware and dishes are of very good quality, condition and supply. I cooked 14 complete ‘from-scratch’ meals and have nothing to suggest. (We laughed to find my page of hand written recipes from last year still tucked inside one of the cookbooks!) Proceeding on into the dining/living area we truly enjoyed the open airy feeling. The glass-topped bamboo style dining table would easily seat 6-8. Next to the table is an entertainment center that houses multiple games and puzzles. I believe there was a CD player although we did not utilize it. There is a DVD player, free Wi-Fi and local calls. A large TV is positioned along the wall with a couch, two large easy chairs, a coffee table and end tables attractively positioned nearby. Lighting options abound and there are tasteful wood blinds on the windows. Another ceiling fan is available to circulate those tropical breezes if you should choose to turn off the a/c and open up the windows and doors. The screened in lanai, with ceiling fan and lighting, is accessible from the living room or the queen bedroom’s full wall of sliding glass doors. We were comfortable on the lanai, sitting at the table and chairs or resting with our feet up on the matching ottoman. It looks out over the west beach and the distant pier at Rum Point and offers the perfect perch to view the sun setting beyond the sea. The queen bedroom is also decorated in tropical design and is quite spacious with a dresser, bedside tables and closet to store more than you would ever need for a Caribbean getaway. The en suite bath holds a double vanity with available drawers and cabinets full of linens and a full tub/shower that provided hot water for even the longest shower one could desire. An inflatable queen bed is also stored in a closet for additional sleeping options.
The Retreat is easily located following the scenic drive along the road that leads to Rum Point. There are free island maps at the airport and car rental agencies and the Retreat management also emails very detailed directions prior to your visit. There are ample gas stations, groceries stores and the occasional restaurant along the way. It is an easy drive which we enjoy while regaining an appreciation for this beautiful island paradise and it’s friendly, helpful people. Obvious signage designates the entrance to the parking lot at the Retreat. It is surrounded by tall vegetation and is private yet seems very safe. In fact, we felt very safe at all times on this island. Access to the manager’s office, swimming pool area, tennis courts and game room are immediately adjacent to the parking area and they even have grocery carts to assist with transportation of smaller items from the paved parking lot down the sidewalks to the condo buildings. The manager’s live onsite so are available if emergencies occur. The 5 condo buildings are situated around a beautifully landscaped central courtyard from which each building is accessed. The buildings are 3 stories, with wide, somewhat enclosed outside stairways. The small, 23 unit complex is surrounded on three sides by water with some of the best from shore snorkeling on the island. The beach area is superb with lounge chairs reserved for guests at the Retreat. At one point, on a busy day at our beach, we were actually sharing the entire beach area with a maximum of 8 other people. There are ample palm and Casuarinas trees to provide beautiful views and some shade if desired. There are also bicycles and kayaks to reserve through the managers. The water entry is sand and water grass with the shallow water extending out for an unusually long distance providing enjoyment even for those with limited swimming capabilities. The Retreat is positioned on the point of land at Rum Point separated by dense vegetation and landscaping to the Rum Point restaurant and beach club area next door. This description may sound as if this would be a busy, noisy lodging option, but in fact, it is just the opposite: A peaceful retreat with various conveniences, out of sight, just next door. The restaurant serves dinner and is said to be quite good. We did not dine there so cannot comment other than the obvious convenience for those wanting to dine out rather than cook in the condo. The Wreck Bar & Grill is are also located in the area next door and serve beachside fare until late afternoon. We did stroll over to enjoy their Fish & Chips several times for a quick lunch while out on the Retreat beach. The Rum Point pier extends out from these areas and is often included in photos of the Rum Point area. From the screened-in lanai at #32, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset every evening from the comfort of ‘home’ with a bit of the pier visible and an occasional catamaran drifting silently by.
The owner is wonderful to deal with and the management staff at The Retreat was wonderfully prompt in answering any questions we might have by email before our visit and in person once we arrived. It is difficult to adequately describe the atmosphere of this condo. Maybe it is the high ceilings, maybe the décor, maybe the breath-taking sea/beach views, but it is a welcoming space that draws one in to relax and feel right at home. Even though it had been a full year since we had visited condo #32, it could have been just yesterday. There were no signs of deterioration, indicating the outstanding quality of furnishings and construction but also the diligence of the management and housekeeping staff. It is a lovely space; light, airy and embracing to those looking for a peaceful and relaxing respite from the busy day-to-day on this beautiful island paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Celebrated our 15th wedding anniv here without our kids. These are condos but located right next to Rum Point that has facilities, dive shop, surf shop, bar, dock showers etc. we stayed in unit 16 which is in the furthest back building to the right when looking out to water. Our balcony had nothing between us and the water. It was super serene and gorgeous. I'm glad we were on this side. Sun sets on other side which kept our patio cooler. (Patio screened in. Everything we needed was here in condo (w/d, beach towels etc). Super duper clean, free wifi that worked great and most importantly the most amazing drift snorkeling right out our door. Can't wait to come again and MAYBE bring the kids (its an awesome place for kids)
Thx to the rental agent Adela that took care of us!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Retreat #32 was great!! As described, a large 2 bed room condo with water views nearly right on the beach. Spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything you need for a perfect stay. Even when the power went out (less than an hour) we had flashlights and candles. A beautiful private beach with extraordinary snorkeling right off the point. Swam with a sea turtle and caught sight of an octopus. The bar (Wrecked Bar) next to the condo complex was excellent for lunch (good fish sandwich) and rum drinks. The restaurant (Rum Point Club) opens at 5 for dinner is near spectacular. We had two outstanding dinners there. We arranged jet-skiing and a trip to Sting Ray City at Red Sail Sports. The jet-skiing was a little limited to about 600 yards in front of the beach but the 2 1/2 hours trip to Sting Ray City and snorkeling the barrier reef was great!! The people on those tours are funny, knowledgeable and very efficient. You should be aware that the nearest "real" supermarket is about 40 minutes away in Boddentown. The nearest is Chisholm's, about 10 minutes away, is geared more to paper and canned goods as we learned when we purchased frozen English muffins ten months past their sell by date. We recommend the The Retreat to anyone looking for a place in Rum Point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Retreat at Rum Point is in a very nice location. It has a small white sand beach which is great for sitting on a lounge chair to sunbathe, read or watch the sunset. Off this beach is some of the best snorkeling on the island. We saw a great variety of colorful fish including sting rays, nurse sharks and turtles. We also saw a Flying Guernard which is quite rare. The grounds are nicely landscaped. The pool is great and the gym is well equipped.The overall impression of the Retreat is one of serenity and privacy. However, for those seeking more action, around the corner from the Retreat is a very public beach with a bar, a restaurant and a water sports shop.
This is also the beginning of a beautiful white sand beach that makes for an excellent walk after breakfast. At the end of this beach you will often find flyfishermen casting for bonefish. We stayed in a third floor single bedroom unit #13. It had a nice view of the beach and water. The unit was tastefully furnished. The accomodations were top notch! But I have to say, we have never stayed at a place that was so overwhelmingly supplied with everything. There were enough glasses for a party of 30. The kitchen had some 20 or 30 pots and pans. I lost count of the beach towels. We did use the portable beach chairs to go to Starfish Point, but later found out that there was a bunch more under the bed. And there was a several month's supply of paper towels and toilet paper. Don't get me wrong, I am not complaining, just pointing out the generosity of the couple that owns this unit. We had a great time here and we plan to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Retreat at Rum Point for the first 3 nights of our trip and really loved the place. The condo itself, a one bedroom on the 3rd floor, was perfect. It looked exactly like the pictures and had everything you could possibly need to make it home. The furnishings are lovely and the kitchen was equipped with everything you needed. We did cook breakfast and lunch every day and grilled one night. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and towels were great. There is a linen closet full of towels including really great plush beach towels. The quality of the paper towels and toilet paper was just like home, unlike the next place we stayed so we really appreciated that. The place is super clean and is in really great shape.
The balcony has a lovely ocean view and is screened in which was a lifesaver for me because of the mosquitoes. We spent our evenings on the balcony, drinking wine and playing games. They also provide free internet and telephone service, both locally and long distance which allowed us to call ahead to our next place to make sure our other room was ready for us.
The location at Rum Point is perfect. We had the beach to ourselves most of the time and had our pick of chairs. There are no umbrellas for shade but there were a few chairs in the shade of some trees near the water. The water entry is not soft sand so you need water shoes to wade in but it was fun to look in the rocks and tide pools where we saw an eel, crabs and fish. For swimming, go next door to Rum Point where there is a great walk in beach for swimming. We found we did need water shoes here as well as there are enough sharp objects in the sand there to make it uncomfortable in bare feet. We did see a number of people visiting Rum Point who did walk through our beach to get to the point but they usually did not stay long.
We thought the location and the condo were terrific but in the spirit of full disclosure, there were a couple of things that others may find helpful. The only thing that we would let the owners know is that we would have liked to have a safe. Well, there is a safe but when we called the office to ask how to use it, we were told that it is for the owners use only. We had no problems but we have never stayed anywhere without a safe and we had quite a lot of cash with us so it made us a bit uncomfortable. The unit is on the third floor (obviously) and there is no elevator so be prepared to lug all your belongings up and down by yourself as there is no one on hand to help. If I had been traveling without my husband it would have been really difficult (sigh, it’s so annoying getting older!). So just know that if you don’t travel light, you will be lugging it all up and down 2 flights of stairs. On the plus side, we got some much needed exercise!
It was a wonderful stay and the location and quality of the condo were everything we had hoped for. Water conditions were not ideal when we were there so we missed seeing the beautiful turquoise waters of Rum Point but we still enjoyed it. We would go back in a heartbeat! Matt and Tracy were so easy to work with and provided lots of great information prior to our arrival. Thank you for sharing your lovely home away from home with us…..it was very special and we hope to be able to come back soon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Retreat at Rum Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat at Rum Point

Address: 16 Sand Point Road | PO BOX 46, North Side, KY1-1102, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Specialty lodging in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious condominiums in a tranquil setting. Situated on a sandy peninsula, our well-appointed one, two and three bedroom condominiums are all oceanfront. Screened in private balconies offer a panoramic view of the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean. Each unit contains fully equipped kitchens including dishwashers, washer, dryers, microwaves, cable TV, and central air-conditioning and ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat At Rum Point Hotel Grand Cayman
The Retreat At Rum Point Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat at Rum Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Retreat at Rum Point to your Saves list