We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Houses of Cayman Kai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Houses of Cayman Kai
Sand Pointe & Water Cay Road, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Grand Cayman
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed 10 nights at Cayman Kai Condos, Phase II, B-17. Our two bedroom, 2 baths condo was very comfortably set-up. Everything we needed was provided; bedding, beach towels, a well set-up kitchen, telephone (free local, USA, Canada), two kayaks, dish soap, laundry soap, etc. The setting was beyond beautiful! We ate our meals at the balcony table that looked down on the infinity pool that blended into the palm tree lined sandy beach and yacht harbour. It made for a very pleasant setting to eat breakfast, and in the evening eating and sipping a glass of wine as the sun set. This is a great location for families with young children or teenagers who like to swim. The on-site property manage, Mitzie, was amazingly helpful, well beyond what I would think was in her job description. When we mentioned that we were going to walk the Mastic Trail, she made a "life saving" offer; "I'll drive with you to one end of the trail and then drive you to the other end." It took about 30 minutes of her time to do this, and saved us a long 2+ mile walk in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife, two kids and I had a wonderful 2 week vacation!

The location of the Island Houses was just what we were looking for. It is far from the buzz of the big resorts, quiet, clean and comfortable.

The home had all the amenities we like. Open screened in porch is wonderful and lots of fresh breezes keep the home livable. Bedrooms are air conditioned, so that was comfortable for sleeping.

The saline pool was fantastic. No chlorine makes for a soft skin swim! Good size, lots of chairs.

Right across the road were the conveniences of a resort with boat rental, dive shop and adventure trips. I scuba dived and the family went snorkelling every day, multiple times a day, right from the shore! Lots of fish to see. Barracuda and rays right under the dock!

Property manager provided all the information necessary prior to departure from home. Instructions and driving directions and shopping tips were very helpful! Great service.

I would go back any day!

JJAA

Room Tip: Great location and great unit, furthest away, nice and quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just got back from a Christmas break at Tranquility House (Island House #6) and wish we could have stayed longer. The condo and Rum Point location were perfect for our family with 2 teen boys. The condo gave everyone the space they needed and the location provided all the action we were looking for at Cayman. We loved the bikes and road to Starfish beach (saw lots of starfish), kayaked the bay during a new moon and were amazed at the bioluminescence (other people paid for something we had right outside our door!), snorkeled the areas around Rum Point (lots of fish - even under the pier), and walked across to Red Sail Sports for a 5 minute boat ride to Sting Ray sand bar. Cayman Kai Vacations (Mr. Wagner and Mitzi) made our trip easy and comfortable – Thanks!

Enjoyed the food at Kaibo Beach Bar and Grill, Over the Edge, and the Lighthouse Restaurant on the south side (loved their champagne mojito). Drove over to Georgetown one day for the submarine trip and ate at Guy Harvey’s Island Grill - loved the trip and the food was great but made me glad we were staying at Rum Point. Rum Point is more relaxed and less crowded which worked much better for our family. I recommend a trip to the Botanic garden. We saw several rare blue iguanas and the flowers were beautiful. Also, saw 2 green parrots flying around the parking lot. Unfortunately, the only rude person we met on the entire island was at the gardens but they were one of the guides that bring groups to the garden (not associated with the Botanic garden). He apparently thought his group took priority over the “regular” garden visitors.

Room Tip: Island House #6 provides a beautiful view of Rum Beach in the front and the bay in the back - Gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed two weeks at Kai Kotch #17 and were very pleased. The house was redecorated before we arrived and was everything promised and more! By the third day we were calling it home-it had everything we needed. They include four kayaks and a pedal boat, snorkeling gear, beach towels, free calls to the US, the list goes on and on. The complex has a pool, a boat dock, and adequate night lighting.

The location is wonderful-perfect for people wanting to get away from it all, yet a walk across the yard and across one street and you have access to water sports, food, and beaches. The cove is really special. They have kayak tours to the area to see the bioluminescense that you can see every night (given the right conditions) and the kayaks included with the house. It was truly a unforgettable experience. It felt good to be amazed again!

The owners are easy to work with, respond quickly, and are very helpful. Starting with their personal web site which has a wealth of information and extending through our stay, we were given information on the entire island. As all the houses are separately owned their timely responses and web site really sold us. Had a wonderful stay and absolutely recommend this area and their house in particular.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We staid in the Barefoot Lagoon Island house for two weeks. Great location and nicely appointed house. When the airconditioner broke in the kids room and they had to sleep in the living room, however, nobody was doing anything about it.We called the property managment company but nobody showed up. I suspect they did not have authority to replace it. In August, AC is important. Other than that it was everything it promised although pricier than identical units in the same complex. The island, we discovered, is slow in summer, offer less than anyone is asking for a booking as its likely you or empty for them.

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a week in the Grand Cayman. It was the perfect vacation. We stayed at The Pools in Kai. It was private and secluded, right on the water and we even had our private screened-in lanai w/ our own pool. I rented through carribeanway.com. We had sun every day even though this is supposed to be the rainy season. We did go to Georgetown for one day and night but could not wait to get back to the seclusion of our villa. We ate at the Kaibo Yacht Club twice. Both times were excellent. It truly was the best vacation. I have nothing negative to say. I cannot wait to return.

Robin V.
Anchorage, AK

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie, Pennsylvania
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2004

Barefoot Lagoon Island was everything shown on its web site and more.
The house was very well decorated and very comfortable. THe area was the best on Grand Cayman. We had our own pool and then right out the front door was the famous "Rum Point Beach. The amenities offer like the use of the kayak, snorkeling equipment, bicycles and safety equipment for the kids were more than we expected. It saved us alot of money not having to buy them. THe location in Cayman Kai, Rum Point is by far the best location of the Island but there is still so much to do. Great resturants. Will we be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Houses of Cayman Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Houses of Cayman Kai

Address: Sand Pointe & Water Cay Road, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Cayman
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Houses are designed for life in the Tropics where "Inside and Outside become "One". "An Island House at Cayman Kai, Rum Point has long been a pleasant alternative to a Hotel Room Vacation." More space! More privacy! More for your money!Located on a protected cove (Sand Pointe Cove) on the Caribbean Sea in the heart of the exclusive area of Cayman Kai on the north side of Grand Cayman and right across the road from the "Famous Rum Point Beach", these Island Houses are ideal for a family of up to six people or for one, two or three couples. Some Island Houses can sleep up to eight people. These Island Houses feature a living room, dining area, music/sun room, fully equipped kitchen, laundry room with washer and dryer, two story screened lanai (with 2 sets of 10 foot sliding doors that open to the lanai which allows you to enjoy the indoor/outdoor feeling) that overlooks the cove and offers additional seating and dining area, two bedrooms each with their own private bath, walk in closet, and balconies which overlook the pool and cove to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Houses Of Cayman Kai Hotel Grand Cayman
Cayman Kai Hotel
Island Houses Of Cayman Kai Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Houses of Cayman Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Houses of Cayman Kai to your Saves list