We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Nest Inn
166 Bodden Town Road, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Grand Cayman
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our family selected Turtle’s Nest Inn, after reading hundreds of positive reviews. The Inn is even better than its excellent reviews. The scuba package is the best deal on the island, including lodging, 8 dives (with the top-rated DNS operation) and a car or jeep. We stayed in Apartment #5 which is large enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. The unit is roomy, charming and very clean, while the small balcony was perfect for drying scuba gear and swimsuits. The Innkeepers pay attention to the little details, including a welcome drink and complimentary water shoes, kayak, snorkel gear and DVDs. Island restaurants are pricey, so we enjoyed delicious dinners out (The Inn made excellent recommendations at all price points), while using the full kitchen for other meals. Its location in Bodden Town is surprisingly convenient, within an easy drive to 7 Mile Beach, Turtle Farm, Stingray City pickup, and Rum Point. The reviews are right -- Turtle's Nest Inn is the best place to stay on Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    73
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
223
595
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you want to get away from it all this is the place to be. We were looking for a place to just relax, with no set schedule and it fitted our needs exactly. About one half way around the island in Bodden Town, away from Seven Mile Beach, but near Rum Point and other attractions. We followed the reccomendations on the TNI Website for dining and attractions and it was great. StingRay City is a must. Dexter's Fantesa Tours is my reccomendation. We will definately be back soon!!

Room Tip: Condo 4 has one queen bed in each room, plus a sofa sleeper. Some come with a queen and two twins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed in Apartment 8 for a couple of great nights. Just about everything was what you would want in when on vacation in the Caribbean: right on the beach, nice rooms, friendly staff, many extras without extra charges, etc. The location in Bodden Town was very relaxing, away from any cruise ship crowds, but make sure you have a rental car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

we visited the turtle nest inn on 3rd june for 7 days. my husband and 2 children 7yr and 3 yrs. It was absolutely the right decision to stay here. Upon arriving almost 4 hours early we were warmly greeted by duane. he was informative,friendly and very considerate to our needs, so much so that we managed to check into our apartment early.
The apartment is fabulous, well laid out (and i'm british),spacious,light and airy and properly thought of. there is every facility you can ever need,juicers,slow cookers,cool box,dish washer...the list is endless,everything and i mean everything has been thought of.
The bedrooms are well laid out and spacious and the master bedroom has the most perfect beachfront view. yes we paid for the beachfront view and i'd definatly recommend it if it is available. Dont think of the cost,just do it as you'll only regret it when you arrive.
we booked the combined package with the car and i cannot state enought...GET THE CAR !!. Dont fool yourself thinking you can get a taxi, yes you can ,but it'll cost you dearly. It is really easy to get around the island and fuel was reasonable. afterall the island is only about 28miles by 8 miles. In the 7 days that we visited this glorious island we spend 70us dollars in fuel and we drove around the entire island 4 times. i'm almost sure it'd cost 100dollars just from the airport to the condo..go figure !
there is plenty of info in the condo for days trips,shopping,sightseeing and with free wifi and an amazingly large tv,dvd player,taper deck..yes tape deck and cd player ,there is enought to entertain you if the beach isnt doing it for you..and it will..trust me.
as for the beach,dont be put off by the sea grass that can get washed up,this is no fault of the turtle nest inn yet they employ a very efficient beach cleaner to get the job done. the maine life off this coast is the best you will get,but the waters arent pristine due to the seagrass. my husband is an avaid fan of anything aquatic and he said it was better than all the places of interest we went to.
There are absolutely no bad points about this condo, cost, location,ammenities,management...spot on.
Perfect place for peace and tranquility without the hustle and bustle of the fabulously expensive hotels with gorgeous lobbys but standard bedroom and same old churned out food.
lots of places to go,friendly people,clean island..everything your heart desires.

Room Tip: Beachfront is a must if it is available and get the car too !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We can't stop talking about our trip to GC and our stay at the Castaway cottage because it was the ultimate vacation ever. Everything was perfect! The kind people, the gorgeous island, the spotless accommodations, the mindblowing diving....diving in the cold New England waters will never be the same. I'd mention the highlights of our trip but truthfully every day, every minute had highlights. We snorkeled, we went to stingray city, we talked to the locals,we watched the blowholes, we drank in the views and drank in the rum, we did numerous shore dives (West end cracked conch was the best imo), we took a boat dive with Red Sail (hightly recommend) saw sharks on that one, we bought soap from Nina (a hoot!) at Beachbubbles across the street, I truley wish I had bought more. Staying in Bodden Town was the best choice for us. Everything is just a short drive and that was fun as well. Driving on the "wrong" side of the road taking in the views is fun! Exploring the island was done leisurely as the island is not that big. Thom and Sue were the icing on the cake. They are such down to earth warm hearted good people. We miss sharing our day with them. We wish them all the best. We miss our backyard and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely week at a condo at the Turtle Nest Inn and could not have chosen a better place to stay during our first trip to Grand Cayman. As soon as we arrived, we went straight to the pool area at the Inn and settled down with a glass of wine to enjoy the spectacular view from the patio, and we knew then that we would not want to leave!

We had the rental car, but for the next several days we did not go anywhere, spending hours sitting on the shaded condo patio and under the palm trees on the beautiful beach. There were very few people around even though it was considered high season, so it was peaceful and quiet and just what we had hoped for. It was fun to watch the frigatebirds hovering overhead and diving for food all day long. The snorkeling was amazing and could not have been more convenient right off of the beach with equipment provided by TNI.

Our condo was very comfortable and clean, and had everything we needed for our island vacation and more. Donna and all of the TNI staff were extremely friendly and helpful, not to mention welcoming, beginning with the first glass of wine when we arrived. Having read some of the reviews, we knew it was off the beaten path and stopped at a grocery store on the way to the condo from the airport. With a supply of food and beverages, we truly had no reason or desire to venture away from the condo until much later in the week. When we did take trips, we drove up to SMB and some of the other points of interest on the island, but definitely preferred the quiet at TNI to the bustling, tourist-y areas.

In short, we are very much looking forward to going back to TNI as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited Turtle Nest Inn for the fourth time recently. It was as wonderful as we had hoped and remembered. We stayed in the Oceanfront Condo. The Condo has an amazing view of the ocean. I found myself spending hours just watching the waves roll in.

The Condos are well situated. The Condos are two bedroom and 2 1/2 a half baths. It was plenty of room for our family of four. The kitchen was new and updated and equiped with everything we needed.

As always, the Inn employees were welcoming and helpful. It's almost like we're returning to see old friends everytime we return. We are already talking about planning our next trip there.

I highly recommend Turtle Nest Inn to my friends and family. And honestly, I have two sets of friends... and my parents traveling there in the next year.

Room Tip: If you love watching the ocean, you can't beat the ocean front condos. They are a little more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Nest Inn

Address: 166 Bodden Town Road, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Cayman
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman hotels' exotic beachfront lodging offers Caribbean elegance, pool, superb snorkelling, and full luxury apartments costing less than most Grand Cayman hotel rooms. Located on its own sandy beach, only ten miles from George Town and the airport, the Inn is away from the tourist crowds, in a genuine island setting. Cayman's only Travel Holiday Magazine's Editors' Choice Award winner for 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Nest Hotel Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Inn Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Turtle Nest Inn to your Saves list