We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Vacation!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Nest Inn
Save Saved
You added Turtle Nest Inn to your Saves list
166 Bodden Town Road, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Vacation!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely week at a condo at the Turtle Nest Inn and could not have chosen a better place to stay during our first trip to Grand Cayman. As soon as we arrived, we went straight to the pool area at the Inn and settled down with a glass of wine to enjoy the spectacular view from the patio, and we knew then that we would not want to leave!

We had the rental car, but for the next several days we did not go anywhere, spending hours sitting on the shaded condo patio and under the palm trees on the beautiful beach. There were very few people around even though it was considered high season, so it was peaceful and quiet and just what we had hoped for. It was fun to watch the frigatebirds hovering overhead and diving for food all day long. The snorkeling was amazing and could not have been more convenient right off of the beach with equipment provided by TNI.

Our condo was very comfortable and clean, and had everything we needed for our island vacation and more. Donna and all of the TNI staff were extremely friendly and helpful, not to mention welcoming, beginning with the first glass of wine when we arrived. Having read some of the reviews, we knew it was off the beaten path and stopped at a grocery store on the way to the condo from the airport. With a supply of food and beverages, we truly had no reason or desire to venture away from the condo until much later in the week. When we did take trips, we drove up to SMB and some of the other points of interest on the island, but definitely preferred the quiet at TNI to the bustling, tourist-y areas.

In short, we are very much looking forward to going back to TNI as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    75
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
607
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited Turtle Nest Inn for the fourth time recently. It was as wonderful as we had hoped and remembered. We stayed in the Oceanfront Condo. The Condo has an amazing view of the ocean. I found myself spending hours just watching the waves roll in.

The Condos are well situated. The Condos are two bedroom and 2 1/2 a half baths. It was plenty of room for our family of four. The kitchen was new and updated and equiped with everything we needed.

As always, the Inn employees were welcoming and helpful. It's almost like we're returning to see old friends everytime we return. We are already talking about planning our next trip there.

I highly recommend Turtle Nest Inn to my friends and family. And honestly, I have two sets of friends... and my parents traveling there in the next year.

Room Tip: If you love watching the ocean, you can't beat the ocean front condos. They are a little more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Just wrapped up a fairly disappointing stay at the TNI. Having been to Grand Cayman multiple times prior to this trip, i was excited to see what was behind all the positive reviews of this inn.

I prefer luxury, bought also appreciate good value, so I was aware at my attempted trade off when i booked, but this time it did not work out to my advantage.

Beach is sub par by all means, except for some OK snorkeling, beds extremely uncomfortable, my pillow case was stained, etc. If you want to go anywhere, expect a minimum 20-30 minute drive.

So, im not going to say it ruined my trip, but I definitely did not enjoy myself and will not return or recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at apartment #9 for 10 nights. It had a gorgeous side view of the ocean from our balcony and was very clean. It was quite a spacious room with a full kitchen, furniture, and separate bedroom. It has beautiful snorkeling off the beach, although it is a bit rocky, so I would recommend wearing water shoes. We are avid scuba divers, and this was a nice base to relax afterwards by either doing more snorkeling, hanging out by the pool, or tanning on floaties on the waves. It's closer to the east end of the island than 7-mile beach, but since we had a car, we took multiple trips to visit areas all over the island, including Rum Point, Smith's Cove, and various parts of 7-mile Beach. It is a lovely place that we'd gladly return to and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just got back from our first trip to Grand Cayman. We stayed at Turtle Nest Inn based off of Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed at the Inn in room number 6. A previous commenter had said that they would avoid this room because of a tree in front of it. We didn't have any problems with the tree, and kind of liked that it gave us some privacy. We could still see the ocean every way we looked. The room was incredibly clean and had everything we needed. The pictures of the room that Turtle Nest Inn provide make the room look outdated and old, but it was actually very updated and nice to be in. I liked that the sheets and towels were a different color every time they cleaned. It was a nice touch.
We were lucky enough to take this trip without our young children, but I think that this would be a wonderful place to take kids. The beach is the right size (not too big, not too small), not busy at all, and there are tons of rocks and coral and shells for kids to explore. Kids would be able to entertain themselves for hours while parents had a cocktail on the beach.
The staff was great. We had the most interaction with Donna and she was wonderful. She was always very polite and kind. I enjoyed chatting with her. The beach was always clean. Snorkeling was good enough off the back of the Inn. The free snorkeling gear was nice and we borrowed chairs and an umbrella for when we went exploring to different beaches. Our favorite beach was Smith's Cove. It wasn't busy, had nice shade trees, clean-enough restrooms, and the water was wonderful. We also had a nice day at Rum Point. Enjoyed Dexter's boat ride to see the sting rays.
We had a nice "fancy" dinner at Casanova by the Sea. We were first put at a table on the second balcony, but as we were the only ones there, asked to be moved down to a table at the beach. It was much nicer. The service was great, the food was pretty good. The servings are big enough to share. We also had a lunch at the Sunshine Grill. It was probably the biggest disappointment of the trip. The food was okay, the atmosphere was okay, the service was okay. I don't feel like I need to go back or recommend that any one go there.
We had a lot of time to kill at the airport, even though the staff at the Turtle's Nest Inn allowed us to check out late. If you go upstairs to the restaurant, there is a nice breeze and you can overlook the planes leaving.
We had a wonderful stay, and hope to come again soon....with the kids! I wouldn't stay anywhere else and I can't think of any way Turtle Nest Inn can improve---oh wait, I didn't really like the bed or pillows, but that is probably more of a personal preference. The pillows and mattress were both clean and new and we did have enough pillows. What a great stay!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently finished our second stay at TNI. It was just as great as the first and not a thing has changed. The owners/staff treat the guests like family. They take the time to talk to you, help you out, accommodate you in every manner possible and just make you feel at home during your stay. We arrived on a very early flight (arriving at about 10:30am). The normal check-in time is 4pm, but Duane did everything possible to get us in the condo sooner (about 2 hours earlier than expected!). We had our 4-year old with us, so it was such a relief to get in the house sooner, so she could just relax after such an early morning of travel. Duane was so polite and helpful to us. After Duane it was Donna, and she was equally great. We needed to find certain areas/stores and she was able to help us so quickly and tell us the best places to go. Who needs a concierge or a huge hotel chain when you have the perfect atmosphere at TNI?

Now for a breakdown of the place itself. First, the condos are terrific. It was cleaned to perfection, had everything we needed (after hitting up the grocery store), and had a perfect view of the ocean. They also offer most everything for the condo, so we only really needed to worry about food, detergent and coffee (they had plenty of filters). A major plus to TNI is the washer/dryer in the condo units, so we were able to just pack carry-on luggage, save the money, and wash clothes as needed. There are also multiple places to eat in the nearby vicinity. There are beach places to the left and right of TNI..just walk either way down the beach and there is good, fresh, local food. There is also Chester's Jerk/Fish down the road a bit on the left hand side. I would recommend any of those for simpler meals. If you are looking for a nicer evening out, make sure to visit the Lighthouse (in Breakers) for a great meal and atmosphere.

For simple snorkeling (just walking the beach and jumping in), I found TNI to have better marine life than most of the touristy places on the island (Seven Mile, Rum Point, Cemetery Beach). The only slight negative that I could find is that the beach isn't as pristine as other beaches, but it is still completely walkable, is quiet, not commercialized, and plenty of chairs/space. We did plenty of laying out, snorkeling, and swimming in both pools. Since they offer all kinds of beach items (floaties, sand toys, etc.), we didn't have to pack any of those.

On this island, the car is a "must have" item, because it is so small and easy to get around. From Bodden Town, you can drive just about anywhere in 30 minutes or so. We really enjoyed getting to hop in the car and visit any beach/attraction that we wanted to, without having to wait, plan things out, etc. It is such a simple island to navigate that a car just makes perfect sense. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We compare our vacations at TNI to any other place that is being considered and TNI always wins out. We plan to visit again soon, because it was the perfect week of fun in the sun and relaxation.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Ocean View Condos and found it the perfect place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Inn to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We loved the quaintness and low key atmosphere. From our reservations to picking up the rental car- keep to the left! ( included in the price) to check in- all went flawlessly. Donna welcomed us with a beverage and gave us good tips throughout our stay. We stayed in a town side room the first night and the staff moved us for the remaining nights to an apartment with a full kitchen, sitting area and bedroom. The location of TNI was perfect! We could be anywhere on the island in 30minutes. No crowds to contend with- the best snorkeling was right in front of the Inn. We used their snorkel equipment and were able to take it with us to other snorkel spots on the island We also snorkeled at Cemetery Beach and Smith Barcadero. We went to Stingray City with Dexter's Fantasea Tours -which was great! About 15 people on our tour and Dexter and Simon were very knowledgeable. We ate at The Brasserie,The Lighthouse, Grapetree Cafe, Calypso Grill, Kaibo and Tukka. All our meals were enjoyable and at each venue the chef came out and spoke to us and all servers went out of their way to make sure our experiences were memorable. We also kayaked in the Bio bay with Cayman Kayaks. Another wonderful experience. It was a great way to celebrate, enjoy the island and all it had to offer. Donna and Duane were helpful, friendly and always available

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Nest Inn

Address: 166 Bodden Town Road, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman hotels' exotic beachfront lodging offers Caribbean elegance, pool, superb snorkelling, and full luxury apartments costing less than most Grand Cayman hotel rooms. Located on its own sandy beach, only ten miles from George Town and the airport, the Inn is away from the tourist crowds, in a genuine island setting. Cayman's only Travel Holiday Magazine's Editors' Choice Award winner for 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Nest Hotel Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Inn Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.