We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buggy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mastic Trail

Mastic Trail
Frank Sound Road, Grand Cayman
345-949-0121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 161 things to do in Grand Cayman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours are offered on this old nature trail that takes visitors through several of the island's various ecosystems.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buggy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

We anticipated the bugs, but not so many, what we did not anticipate was all the lava we would be walking over. It made for a very unstable environment. Not our best experience in Cayman.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    45
    14
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utopia, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hike on the Mastic Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We hired Paul Watler from the National Trust to take us on the trail. He was very informative about plants and birds. We even saw a Cape May Warbler migrating thru - a new life bird. I suggest hiring a guide for the trail to really enjoy.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Helps You Imagine Grand Cayman Before Development”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This is an easy hike, but wear shoes that completely cover your feet, because the footing is a little bit rough in places. We hiked from one end to the other and back. I think the suggestion to hire a guide is good (though we did not); on a hike like this, the little things - a bird here, a lizard there, a poisonous plant beside the trail - are what you're looking for. It's not majestic scenery. Consider bug spray mandatory, bring a bottle of water, and you should be good to go. Parking at the trailhead is very limited, but is probably about right for the limited number of people who use the trail.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“interesting spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

im not sure i can write a proper review as we only hiked a fraction of this but i thought i would add the little bit we learned just from driving there.
our week in the Caymans I spent fighting off a cold and towards the end both me and my 2 year old daughter were sick. after a day of laying low in our condo we thought we would go to the Mastic Trail just for a little walk because i really wanted to hike this trail. we love hiking and it seemed to be the only hiking spot on the island and we were staying on the north side of the island really close to one of the entrances. We drove down the road to the Mastic Trail and were unsure where to park. we parked in an area that seemed like maybe the beginning of the trail. it was Good Friday so the only other cars there were a couple abandoned looking pick ups. we started walking down the road and there was a lot of what we think was goat poop everywhere. up around the bend we found we had not parked in the right spot and there was indeed parking right by a sign for the trailhead if your car could make it there. we had a tiny Suzuki Swift and part of the road we had just walked on had a big rut in it that i dont think our car would have made it over. an SUV or truck would have been fine.
there is a big sign for the trail at the beginning and some info on wildlife then a fence that we think was to keep wandering goats out. the trail is well kept though definitely "in the woods" with lots of scrubby trees and brush around you. we only walked for a little bit as my daughter and i still weren't 100%. would have liked to walk the whole thing maybe on a different trip. we heard lots of birds but did not see any.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great but hot hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I love hikes like this. Long enough that you get into nature but short enough my family will go. It was hot and we sweat a bunch, but fun none the less. Didn't see parrots, but did see a snake and some pretty small birds. Bring lots of water and good shoes to avoid turning an ankle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastic Trail also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Mastic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mastic Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.