We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private, nice walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mastic Trail

Mastic Trail
Frank Sound Road, Grand Cayman
345-949-0121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 192 Activities in Grand Cayman
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours are offered on this old nature trail that takes visitors through several of the island's various ecosystems.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“private, nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

was a cool find, not many undeveloped areas on this island, this is about as rustic as it gets. wish \i had a mountain bike but was a very relaxing beautiful walk. and it was free!!! not much to do here for free! lol

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    40
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A side of Cayman we never knew for 8 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boys had done the trail for school but my wife and I had never down it. Then Texas visitors wanted to go and our eyes were opened to a side of Cayment we did not know exisited. Many breeds of birds, fauna, and elevation above ice age sea levels. Call the National trust for a guided tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Uneventful hike”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We walked and walked for an hour over rocky terrain and saw one lizard and a couple of birds. We never reached the end of the trail because the trail was u serious water at one point. There is lots to see on Grand Cayman but you won't find much of it here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“no way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The trail was basically a swamp and we had to muck through smelly mud. We turned around after we figured out it was not going to get any better. Best part was the Trail sign with all the information on it because there was a frog in ever corner of the sign. We did see one snake before turning around. Our shoes were really gross and I threw mine away. I am glad I had brought an old pair. Those in the group wearing hiking sandals were not happy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bay, Cayman Islands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bring mosquito repellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a gorgeous hike and certainly worth the effort to get out there but be sure to cover had-to-toe with mosquito repellant. You’re walking through a mangrove on an elevated trail so it is humid (damp). Bring plenty of water!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastic Trail also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Mastic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mastic Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.