We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet resort with helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Grand Cayman
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very quiet resort with helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were here during off peak and the resort was under renovations with lots of painting, tileing and carpeting going on. It was a very quiet place on the North shore. There is no swimming beach, there is a beach for sunbathing and lots of hammocks and chairs to relax on. The pool was nice, the dock was great and we were able to go on a wonderful excursion right from our dock to Sting Ray city. Swimming with the sting rays was so wonderful because we were the only boat there being that there was no cruise ship that day and it was off season. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff nice. But activities were published and then cancelled so there was not much to do at the resort. We rented a car and drove all over the island and snorkeled and visited many different beaches, that was probably the nicest thing about Grand Cayman that it was so easy to get around. Driving on the left only took a day to get used to. It took about 5 mins to drive from the main road to this resort because it is located by a golf course that you drive through with many speed bumps.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
48
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel Oct 23-26. Two double beds. Room updated. Huge bathroom. Nice outdoor patio/deck. Grounds well kept. Very quiet. Staff was friendly. Enjoyed the free shuttle. Besides coming back one night at 7pm and room wasn't cleaned but called front desk and 3 housekeepers showed up shortly. At breakfast twice and dinner once at restaurant. Decent food and kids eat free which was helpful. No other complaints. Would stay here again. Everything on island is close so this being off seven mile beach wasn't an issue

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Located on the opposite side of the peninsula from 7 Mile Beach, but a short shuttle ride away. The staff were friendly and attentive. Great area for an early morning walk or jog. The room was clean and comfortable. No beach onsite, but the views were awesome.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location: Located off-road and far from the 7 Mile Strip. Located on a beach/ dock that is not suitable for bathing.

Rooms: Appear clean and newly renovated but there is just a weird funky smell about them. Very unpleasant.

Staff: The housekeeping ladies are lovely. However, the main staff at the front desk/ management are unprofessional and lack quality customer service skills!!! There is a quick turnaround in staff there and no doubt it must be because of poor management.

Property: The landscaping of the property is tropical, lots of parking for guests and a standard size pool and hot-tub is available.

Summary: If you are desperate for a suitable but less expensive condo type room/ amenities then this might be the place for you. Hopefully you may have a better experience than I've had.

I won't be staying here again!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear JE P,
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman. Your feedback is very important to us as we measure our successes as well as, in this case - our areas of opportunity. I am so sorry to hear that your experience with our resort was less than stellar. We strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations, friendly service, and an overall excellent guest experience - and we clearly did not meet your expectations in these areas; therefore, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding the specific challenges you experienced during your stay to ensure that we address each matter accordingly. Could you kindly provide the best telephone number to reach you on? I can be reached via email at bmeyer@grandcaymanian.ky or by telephone 345-949-3100. Thank you in advance for giving us the chance to make this right. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards, Brooke Meyer, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic stay. Room was upgraded to king suite. The place was quite as it was off season. Clean and tidy location. Pool was lovely and the staff were attentive. We really enjoyed or stay. We had a hire car and used this to get around the island which was ideal. This hotel does not give you a beach but we drove to various different beaches daily. The only recommendation I could give is for some sand around the volley ball court so that children could play in it.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

First, if you are coming to Grand Cayman to stay right on a sandy beach, this is not the place. However, if you want gorgeous views, a spot right on the ocean, unbelievable sunrises and sunsets, then this may be the place.
We stayed in a two-bedroom condo unit on the first floor. The rooms were large, pleasant, fully supplied (washing machine, too) and newly furnished. The living room and both bedrooms opened onto the shaded patio. Both bedrooms had comfortable, fairly new king beds with their own bathrooms (yes, two sinks and a large shower/hot tub).

The restaurant on the premises actually has tasty vegetarian offerings and some of the best smoothies I have tasted. The prices were reasonable for good food on a Caribbean island. We loved the wait staff, especially Sandra, who always warmly welcomed us and made sure we enjoyed the freshly made food. Thank you, Sandra.

Getting to 7 Mile Beach was a cinch. No, we did not rent a car; we were there to relax. Fortunately, the resort offers a free shuttle that in August runs from 9-5. Our favorite driver, Torrey, made sure everybody arrived at the desired destination and arranged a pick-up time upon leaving passengers off. He is a great source of information, has a wonderful sense of humor, and genuinely enjoys meeting people and helping us discover his island. Thank you, Torrey. The other drivers are quite good, too, but Torrey is the one who drove us almost daily.

The desk staff was always helpful and always made sure any problems were fixed quickly, while giving great suggestions for places to visit, etc. Alexandra was most helpful.
The rest of the staff was outstanding, too. When we arrived, our bolt lock was not working. We called the front desk and somebody came to try to fix it withing 20 minutes. His was a temporary fix, so another worker came with an assistant the next day and completed the repair. Upon seeing us by the pool the next day, he asked how the bolt was working, letting us know they would gladly fix anything we might have a problem with.
In short, the resort is perfect for relaxation. It is not amidst the hubbub of the island, but the shuttle will quickly take you to the grocery store, the beach, the new mall, or downtown. The rooms are great. The staff is the best we have encountered in all 8 of our stays in the Caribbean.
We plan to head back next year if we can.

Room Tip: We came with another couple--ask for a two bedroom with a lockout--giving both couples a fair amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are big and clean and well equipped. The problems are the service which was inconsistent. The location is horrible. The taxi drivers are complaining when they need to go there. It is far from seven mile beach.
The price is the only reason you should take this hotel and if you do make sure you rent a car.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear amtamir,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad that you found the rooms to be clean and our hotel to be nice.

However, I sincerely apologize that you did not find our location to your liking and deeply regret the dissatisfaction this has caused you.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Cayman
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.