We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property marvelous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Grand Cayman
Batavia, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful property marvelous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First, if you are coming to Grand Cayman to stay right on a sandy beach, this is not the place. However, if you want gorgeous views, a spot right on the ocean, unbelievable sunrises and sunsets, then this may be the place.
We stayed in a two-bedroom condo unit on the first floor. The rooms were large, pleasant, fully supplied (washing machine, too) and newly furnished. The living room and both bedrooms opened onto the shaded patio. Both bedrooms had comfortable, fairly new king beds with their own bathrooms (yes, two sinks and a large shower/hot tub).

The restaurant on the premises actually has tasty vegetarian offerings and some of the best smoothies I have tasted. The prices were reasonable for good food on a Caribbean island. We loved the wait staff, especially Sandra, who always warmly welcomed us and made sure we enjoyed the freshly made food. Thank you, Sandra.

Getting to 7 Mile Beach was a cinch. No, we did not rent a car; we were there to relax. Fortunately, the resort offers a free shuttle that in August runs from 9-5. Our favorite driver, Torrey, made sure everybody arrived at the desired destination and arranged a pick-up time upon leaving passengers off. He is a great source of information, has a wonderful sense of humor, and genuinely enjoys meeting people and helping us discover his island. Thank you, Torrey. The other drivers are quite good, too, but Torrey is the one who drove us almost daily.

The desk staff was always helpful and always made sure any problems were fixed quickly, while giving great suggestions for places to visit, etc. Alexandra was most helpful.
The rest of the staff was outstanding, too. When we arrived, our bolt lock was not working. We called the front desk and somebody came to try to fix it withing 20 minutes. His was a temporary fix, so another worker came with an assistant the next day and completed the repair. Upon seeing us by the pool the next day, he asked how the bolt was working, letting us know they would gladly fix anything we might have a problem with.
In short, the resort is perfect for relaxation. It is not amidst the hubbub of the island, but the shuttle will quickly take you to the grocery store, the beach, the new mall, or downtown. The rooms are great. The staff is the best we have encountered in all 8 of our stays in the Caribbean.
We plan to head back next year if we can.

Room Tip: We came with another couple--ask for a two bedroom with a lockout--giving both couples a fair amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
48
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are big and clean and well equipped. The problems are the service which was inconsistent. The location is horrible. The taxi drivers are complaining when they need to go there. It is far from seven mile beach.
The price is the only reason you should take this hotel and if you do make sure you rent a car.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice staff, every was awesome !! From the front desk to the gardner who climbed a coconut tree and cracked open a few coconuts for us, he also had the great suggestion of walking over to the bar by the pool and having the bartender pour some local rum in the fresh coconut.........amazing and super refreshing. The place has BBQ and full kitchens in some rooms which we are definitively going to take full advantage of when we return. We knew the place was not on 7 mile beach however there are free shuttles to the beach, its about a 5 min drive, cheap by taxi as well. The room was nice and clean, great view and close to the water sport are where jet skis and sail boat were. By the way they have a jet ski tour to some great spots, Leon was great guide and very helpful whit the water equipment. The overall experience was phenomenal and I strongly recommended it to all my friends.
Two thumbs up from Gina and Victor.

Room Tip: go for the jet ski tour. great stops like stingray city and rum point
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is out of the way. The staff was top notch. Grand daughter had her 3rd birthday and staff brought her a balloon. Suite was great and pool was good. Front desk staff great. Shuttle to 7 miles
Beach came when it said it would and this made easy to go there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

At the end of May we booked into this hotel for 4 nights as a cost effective way to extend our holiday before checking into the Ritz Carlton for 6 nights on my company reward trip.
We knew it wasn't on 7 mile beach but were swayed by the prices.It was fantastic! Check in was quick and easy, room lovely, clean and contemporara. the resort was pretty quiet (end of May ) the staff made such a fuss of our 2 daughters, climbing trees to get coconuts for them and mixing up cocktails at the bar, they loved it. We used the shuttle every day, they were happy to take us where we needed to go and often waited for us, we saved a fortune in taxi fares. We spent a lot of time in the pool and most nights there was live music in the bar. The on site restaurant was great, and the food was good and well priced. Kids also eat free with paying adults. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something a little more laid back and away from the chaos and expense of 7 mile beach, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Although this place is off the beaten path (Seven-Mile Beach), it was well worth the drive. The hotel was renovated within the last year and was a great place to stay. The restaurant onsite was ok, but would highly recommend upgrading to a suite with a full kitchen (fridge, stove, oven, dishes, dishwasher, washer/dryer) and going to the grocery store. The "beach" is not the best, but it was clean and well equipped. You can rent jet ski's or kayaks from the hotel and save on going with an outside vendor. If you choose not to rent a car, the shuttle will take you to Seven-Mile Beach. However, the cab fare from the airport is $30. Renting a car is a great option, especially if you plan to tour the island and is fairly reasonable based on what you would spend on taxi or bus fares. I would highly recommend Andy's car rentals. We rented a Jeep and it was great! The hotel has a large pool and a pier that you can swim off of. There is a lot of sea grass on this side of the island and you will have to go out pretty far for snorkeling views. The hotel is extremely quiet and if you are looking to get away without all the "nightlife", this is a great option. The hotel was fair priced for the island and has a small dive shop onsite for help with diving/snorkeling questions or for small purchases.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a suite. Although one side faces the remaining construction equipment, you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a great value for the type of independent vacationer who will research and plan your own activities, rent a car, and then spend most of your time away from the hotel enjoying what Grand Cayman has to offer -- but who also wants the convenience of a full-service hotel and restaurant -- a nice place to relax in the evenings and have dinner and breakfast served to you, if you choose. Built as a time-share enterprise ("The Grand Caymanian"), you can get a nice, clean, fully equipped apartment (classified a "suite") with a living room with dining area, bedroom, balcony or patio, kitchen, and washer-dryer for less (perhaps much less) than you'd pay for a standard hotel room on nearby 7-mile Beach. But it's not what many think of as a real "resort" with a whole lot to do right there. For example, it's too rocky to walk into the Bay from the "beach" or swim close to it. So, it's not for everyone. But, again, for those who are going to be out and about most of the time, check it out.

Room Tip: To get a decent view of the Bay, get a room on the inside of the "V" -- as close to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Cayman
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.