We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Grand Cayman
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Being owners of the resort, this was our 6th visit since 2000. It is just how we remembered it 4 years ago but with some excellent upgrades. The reception was totally renovated for the better, bar area, beach area, gardens.... Some reviews mention a musty smell, that has been there since 2000, its not musty by all means. The staff were as friendly as always. The timeshare rooms are in need of an update, carpets need changing and showers need changing. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with them, they are just old! Compared to the hotel side, they are beginning to look shabby, but this DID NOT make any difference to our experience here.

The tennis courts have been let go a little since our last trip. We borrowed a friends car whilst there and to clean the sand, they even offered us the shop vac and cleaning supplies without asking.

Didn't eat at the restaurant as we liked to sample the local eateries.

The "new" beach is better. Ever since we've been going, they've tried to make it a beach without much success but as long as you do your research, don't expect a 7 mile beach beach. What they have is great, lovely large pier, hammocks, lots of beds and chairs on the beach and new beds around the pool.

This resort is not on the 7 mile beach so not sure why some reviews say its out of the way, remote and you need a car? Thats what trip advisor is all about. Its quiet this time of year 24-8 July at 20% full and just perfect for us.

Can assure you of a wonderful stay, trust me.

Room Tip: nearer to the pool or beach if possible so you don't hear the restaurants fans. Lower ground ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
43
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the perfect place to unwind and relax. My husband and I stay for 3 nights and had dinner at the resort, the Blue Iguana Grill. The chef's special was a wonderful seasoned tuna and fresh vegetables. We had the coconut shrimp and the conch - stay with the shrimp as the conch is too breaded.

We had lunch poolside and loved the convenience of have good food while taking advantage of our relaxing time. Sat. night there was a trio band performing in the lounge for a nightcap after we returned from our sunset dinner.

Just enough tradewinds off the North Sound to keep us cool as this time of year is extremely warm.

Loved our 1 bedroom suite - had kitchen for our morning breakfast and late night snacks.

The best thing about this resort is the friendly staff. They went out of their way to welcome us, made dinner reservations, helped with activity ideas. Overall great experience and will be back.

Room Tip: The beach is rocky not sandy - must have aqua socks on to swim in water. Loved the dock to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family was "placed" at the Holiday Inn Resort by United Airlines due to a mechanical failure that forced us to spend an extra 2 days on Grand Cayman.
This could have been a disaster, however, the management and staff at the Holiday Inn Resort treated us like royalty!

The front desk team (we had to interact with both day and night shifts) were incredibly friendly and helpful. They made our stay stress free. The hotel kept the restaurant open late for us the first night and fed us a wonderful buffet in exchange for the meager food voucher provided by United. The food was fresh, hot and tasty. This experience was repeated for breakfast, lunch and dinner for the duration of our stay. The hotel easily could have forced us to use their regular restaurant service, but chose to accept the vouchers as full payment. I was truly amazed and am very appreciative.
Based on how we were treated by the rest of the Holiday Inn's staff, I would have to say that customer service is their number 1 priority! While maybe not the fanciest hotel I have ever stayed at, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Maid service was prompt and efficient. The rooms were furnished well and the beds are very comfortable. While there is not a beach view, the ocean view is still spectacular!
This hotel is absolutely fantastic!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is fantastic and price wise, compared to other Cayman hotels, an absolute steal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was so pleasantly surprised with this hotel! We do not like to travel the main brands, but this hotel was excellent. Each unit has its own sence of privacy on the patio/lanai; meaning you can't see your neighbors. We had a gorgeous ocean view from the seconod floor. The evenings in the hammocks at by the pool are magical. There is a small pond beside the restaurant, and listening to the frogs was simply supurb. It was great fun to walk the dock at night as well as seeing the crabs on the adjacent golf course--just walk around with a flashlight. You really can't miss them.

Yes, you ARE on the opposite side from where most hotels are. Some guests say they felt isolated, but I think that's a really good thing! If you want the hustle and bustle, then this may not be the place for you. If you like having more wildlife around you than tourists, this IS the place for you.

The beach is sand and rock, but nothing was uncomfortable. I still walked barefoot around the grounds.

OMG, the grounds are beautiful and those folks who care for the plants are kind and will answer questions on plants. I did not come across even one rude person who worked there. Every employee cheerfully returned by "good morning" from the lanai with a warm smile. The employees must be taught not to look up. Hence, I wanted to see how they would respond when I initiated conversation. All were exceedingly pleasant.

To this end, one evening we left our car lights on, and our car battery was dead in the morning. Upon finding this out, the manager on duty ran (litterally) to jump our car so we could make the excursion. What could have cost us an outing to sting ray city was SAVED SOLELY by this manager on duty. They just care about you!

We saw so many starfish around the pier here--so many more than at starfish point and they were larger and a better assortment of color. The water isn't deep, and once you leave the immediate pier area, the snorkeling is rather easy and totally enjoyable. Don't be afraid to go to the edge of the reef. There are so many fish out there.

The food was good. At times service was a bit slow, but who cares because a bad day on vacation is better than a good day in the office. :) :) I will definitely return here-loved it enough to.

The rooms were clean and well maintained. They supply the basic dishes, silverwear and the like, so meals were easy. We often ate dinner leftovers for breakfast.

Did I mention sunrises? They were lovely here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel that was terribly crowded. The rook was more like an apartment with a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. The restaurant onsite was good and not too pricey. The place can be difficult to find the first time and I would definitely rent a car. The beach is too rocky for swimming, however seven mile beach is about a ten minute drive away. Gasoline is pricey, as is beer. The staff took very good care of us, especially Lloyd the bellhop, Alex at the front desk and Sandra in the Blue Iguana restaurant. Lots of wildlife to be seen, (Iguanas, Crabs and Birds). I felt very safe and probably didn't see three policemen the whole week I was there. They have BBQ Grills by the pool and you can go to the grocery store and buy food to save a little money. All said just a great trip.

Room Tip: If you are an IHG Rewards club member, ask for a room upgrade. I was on the ground floor and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff needs additional customer service training on how to handle guest, transportation shuttle that is a convenience and lack of hot water.

I would only stay here if I did not have any other options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Elizabeth111103,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is clean, comfortable, and very affordable. It is located approximately 5 minutes drive off West Shore Rd./7M beach. IMO, a car is a must for convenience although the hotel does offer a shuttle service. The hotel has a pool and towels are always available. There is really no swimming beach to speak of, but a beautiful view of the sea with hammocks and a pier. Jet skis are available. Staff at this hotel are wonderful and very helpful. Housekeeping does a spectacular job. There is a restaurant on site that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, but I did not check out prices. This is a hotel that is very quiet and restful which I enjoy. The gardens surrounding the property are lovely.
One downfall- I was charged a "resort fee" of $45. when I went to check out although I had already paid for my complete package in advance. I was not too pleased with that.
Other than that, I would definently recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a clean, comfortable, "affordable" hotel that does not mind renting a car.

Room Tip: As for a room that overlooks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Cayman
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.