We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“now is a Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Grand Cayman
LA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“now is a Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After a complete renovation the hotel is now rebranded as a Holiday Inn...it's very nice. Everything is new except the original building and it looks nice, Great beach and pool, adjacent to a nice public golf course. Is off the beaten path and signage to it is very poor so spot it on the IHG web site map for the hotel so you know where you are going. Sound proofing between adjoining rooms is poor. I was upgraded to a suite which had a complete kitchen. Ideal place for long stays in the winter. Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: it's a quiet location but not walking distance to anything except golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
22
59
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Standish, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I went to the Grand Caymanian the last week in April and had a great time.
The resort is off the beaten path but very relaxing. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
They also have a free shuttle that will take you to the 7 mile beach, Georgetown and the grocery store.
Which is a great perk. They have an outdoor barbecue where you can grill your own steaks, burgers, etc.
Another great extra. However renting a car is a must to get around the whole island which we didn't do and should have. So next time we go hopefully next April we will have to rent a car. There are so many awesome sites to see such as stingray city, starfish point and 7 mile beach. Grand cayman is such a beautiful place.
We met some very nice people who made our stay there very fun and enjoyable. Right Mr. smooth operator?? LOL
The staff is very helpful and friendly and should be ackknowledged as they are committed to making your stay the best it can be. I feel it is important to let the staff know that they do make a difference! So a big thank you to,.Ada,Lisa, and Fernando who out of there way to make our meal times very enjoyable.The
food at the resort is very good and probably the most least expensive place to eat on the island. Fernando
was very entertaining to say the least and very funny! Thanks Fernando for making the drink called the dirty banana....yummy
When we were planning our trip to Grand Cayman i spoke with Natalia several times at the resort and she was extremely nice and helpful.
After getting settled in at the resort we went to go find Natalia to meet her. Much to our surprise she is not only an asset to the resort but
a very kind and generous person. She had asked us what we would like to see on the island and much to our surprise she took us there herself !! She knew we hadn't rented car and she spent several hours after her long day at work taking us around to places we wouldn't have seen if it wasn't for her. Thank you so much Natalia!!
You are the BEST...
See you next year!
The cousins from Maine
J and J

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am a long term resident on the island and I was invited to attend a mix and mingles this week and was very surprised. What a change! What used to be a time share is now a full size hotel. They even built a pool bar! The food and freshly made drinks that were served was delicious, the staff was super friendly and clearly enjoyed what they were doing. What a great addition to the Cayman hotel scene and also much needed. Can't wait until they start with their Sunday brunch as promised by their food manager Martin, see you soon!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this Holiday Inn Resort (The Grand Caymanian) this past long holiday weekend. It is nestled in a residential neighborhood of exquisite homes on the Safe Haven Golf Course and canals to the North Sound. 7 Mile Beach is very close by and the property sits on the North Sound where you can see West Bay to Rum Point - what a view! They offer water sports fun such as waver runner rentals, a very clean pool, outdoor seating for dining plus bar, etc. The front desk computer system is undergoing software changes so it was a bit slow checking in, however, that will be resolved quickly I was told and the staff were very professional and polite. Every staff member I met from the bell man to front desk attendants, housekeeping & the food service providers were the kindest, most accommodating people I have ever met. My 1 bedroom accommodation was perfect, very clean and quite comfortable with all of the amenities expected including washer/dryer. Everything is close by including grocery shopping, abundance of restaurants, movie theater and more. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

Room Tip: Whenever I travel I request a ground floor unit where I can access the pool easily. Here you can ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is indeed "off the beaten path", which is fine if you do not plan to leave the property much, if at all. The property was officially re-flagged mid-week during our stay, and I have to give them credit for the sprucing up I saw going on around the property the last 2 or 3 days. This place is neither "Grand" nor would I call it a "resort", really. We booked here on a time share exchange and regretted not choosing the Morritt's Tortuga Club on the East End.
To their credit the staff at this property was very friendly and most helpful, and overall, the place was very clean. We did stay in a room with a view of the water and pool area. We were trying to figure out if the sand that constituted the landscaping was there on purpose or if there was grass there originally and during Hurricane Ivan it got over-washed with sand and they decided not to re-plant? Our room was spacious and clean, however, the washing machine would only function on the Rinse cycle, the dryer could only dry two towels at a time and that took nearly 2 hours to accomplish. (we brought our own beach towels, as we were there to spend the week snorkeling) They do have beach towels available at the pool, however, and I did opt to use them the final day of our stay to avoid the pain of trying to dry ours in preparation for packing. We did call and report the washing machine and dryer, and the washing machine was fixed, but the dryer never improved. Also, I discovered just as we were leaving that the dishwasher was broken and did not function either. (I hand washed the two bowls we used for breakfast each morning, and we picked up food and ate in the room only a couple of times, so, running it was not a necessity until we were ready to leave, only to discover it didn't function)
Please know that there is no beach at this place, nor is there any snorkeling. We spent hours driving each day to various spots on the island in pursuit of places to snorkel. We ate one meal at the onsite restaurant, upon arrival and the food was good. I had the pan fried Snapper and Gary had a burger. The Service was friendly and on "island time", but, heck, what are you there for anyway??!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear carybenn53,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad to hear you found our front desk staff agent to be friendly and helpful. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. I would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Cayman
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.