We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Blue Iguana Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park

Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park
Frank Sound Road | North Side, Grand Cayman, KY1 1701, Grand Cayman
1 345 947 9462
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$79*
and up
Grand Cayman Tour by 4x4 Including Pedro St James...
Ranked #15 of 101 Attractions in Grand Cayman
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to orchids (in bloom late May through June) and elusive iguanas as well as parrots and other birds.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Blue Iguana Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

April 26,2013: We went wanting to see the Blue Iguanas.We chose to do the guided tour with Alberto, at an extra cost.Our group of 6 adults enjoyed this very much as we were the only people on the tour. We were able to view many different sized blue iguanas, all penned. Alberto was very informative on the history of the iguanas and how this park has helped increase the population of these reptiles from near extinction. The tour was approx 45 - 60 minutes. We were never rushed, all our questions were courteously answered. There was lots of time to take photos.We also wandered around the park to view the beautiful gardens and birds. I really enjoyed the cactus garden and was lucky enough to find one orchid in bloom.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    174
    57
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lubec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

They have done such a great job with this place. It was incredible. This place has it all for a small botanical garden. We went on a rainy day to keep cool. When we go back to the island I will go back there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Garden, wrong time of year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

As many others have said, this is the wrong time of year to go, but can't imagine how beautiful it must be when everything is in bloom. Still, the diversity of vegetation was amazing. And we did see three Blue's with little effort - just need to be quiet and look around and there they are! Saw many people too caught up in looking at their phones or talking who walked right past them!! Do not need to take the guided tour to see them, just be patient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we went (April 2013) the orchids were not blooming. More importantly, do NOT go here expecting to see blue iguanas. We saw one iguana and others were reportedly in the park but we did not see them (the rest of the island is loaded with many varieties of iguanas). The "habitat" mentioned can only be accessed with a guide for extra money. A tall wooden fence blocks any real view of the area without going with a guide. So if you're happy with seeing the gardens for $10 each, you won't be disappointed. You may even get lucky and see one or more of the wild iguanas.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Blue Iguana sighting, priceless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a huge, wonderful botanical garden you must see. Inside the park is the Blue Iguana center in which they are raised to be released in the wild. They are endemic to the Island and are in danger of extinction. It is definitely worth the trip to get some variety from the beaches and get some introduction to the local fauna and flora. There was a blue Iguana welcoming us near the parking lot, definitely one of the highlights of the trip there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.