We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerheads Brew Pub and Grill - CLOSED

Hammerheads Brew Pub and Grill
Waterfront, George Town, Grand Cayman,, Grand Cayman
1 (345) 949-3080
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great little restaurant, fantastic staff and delicious food. Had an amazing time with a few of my friends here and we all look forward to going again soon. Food is worth the price as well as drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool Brew in the harbor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The bar itself is cool. You are right where the fisherman clean their catch which does attract a number of huge tarpon, like over 20 of them. The other thing that comes with this is the stink of fish. Nice view of the ocean though.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

spent the day eating, drinking & snorkeling off the pier. wonderful place

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Late Lunch and a few drinks before heading back to the cruise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I were there with another couple in April as we made our way back to our cruise. Hammerheads is a small restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. While we were there we chose to sit outside as some of us wanted to make use of their access to the water. Part of the restaurants charm, is its ladder into the beautiful Cayman ocean where you can swim or snorkel. There some rocks near the other side of Hammerheads where some teens were lounging. You can also see some finish swimming near the shore. The day we were there, it was a bit packed but service was still very good and as prompt as possible. We ordered 1 drink per person and 4 appetizers, and our bill came out to a little less than $100. Some might consider this a bit much, but considering how expensive life is on an island we thought it was in the correct range.
Hammerheads is very close to the cruise port, to the right as you exit. Be careful as you are walking to the restaurant and in that area in general, there are no sidewalks and many cars/vans are lining up to pick up passengers. We were all adults but I can imagine walking with young children could be dangerous.

If you are looking for free wifi this is the place to go, just make note that the wifi is INSIDE the restaurant. You will not have a strong signal on the deck, especially if you are using your cellphone. American credit cards are accepted, but always remember to let your bank know you are traveling overseas. Our friends' card was declined for this reason.

Enjoy!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Eat, drink, swim, snorkeling, surf Internet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This place is located a few meters North from the cruise terminal that you can go walking.
*** BE CAREFOUL there is a sign of "buy the fish here and hamerheads will cook for you" before you enter the restaurant. Do not do it!! it is more expensive than buy directly into the restaurant. ****
Different options with sea food, or fish, hamburgers and fried food with good taste aprox. 12 to 25 US$ PP
Excellent landscape with occasional tourist but not like other famous restaurants in Downtown full of cruisers.
Option to eat outdoors and swim while you wait for you food just look for the ladder in the right side or jump to the water and start swim or snorkeling to the cali wreck . Wifi internet connection available for customers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads Brew Pub and Grill also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerheads Brew Pub and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.