We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rum Point Restaurant

Rum Point Restaurant
Rum Point Club, North Side, KY1-1107, Grand Cayman
345-947- 9412
Update restaurant details
Ranked #88 of 234 restaurants in Grand Cayman
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After a slightly awkward greeting, they could not find our reservation, we were seated on the screened in porch with a view of the water at one of the nicely spaced tables. After this the servers were very nice. The pace of the meal was slow. For some people it would have been way too slow. For us, it was perfect but they were not busy. Cannot predict what would happen if the restaurant was busy. Now for the food. We shared ceviche three ways. It was excellent. Then we had fish and scallops. The fish was good; the scallops were great. The scallops were supposed to come with mashed potatoes but I substituted the sweet potato hash. Great move! Dessert was a delicious mango sorbet. We would return in a minute.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    65
    57
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While staying in the East End, we drove to Rum Point for dinner. We had enjoyed the food last year and were anxious to return. We were certainly not disappointed. The area outside the restaurant is reminiscent of vacation areas in the sixties--very welcoming and laid back. We arrived without reservations but were seated at the last table with a view of the water and pier inside the screened in wrap-around porch. The presentation of the food was beautiful. Their specials were 3 different catch of the day grilled, blackened, or pan fried. We chose salmon and snapper. Both were served with chef's choice steamed vegetables, one with rice and the other mashed squash. The food was excellent. Would recommend to all. As an aside, it is a beautiful location for sunset photos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My boyfriend & I ate here this past week. We drove to Rum Point from Seven Mile Beach, but I was told you can take a boat from there. The boat ride is free if you eat at the restaurant. We had the trio of ceviche, which was fine. They also gave us a free sample appetizer, already picked out by the kitchen, and bread. I ordered the seared diver scallops, which were amazing. Sooooo good, I'm so glad I ordered it. And my boyfriend ordered a fish entree, he wasn't particularly impressed with any of the fish dinners on the island. He did enjoy sharing my scallop dinner with me. The drinks were great, and we ordered the key lime pie for dessert. That was delicious as well. The restaurant has a great view of the ocean. The service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal ruined by poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate the Seafood hot pot, at $33, it seemed pricey. Not so, it was worth every penny. An awesome meal. The wine list is exceptional and the atmosphere, right on the beach, is outstanding. I would have gone for dessert but the service was so poor, I couldn't stand another minute of it. The waiter brought our check before our meal, he forgot to take our order, he was confused about the menu, and everything else. Even the manager was AWOL when I wanted to complain. The place had only five tables full in the off season so no excuses here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the jerk chicken wrap and my wife had the fish sandwich. Both were great! We also had the mudslide and another rum drink. The drinks rivaled Mama's Fish House in Maui. If you've been there then you know how tough those drinks are to even come close to. Rum Point is a great place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rum Point Restaurant also viewed

North Side, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Rum Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rum Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Rum Point Restaurant to your Saves list