We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rum Point Restaurant

Rum Point Restaurant
Rum Point Club, North Side, KY1-1107, Grand Cayman
345-947- 9412
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 245 Restaurants in Grand Cayman
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had lunch outside at one of their picnic tables. I had the Jerk Chicken and it was pretty good, and a nice sized portion of food. The best part was being able to have lunch on the beach and enjoy the beauty of Rum Point.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    80
    32
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
US
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"No no no!"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Once you get to the Rum Point, you'll see a lot of signs about "No"s.

First off, the Rum Point is quite overrated. The beach is small and crowded, but the clam water makes up for it. The water isn't very clear, and there isn't much to see in the water other than what's under the dock. The restaurant is a bit expensive because it monopolizes the business. Food is typical, and so is the drink, nothing really stands out.... except the price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we decide to go to rum point on our last night to see the sunset, and went to the rum point restaurant after. we have never eaten there before, and did not have a reservation. although they were expecting a big crowd, the manager sat us inside. we had drinks and ordered our food, and then the crowd came, we were pleasantly surprised that although they were packed the service was fantastic, the food was great and as we were sitting near the open kitchen it provided some great entertainment watching the chefs and servers hustle and bustle, we were never rushed and the manager came over several times to check with us on our food and service, great friendly atmosphere, and fabolous food as anywhere in Cayman

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We took the boat ride at Red Sail Sports to the restaurant. Service at the restaurant was average, but the food is very good and a good value. We would go back and take the free catamaran ride again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I liked that there was an indoor restaurant for dinner, a big beach area, a souvenir shop, and an outdoor lunch restaurant. We had lunch and it was very good. The service was okay but on the island I've found that the service is pretty bad most places. Keep that in mind because you will encounter it everywhere. All the tables were on the beach and most were in the shade. Got some cute souvenirs as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rum Point Restaurant also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
North Side, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Rum Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rum Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.