We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobstering is the antedote to the cattle drive alternatives!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Fish Adventures

Fat Fish Adventures
| PO Box 11569 APO, Grand Cayman
+1 345-327-4973
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fat Fish Adventures is a family run company. We offer Jet Ski Safaris and Private Boat Charters to Stingray City. Tours are between 2.5Hrs long and 4hrs. We stop at four places on the tour, Stingray City, Snorkeling along one of the reefs, Starfish Beach and through the natural wetlands of Cayman. We are an exclusive company keeping our tours private and personal. Look forward to seeing you in Cayman!
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Lobstering is the antedote to the cattle drive alternatives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are a family of 5 who have done the Caribbean cruises a number of times since there’s something for our teenagers and great beaches for the parents. We are all active so quickly get bored with the cattle car tours, like Sting-ray City. Lobstering sounded different so despite the lack of competition in this activity, we thought we’d try it with Fat Fish Adventures. We’ve had lots of cruise highlights over the years but lobstering with Fat Fish stands tall among them.
First, potential fish hunters should know that Peter and Justin are not there to coddle you. Lobstering is real work and not for armchair athletes. Since your hosts want you to succeed at catching these shellfish, they pay more attention to your equipment fitting well than whether you brought enough suntan lotion with you. Bully for them. They focus on making sure you can swim well, dive about 10 feet below the surface, and hold your breath for at least 30 seconds while snorkeling. They are polite to those who would prefer to soak up the sun and drink water on the boat, but focus their attention on those who are keen on catching lobsters. Peter and Justin do the hard part of locating the lobsters, scaring them from their cover, and hopefully into your area where you are expected to deftly snare their tail before your lungs explode for lack of air. You are given this 2-3 foot long pole with a loop on the end. You are supposed to maneuver the wire behind the lobster’s tail and pull it taught to snare the crawler. It really is tough and our family felt lucky to have caught one among the 5 of us. Peter and Justin obliged, after we all tried a few times, in catching the other 5 lobsters so that we could all head for shore and lunch. Fat Fish adheres to a strict 6 lobster limit to make sure that the waters aren’t over fished. The whole boat trip takes about an hour and a half but you are tired by the time it’s over since you’ve been swimming hard. You are more than ready to move on to the eating part of the trip.
The restaurant visit was the real surprise. Peter drove us back to the Grand Cayman town and delivered us to a reserved table at a restaurant on the water. This location is right in the heart of Grand Cayman and is built on a small private pier, which means that you are really “on the water”. So it’s a pretty special place, crowded with tourists, all enjoying themselves at lunch. The deal Fat Fish has with the restaurant is that the restaurant keeps half the lobsters in exchange for cooking and serving your party the other half. What Peter is very protective of, and the restaurant honors, is that Peter dictates which lobsters are the ones you get to enjoy. Of our 6 lobsters, 2 were about twice the size (around 6 pounds each) as the others and Peter made sure those bigger ones were ours. There’s a lot of pomp and circumstances when the server brings out the big plates with the 3 lobsters, prepared 3 different ways – curried, with garlic butter, and thermidor. So when the plates arrive, they are of varied colors and quite attractive. Very shortly thereafter and predictably, the other lobsters we had brought had been spoken for by other diners. It’s hard to say which dish was the best because they were all so good. We are Maine lobster people but these lobsters rivaled anything we’ve ever had in the Boston vicinity.
We invited Peter to join us for a drink and we were delighted when he accepted. What followed was an amazing series of stories about living in the Caribbean. Peter has traveled extensively in the area, including to Cuba, and he is quite the story teller. We are still laughing about his tales. He graciously offered to pay for his drinks when he was done, which we politely declined. We waddled back to the ship and could only muster a feeble attempt at dinner that night.
In summary, for those who are looking for something slightly different, a bit strenuous, and very memorable, we can’t recommend Fat Fish enough. And for those few who would prefer to have an excursion pandering to your every touristy whims, well, that’s what the ship excursions are for.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    13
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best excursion ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have been on 5 cruises, and many excursions. I also own a top of the line 2012 Seadoo water craft. I have got to say this is the best Island excursion my family has ever done. In December 2012 we (wife and 2 boys age 13 and 9) rented to jet skis. We went off in a small group to Sting Ray Island for a private tour... Our guide made sure we all had plenty of stingray time. We laughed as we noticed others on crowded tour boats nearby. After Stingray city, we spent some time jumping waves on the open ocean, then we ventured of to a reef for some excellent snorkelling. We found the whole trip to be very professional and good value for money. The water craft are also very respectable (decent power and good condition). There is no doubt we will do this tour again, the next time we are in the Cayman Islands. 10 out of 10!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best value on the island and I highly suggest!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you only do one thing on the island while your there do this; it takes the amazing scenery of the ocean and mangrove trees, wonderful snorkeling, beautiful beaches with starfish at starfish point, feeding & holding the stingrays at the stingray sand bar, grabbing some drinks & food at a local rum point beach restuarant and combines them all into one fabulous outing that you get to ride jet skis around to. Not to mention for the price it was the best value on the island for doing all of those amazing things. You can get a ski for yourself or get one made for two and just switch out driving which is what we did. It was a blast and I would totally do it again. I highly suggest this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lack of attention to details(we got left behind)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

First when I contacted them, everything went well. I booked the Sting Ray JetSki tour and confirmed thru both email and phone. I provided details of our ship name, date, and arrival time and Fat Fish told me to book 11am tour. We took the first tender boat to the shore and got to Hard Rock Cafe before pick-up time we thought, none was there. After few minutes wait, I decided to ask the other tour guide there waiting for their guests and borrowed the phone to call. Ended up Fat Fish already left because there is 1 hr difference between ship time and local time.

I understood this could happen some time. However, when I emailed and called to book the tour, I told them the ship we were on. The ship arrived at 11am local time so there is no way for us to get to the shore thru tender boat and be picked up at 11am. The ship has been going there many times and as a professional tour service, they should know better. I don't know why they would not bother to check and told us to book 11am tour.

So we didn't get to see sting ray and snorkel. The other tour guide was nice and tried to take us on their tour but it's full. We then did some island tour ourselves and saw the 7 mile beach, also snorkeling around the shore which was nice too.

Very disappointed. I wish they would have paid more attention to details. Guests like us may just go to Grand Cayman once lifetime. Being a local tour company, they should know cruise situation better than guests and make the right suggestion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petcarGrandCayman, Owner at Fat Fish Adventures, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We do appreciate constructive criticisim, as it helps us to improve our business, however this review is inaccurate and the accusations towards our company are absolutely false.

The review titled, "Lack of attention to details - we got left behind", is a totally misleading account of the situation that occurred.
Let us explain further.
The ship the guests were on, The Mariner of the Seas, was scheduled to arrive into Grand Cayman, according to the Port Authority Schedule, at 10:00 am Eastern Standard Time.
(We use the Port Authority Schedule to decide which tour times will work for our guests- either 8:30 am or 11:00 am.)
The ship's arrival into port that day was confirmed by the Port Authority to be on time at 10:00 am Eastern Standard Time.
These guests should have had no problem making our meeting time at 11:00 am Eastern Standard Time.
We are not sure what happened to these people, but they did not show up at the scheduled meeting time.
Maybe they confused the time zones, Eastern Standard Time and Central Time- as their ship did originate from a Central Time zone.
For whatever reason they were not there.
We were at the designated meeting spot on time and waited an extra 10 minutes for these guests who did not show.
Even if their ship did arrive at 11:00 am- 1 hour later than scheduled, which is what they claim, we can still not be held responsible for a ship's late arrival. Ship's rarely arrive late and we can only base our tour schedules on their scheduled docking times.
In this situation, we were at the meeting spot exactly as planned and could not remain any longer for them as others in our group, who were there on time, were being inconvenienced.
We believe the 1 star rating we have been given by these people is unjustified and should not be published by trip advisor.
We clearly have absolutely zero control over ships arriving late or passengers confusing time zones.
We would like to have this review removed from Trip Advisor as it is inaccurate and filled with false accusations. This review has also negatively affected our good rating.
Sincerely Peter Jervis
Owner Fat Fish Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yates Center, Kansas
1 review
“GREAT ADVENTURE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had the best time! 6 of us. We booked the lobster dive & Stingray adventure! Captain and crew (Peter & Jordan) were a blast! After diving to catch our lobster...well, some of them dove for lobster...not me(still fun to watch!), we went and swam and played with the stingray. What beautiful water and awsome experience. Then we headed to the restaurant where they cooked the lobster for us! Ummmmm they were delicious! Captain and crew made sure we enjoyed our food and drinks and even sat and visited with us until it was time to head back to our ship. Don't miss this one!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Fish Adventures also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Fat Fish Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Fish Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.