We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary – great place for a relaxing, romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peter Island Resort to your Saves list
Peter Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 211, Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exemplary – great place for a relaxing, romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Peter Island Resort.

The resort’s staff and the property’s physical design made us feel as though there were few, if any, other guests on the island.

Definitely go sailing for a day and have dinner on the beach!

*Staff
- Incredibly attentive and friendly; they knew our names immediately
- When we needed to visit a doctor on Tortola, for an ear that would not “pop” several days after our plane flight, the resort’s staff organized an off-cycle water taxi, a taxi on Tortola, and a doctor’s appointment for us. We were impressed that this was all organized in < 30 minutes.

*Food/Drinks
- High marks for quality and variety
- Very flexible to room service requests and item substitutions
- Try the French toast at breakfast!

*Rooms
- Spacious
- Well-situated to capture panoramic views
- Our room’s front windows/shutters and back balcony’s doors opened, allowing for a nice cross-breeze

*Beaches
-Beautiful, postcard-like
- Never crowded
- The photos on the resort’s website are accurate

*Spa
- Great beachside couples massage

*Pool
- Though the resort had a nice looking pool, we never used it b/c of the amazing beaches

Room Tip: There really aren’t any “bad rooms;” perhaps try to get one on the second (upper) level so that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    122
    38
    31
    9
See reviews for
60
420
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews on TA for this property, I booked it for my husband and I to stay and relax a few days before boarding a boat to cruise around the island (which, I also highly recommend!). This place definitely lived up to the great reviews. We flew in on a helicopter (an amazing way to see the islands) and were treated with the greatest service for our whole stay. Our room wasn't ready, but so what! Went and had a drink and something to eat by the beach. You just can't beat the view! Check in was easy, right in the room - no lines, nothing - everything waiting for you. I highly recommend the beach front rooms. Unbeatable views, very nice, comfy king size bed, big balcony, and awesome bathroom! Loved the wet room with the two shower heads and big Jacuzzi tub. I figured it was well worth the extra price for the beach front suites.

While the property was full when we were there, it was never over crowded. There was never a wait for tables, always beach chairs available, etc. The service was always good - from the desk people, to bartenders, to wait staff, to spa. Never any issues and everyone always friendly. Yes, it's "island time" and maybe everyone doesn't jump and run - but we found that to contribute to our slipping into a very relaxed state. They are doing a really top notch job in running this resort.

The manager cocktail hour is a great way to meet people and a fun idea. Booking a trip to White Bay Beach is awesome. No charge, just sign up and they will drive you to the most beautiful, secluded beach with your own cabana, table, and lounge chairs. They brought us lunch in the afternoon and a chilled bottle of wine. We loved it!

Sunset loop is also something not to be missed. We ordered up a bottle of wine and they provided a complimentary plate for each party full of wonderful cheeses, fruits, and crackers. They drive you up to a point to watch the sunset and it...is....amazing!!!!

Some people have commented on the price of food, but we were actually surprised it wasn't more after reading all the reviews. From experience, whenever you go to an island where they have to transport everything in, it does get more pricey. I didn't think the prices here were way out of line, just priced high due to location. I will say the food was always delicious and we had no complaints. Well, maybe just one suggestion, I don't know why they don't include coffee as part of the breakfast buffet. It's not cheap so it just seems a bit much to charge $3.50 for a cup of coffee....But, loved all the food and drinks we had while staying.

The only thing I found not to be on a near perfect level was the lack of walkways. When exploring or walking, you basically are walking on the roads which are well traveled by the staff on the island so you have to continually walk out of the way. But, that is the only quasi complaint I had at all (and it's really not a complaint, just an observation).

This is an excellent choice for a stay in the BVI. We met several people who were repeat guests so they are doing something right! I'm pretty sure we'll make it back there too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from another awesome PI trip for 10 year anniversary. PI was awesome, much better the second time around as the weather was awesome. The general manager Mr. Mason was wonderful and really treated us right on this return visit--thanks so much to you good sir. Many other staff to mention as awesome too: Edward the "behind the scenes guy"; the two Marsha's that serve the tables; Anne Marie at the SPA; Collin at front desk; Captain the drink man at the bar. We met some other great people as we stayed there and you will too. The location is incredible. We choose to fly into St. Thomas and take the PI arranged private ferry over. It was a easier and cheaper than flying to Beef Island Tortola. The grounds and beaches of PI are simply incredible. It really is a private oasis. We prefer to travel in low season as its less crowded and also our business is slower. Service is still top shelf even in low season.
Food is excellent. It's almost shocking that every dinner tastes so good; Lisa the executive chef has the gang performing at high level every night. Good variety too even though there is only one restaurant open nightly. Never had the same thing twice all week. Get the banana fosters if you can. It rocks. We recommend getting the meal plan as food is very expensive not just here but everywhere in the island--it cost us $50 just to eat appetizer and salads for lunch in St.Thomas not including tip.
SPA is great. Expensive but they usual have a special that is a good deal. At least go and use the hot tub and pool there.
Activities: Sunset loop is must; White bay for day is awesome especially if you like snorkeling. Snorkeling is good along left side of Dead Man's Beach too. We did the Thursday boat trip to the Baths on Virgin Gorda and that was great. Joe the boat captain was great. Visit Road Town on Tortola--great little harbor village to shop in.
Rooms: The Ocean Front rooms are awesome. Lots of space, huge spa tub and duel showers. Deck overlooking Dead Man's Beach with hammocks right out back door. Twice daily maid service.
Simply put, we will be back; again and again. Thank you Peter Island team.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are fine as not in the rooms much here; but once you stay in the Ocean Front Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at this lovely resort, and I was taken back to a different time in the West Indies where the staff at resorts were very helpful and the resorts were quite. When we arrived by boat from Tortola, we were given a delightfully cool beverage of ginger and lemongrass. The room that we had was spacious, the food was awesome. I enjoyed the tranquil environment. We hiked the island which took up a part of the day, and we enjoyed that experience very much. The general manager was very friendly as was the staff. The beach is very nice and calm. I truly felt like I was transported back in time to the peaceful days of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast - USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This resort is really a place that you think about long after your trip. It is beautiful, the staff excellent, the beach spectacular and truly a fantastic destination.
My husband and I went to enjoy 10 wonderful days in a junior, oceanview suite. The room was quite nice - roomy, well appointed, a large balcony with drop dead views and a huge bathroom. The ocean was about 30 feet from out balcony. The beach was almost deserted - honestly less than 10 guests on the entire stretch.
I was concerned about bugs as I'm one of those that mosquitos seem to love. I hate to go to a lovely place and just feel miserable. I had no problem here. There is spray IF you need it and with the tradewinds, I was doing great.
We did a package that included meals, an excursion on Patouche Tours of various island close by, including Virgin Gorda and The Baths, a vintner's dinner, a sunset with drinks, a lunch at Honeymoon Beach and a picnic lunch on White beach which is a movielike set beach on the island's north side. Every part was so special and unique in its own way that it's hard to pick which we enjoyed the most. The cruise was so great we are coming back with our kids and renting the boat for a private tour. The wine dinner was very nice - I have worked in the wine industry and the dishes and wines were well paired and the wine rep very knowledgable. The beach picnics were like being the only ones around with every wish catered to.
The island has the resort, 3 spectacular villas, a spa out of this world and nothing else. PERFECT. We walked, ran, biked several trails laid out for guests and it worked your backside off! There is a gym and tennis courts that we also took advantage of.
My husband used the spa - a first - and he raved about it. We used the snorkle eqpt, sailboats, longboards - there is so much offered by the resort.
Did I mention food - EXCELLENT! Fresh, tasty, varied cuisine with fantastic service. I love a great meal and everything from the burgers at the beach grill to the seafood dinner at the restaurant and bar was superlative.
We meant wonderful fellow guests that we are still in contact with. It is such a nice place and seems to bring great people together.
The pools - incredible. The views- movie like. The service STELLAR.
Great staff - friendly, courteous, professional, real ambassadors for the BVIs.
We took a special tour of Tortola with the man who wrote the book about Peter Island. He had brought us to the hotel's boat from the airport. We spent all day touring the island with him and he is a gem.
I can't say enough of this beautiful island, its beaches, the resort and the staff. It will be a regular destination for us. You won't be disapppointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Returned after a 20 year lapse to find the staff as friendly as ever (Jean Kelly is still there);
the beaches as soft and white as before, the water as warm and clear. The restaurant food is very good but not excellent. However, for the islands it is all that I could want. While the room renovations have expanded the bathrooms to include jacuzzi tubs, we felt better using the shower for ecological reasons. You are spoiled for choice: 5 beaches to choose from; we also took a snorkeling trip to Virgin Gorda which was a lovely excursion as well as renting a boat to go to Saba Point and Bitter End Yacht Club.
Above all, you can pay lots of money in the islands for luxury resorts, but frankly we wanted a place that delivered on excellent beaches and clear waters; good food (I don't need huge meals on beach holidays); and friendly and kind people: Peter Island has it all. Even the other guests seem to be on the same relaxed wavelength. Will return before 20 years.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the waves lapping the beach at night, go for the beach suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We only spent three nights here as we were onward to Tortola for a week after. We rented a pool side room. The rooms were comfortable and the whole setting was very relaxing. Hammocks placed throughout the property allowed you to release all tensions from the big land issues. We also opted for the breakfast and dinner program. The food was excellent, the service was great and the beach is fantastic. We used the gym and rant he loop which also were great. i would highly recommend this island for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peter Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort

Address: P.O. Box 211, Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Peter Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.