We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anegada Reef Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Anegada Reef Hotel to your Saves list
Anegada Reef Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Setting Point, Anegada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Anegada
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It had been over twenty years since we had been to the British Virgin Islands and we were looking forward to going back. We stayed at the Anagada Reef Hotel where we had stayed in the past. It was as I remembered, the owners and staff were very helpful and went out of their way to welcome you to their island. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable, nothing fancy. The hotel is close to the ferry dock and they have taxi service to take you to other parts of the island. They can set you up with a fishing trip or a tour of the island. Dinner on the beach with the sun setting is a memorable experience. It has been a month since we got back and I still smile thinking the trip and planning the next one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the 10th year we've been going to Anegada and this time words aren't enough. The Anegada Reef Hotel, it's owners and staff are amazing. The dinners - beach barbecues under the stars every night - the beautiful simplicity of the hotel, the blood pressure lowering ambiance of the island, the stars at night, the pristine smell of the air, the way the local people greet you and spend time talking with you, the light reflecting off the vegetation at dusk, the way the moonlight casts a shadow of you when you take a walk at night. And, of course, the BEACHES! You will not see beaches like this anywhere else. My husband and I have been to upscale beach resorts but none can hold a candle to a trip to Anegada. It is a complete and total get away. The entire island and its 200 inhabitants are a big beautiful spa - you can't build a resort like this. And it's for real. The local people are really happy to see you and interested in you. We are now regulars at the Anegada Reef Hotel and they treat us like royalty (and we're just regular folks from Queens, NY). "This is the world the way it used to be" in the words of Keith Smith, a local and good friend of ours. People - please visit Anegada if you are in the Virgin Islands! It will blow you away. But remember - this is not a place that has been "gentrified" and that is a blessing. Just visit, preferably stay a while to really experience it and wake up every morning in this beautiful place and it will be the best thing you've ever done in your life!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunupia, Trinidad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had to work for a Day in Anegada so we decided to get a room at Anegada Reef Hotel for the day for my wife and son, so they could experience the island. Firstly they offered us a rate for the use of the room during the day, we didi not have to pay for an entire night. The room was simple but clean and comfortable, much like the entire island. There are no TVs or phones, just absolute quiet for some good R&R. The staff was very friendly and they took great care of my family until I returned from work. There is a nice beach for those who want a swim.
The drinks from the bar were good and reasonably priced, but honestly there is only one thing to get in Anegada and that is Lobster! They had the lobsters fresh in the water off their pier and you could go and see them. The grilled lobster was fantastic. It was so fresh and full of flavor I truly enjoyed every bite. The lobster sandwich was great as well. The quality of food served at the hotel was amazing and the price was reasonable. Honestly if you are in the BVI you must take a trip out to Anegada and if you do be sure to go to Anegada Reef Hotel. It is near to the ferry dock, and the staff is amazingly friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent so do not be surprised if you find yourself ordering second helpings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Anegada, a friend said I should stay at the reef motel. Upon arrival, I was greeted by nothing but smiles and "good afternoons". The entire staff at the hotel was helpful, from the bartender to the handyman to the gardener.
All I can say is that I will definitely be making my way back to Anegada and to the reef hotel, and that the lobster on the beach was amazing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

when we sailed into Anegada, we begin to feel that this was a special place. on shore we are greeted by wonderful people of the Anegada Reef Hotel. they ask how many lobsters for dinner so they could go out to freshly harvest our main course. took a car to Jacks Bay for lunch at Bamba, over to Lobolly Bay for a spectacular & swim, then to CowWreck Bay for cocktails at the "honor" bar. only in the islands. saw the Pink Flamingos at a distance. back to the sailboat, dinner at Anegada Reef Hotel and YES, the best lobster in the world. I will be back to Anegada, next time might not leave........

Room Tip: we stayed on the sailboat, however people who stayed there were very pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We loved the lobster!!!! Simply delicious!
The sunset is also very nice:)

However, do not rent a car through the hotel. They order from Stefanie Faulkner a car. We got a shabby old car with a broken exhaustion pipe. After 5 miles the tire blew... They delivered 45 min later another car that had broken windows, but at least the tires worked... We believe they rent out the private cars of their employees as the second car was delivered by a lady with two kids and we found a used fork and other personal stuff in the car...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Anegada Reef is the best resort on this little Island. It caters for persons who just want a quiet laid back vacation to persons who want a funfilled vacation. For Adventurous Sea lovers, you can go deep sea fishing or snorkeling. For nature lovers like myself, you can engage in bird watching and end the evening with a long beach combing and walking, searching for that unique seashell. If you're there with that special someone, you can take a long moonlight walk on that secluded beach which makes you feel like you're on your own private beach...imagine the things you and your lover can do under the moonlight. My best experience was having the option to dine on the beach feeling the sand between my toes.....ohhhhh what an evening.

The rooms were immaculate, water presure and temperature was just perfect.Great customer service from warm and friendly staff who's always eager to go beyond their call of duty to exceed guest expectations. I love this place and will definitely visit again. I was on the PERFECT VACATION....Thank you Anegada Reef for such exceptional vacation. Special Thank you to the staff who extended such heartfelt spirit of hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anegada Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anegada Reef Hotel

Address: Setting Point, Anegada
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Anegada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Anegada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anegada Reef Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Anegada Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anegada Reef Hotel British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anegada Reef Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.