We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think of log fires, amazing scenery and cooked breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanygrisiau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House
Tanygrisiau | Vale of Ffestiniog, Snowdonia, Tanygrisiau, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3TW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tanygrisiau B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Think of log fires, amazing scenery and cooked breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very cosy B&B with a home made feel and very helpful owners in John and Celia. The surrounding area of Blaenau Ffestiniog is very interesting and a great spot from which to explore the rest of Snowdonia. This place is very eco friendly and the owners are always looking for ways to improve (if that's possible). You won't be disappointed with a stay at Bryn Elltyd, this is what all B&Bs should be like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, Juinor kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for review. We have been busy and removed LPG gas cooker . Now TOTALLY carbon neutral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    31
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
62
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very friendly hosts, coming back to a warm welcome, tea and cake after working 12 hours is very welcome. Wi-fi good for work, breakfast good. Eco credentials second to none. This is a good b&b and I am sure the walkers etc would love it. I will stay again next time I need, if they have space! Breakfast was good with home made bread. Only thing for me is I miss the tv in the room, I dont sleep too well and go back to sleep watching tv. Having said that I wouldnt hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Great you enjoyed your stay. Always welcome. My job at present s to try to try to motivate car dealers about car charging points. Giving away free fuel and 50% off accom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A calm and magical place to stay with welcoming hosts who were happy to share their huge knowledge of sustainable living. The location is beautiful, right at the foot of a mountainside with waterfalls pouring down it and feeding the stream that winds through the garden. The rooms are a range of different eco-friendly designs - we stayed in 'The Hobbit' a pretty cabin with a wild grass roof and slate-floored shower room. My boyfriend can't eat wheat and we were greeted with wheat-free cakes on arrival and there was homemade oat bread for breakfast. Our hosts gave us a full tour and were happy to answer all of our questions about how they have made the place sustainable. An inspiring place to stay both for its natural beauty and for what you can learn from the owners' passion for the environment, if you want to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for your review. Great know you enjoyed our little establishment. We have not stood still. Since your visit we have commissioned 2 ELECTRIC CAR CHARGING POINTS, won a N. Wales award as RENEWABLE ENERGY PORJECT OF THE YEAR and just fitting the alpine sedum roof on the new bike store.

Have a great christmas.
John and Ceilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a couple of nights here in October as a base for walking and exploring. It was ideal; lovely location, peaceful, comfortable and warm. John & Celia are great characters and perfect hosts.

I only wish I had an electric car - John has created probably the only 36 amp recharging oasis in North Wales!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for review. great you liked the bread. We are on OAK smoked malted flour this week.

regards,
John Whitehead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent two nights here taking the opportunity to visit local places of interest and also climb Snowdon. The welcome we received on arrival was very warm and 'homely' and the tea and home made cake excellent. Our room was very comfortable with fantastic views - though the en-suite was somewhat 'bijou'. Our hosts - John & Celia - really do take the time to chat and share their local knowledge and John is more than ready to show how Bryn Elltyd has invested in being an Eco friendly place to stay. The Welsh breakfast was excellent and a selection of home baked bread was on offer. We certainly didn't need to bother with lunch! We also ate dinner here on one evening - home cooked and again excellent. Great location, great views, peaceful and above all, great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for review. Nice to have folk appreciate what we are trying to do.
Job for today was mounting 2 ELECTRIC CAR charging points on recycled slate slabs that I have carved with celtic knots. Don,t know anyone with electric car but it is going to happen!

Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A warm welcome, stunning location, and good food would make this a worthwhile stop in anybody's book. From the point that I arrived to be greeted with fresh cake and coffee, to the point of departure I've really had a friendlier welcome in any B&B. But what really sets this place apart is the environmentally friendly ethos of the owners The house and the land around it is festooned with eco friendly technology, and an eagerly offered "back room" tour was both educational and interesting. Check out the boiler, its a technological work of art, and you cant say that about many B&B's

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thanks for review Gary and glad you appreciate what we are trying to do. The cable for the electric car charging point has arrive. Just got to dig trench and route it through 39 inch granite wall.

BUT BUT it is sunny all weekend so we are off up them theeer hills.

regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely hosts and extremely interesting B&B. Fantastic breakfast. Room was comfortable with great views. Manod Mawr is a little small but there were 3 of us. Walls are a little thin but then you won't be spending any time in them (apart from sleeping) as the B&B has plenty of chill-out rooms/lounges plus lots of nearby walks. Fantastic!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for review. Great to hear that you liked the location. We had a guest last week went on a boys own trip in the slate mines 2m away. the co is called GO BELOW and provide a real adventure experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House

Address: Tanygrisiau | Vale of Ffestiniog, Snowdonia, Tanygrisiau, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3TW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tanygrisiau
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tanygrisiau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carbon Neutral. Alpine setting in a fold of the Ffestiniog steam railway. Station 200m. Open access to mountains and rambles. All energy comes from renewables. Yet we are 700ft up mountain in stylish 1883 house. 3 Car charge points, solar thermal and solar electric arrays. Computer integrated Wood boiler takes forest waste turns to gas and burns at 900c. Fresh artisan bread each day ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House to your Saves list