We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but didn't quite meet expectations...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biras Creek Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Biras Creek Resort to your Saves list
Biras Creek Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 54, VG1150, Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, but didn't quite meet expectations...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Biras Creek in March and were somewhat disappointed. For the cost of the stay, we expected much more.

First, the resort needs a facelift. We had 2 rooms and found them to be outdated, and one had a peculiar smell that we couldn't quite place. The bikes, although a nice touch, kept falling apart... 3 broken chains and 2 flat tires, all in just 6 days. The motorboats (again, a great idea) were in badly need of repair. The first time we took one out (after waiting 30 mins for them to fix the motor), had a large leak in the bow and we had to return after taking on water.

There seemed to be a lack of adequate staffing in most areas. The staff, although usually helpful, were not overly enthusiastic or friendly. We can't remember them using our name once.

We will definitely be returning to the BVIs, but probably not to Biras Creek.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to send us your feedback.

Our Biras Creek team will take these points of criticism and shortfalls to our daily meetings to make sure that these situations are handled quickly. We have ordered new children's bicycles already, and we have replaced many of the worn items on the adult bicycles in the last 10 days. The Boston Whaler boats are being serviced as well. We have scheduled some training classes and practiced name recognition during our daily coaching sessions. Engaging each and every guest everyday is our goal.

I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I know how important it is to fully enjoy your time away from the hustle and stresses of daily life. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. Please call Craig at 284.394.3555 if your time permits.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    32
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
185
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

You have to have cocktails with Leon at their bar - The Dream Vacation cocktail is amazing, and the view from this bar is amazing too.
The general manager drove us in a golf cart to our spa appointments, and let us relax on the beach before hand. We were treated to a tour of Oil Nut Bay also - run by the same group. Utterly amazing.
We were at a mooring ball in Biras Creek - and they were so wonderful to us.

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

In Asia, Biras Creek would never rate more than 4 stars. It's clean, but the facilities are old. The staff are very friendly but not that efficient. The tiny beach is not really swimmable and you don't get any service at the beach or by the pool. If I spent that money and effort to go to the British Virgin Islands again, I think there should be better choices there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our only complaint about this hotel is that we find we have nothing to complain about! All our needs were fully anticipated before we had thought of them. Not cheap, but Biras is uniquely placed and serviced to an exceptional standard by exceptional staff to give visitors a wonderful holiday experience. Guests visit again and again. You will find here generous comfortable beds dressed in cool cotton, air con, ceiling fans and an open-air shower. Biras employees were genuinely pleasant and kind, the food was very good, connections to Gun Creek and Bitter End were readily available, and although there seems nothing to do when one first arrives, the time passes too quickly, and all too soon it is time to go home. Iguanas, walking trails, motorised boats, a wild cockerel to signal the day, and turtles and rays in the sea. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Sea front are expensive, but next line back are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, Ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had not stayed overnight on Virgin Gorda and our travel agent found Biras for us. Our group of 6 was somewhat unsure as no one had visited and there were a couple of concerning reviews.
As soon as the launch picked us up at Trellis Bay, then we were greeted at the Biras entrance with a cool rum punch, our concerns melted away. Then we were toured around the expansive facility before getting to our "garden" room. All I can say is, there are no bad views on the property! Our garden room had an ocean view from the bedroom as well as the patio deck.
Lunch was our next stop which did not disappoint, but lunch our second day was on Biras' private beach and pavilion. No fighting for beach chairs, shade or hammocks, since there are a very limited number of guests.
It seems the few negative reviews have been from day visitors, who are welcome but seem to expect fast food timing. Sorry, island time does not allow for fast, impersonal service.
But if you are looking for a location to relax and unwind with service & food to match the understated luxury, Biras is a great location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Biras Creek for our honeymoon. Biras was the perfect setting to relax and unwind after the wedding festivities. What truly sets Biras apart from other places we have been is the seclusion and privacy. Accessible only by boat and without TV in the suites you can truly remove yourself from the outside world. We booked an all-inclusive package and ate nearly all our meals at the restaurant which was terrific. For those who want options, the Bitter End Yacht Club is a 5 minute boat ride or short walk away. You can also take a Boston Whaler to Saba Rock, or just eat lunch at the little place at the dock (forgot the name). The inclusions at Biras kept us busy all day: snorkeling trips, sailing, hiking, garden tours, the picturesque pool, and best of all: Boston Whalers for your own private getaway. Evening cocktails during sunset at the restaurant bar are a must; there's nothing better than a BVI Pain Killer at the end of a terrific day in paradise.

We did venture away from Biras: renting a car to tour Virgin Gorda and visit the baths, taking a day trip to Anegada, and an evening sail with Captain Bob on the Bravura (Highly Recommended!).

We loved our trip to Biras and it is most certainly a place we would visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have been to many resorts, but this one was truly a life experience. I was truly able to unplug and relax from a very hectic year. The suite was comforta le and literally right on the beach. In one place , we were able to hike soe great trails yet experiment with many water sports. The food was very good and the restaurant setting offered views of 3 different bodies of water. It was hard to imagine a more beautiful setting.

Overall a great vacation and I can't wait to go back. Usually I like to try different vacation spots and experience new things. But this is one place I am definitely going back to!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biras Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biras Creek Resort

Address: P.O. Box 54, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biras Creek Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized as one of the top luxury destinations in the Caribbean, Biras Creek Resort features 31 Suites nestled within 140 acres on beautiful Virgin Gorda. Only reachable by boat or helicopter and set amidst three distinct bodies of water, the enormous protected lagoon of North Sound, the open Atlantic Ocean, and the Caribbean Sea, Biras Creek provides a paradise for swimming, sailing, and snorkeling at the edge of the Resort's private white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Biras Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biras Creek Hotel North Sound
Biras Creek Resort All Inclusive
Biras Creek Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biras Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.