We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biras Creek---One of a Kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biras Creek Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Biras Creek Resort to your Saves list
Biras Creek Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 54, VG1150, Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Biras Creek---One of a Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Biras Creek Resort is a one of a kind resort that combines luxury, activity, great cuisine and adventure.

First the accomodations. There are 31 villas, most of which are right next to the Caribbean Sea. They feature a small bedroom, seperate living area, sun deck (that is half shaded), and a bath with a "garden" shower. Check their website---the layouts are on there. The mattress and pillows made for the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The linens were ultra premium. . The sun deck had two comfortable lounge chairs. There were a few minor detractions. First the furniture was a bit too worn, and the pillows that went with the sitting chairs were D+ quality. These little things didn't seem to make sense. I mean. if an expensive resort is going to spend over $1,000 on linens for each room, wouldn't you think that they would replace the chipped up wooden wastebasket? In spite of those small detractions, I would give the room an "excellent" rating, based on the location by the sea, the bedding, and the great deck.
Service: This was outstanding. Attentive, personal, thorough, friendly. You had the feeling that they all knew what they were doing, and that they had anticipated any need that you might have.
Cuisine: Again, outstanding. We bought the full meal plan. I recommend it. The restaurant is one of those places that doesn't try to do too much, and what it does is done to perfection. The dinner menu changes every two days. We met a lot of the guests there, and I did not hear one negative comment about any meal. Four or five days out of the week, lunch is served on the beach. They will grill mahi, grouper, shrimp, and lots of vegetables. All of that goes well with the fresh salads, fresh fruit and pasta. Fresh deserts are included with the lunch and dinner. Breakfast is just as good. Again lots of fresh fruit, omelots of your choosing, pastries and much more.

Adventure: There is plenty to do at Biras. Each guest is given a bike. There are three or four decent hiking trails on the property. Hobie cats, lasers, and kayaks are available at the beach at no charge. There are 5 or 6 small Boston Whalers available at no charge to do some limited exploring (the resort specifies a fairly limited boundary on these). The resort also arranges two or three complimentary snorkeling trips per week with their water sports director, Wayne. In addition to all of this, the resort arranges day trips to the Baths, Anegada, Tortola, as well as full day, half day and sunset sails on a 63' sailboat. They have a decent exercise area, and a lovely room called the Arawak Room, that is perfect for playing cards, board games or even watching a movie (there are more than 300 movies to borrow). There are two tennis courts.

Summary: Biras is a small, first class resort that you can only reach by boat or helicopter. If you stay a week, you will probably meet all of the guests that are staying with you. It is small only in that it only has 31 rooms. It is spread out over 140 acres, touching three bodies of water. It is truly a one of a kind resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Biras Creek Resort. The entire team takes a lot of pride in creating a special experience for our guests and we believe that you are right when you say it is "one of a kind".

Regarding your comment about the waste baskets in the rooms, we have new ones on order together with some other bedroom and bathroom amenities that are commensurate with the quality of our beds and new Frette linens.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Biras Creek again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    33
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
186
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I returned earlier this week from an 11 night stay at Biras Creek. It would be difficult to imagine an environment that could be more relaxing while still offering a nearly unlimited range of interesting activities. Key points below:

1. Accommodations. The resort has 17 free standing accomodation structures, each containing two separate dwelling units. Each dwelling unit consists of a comfortably sized bedroom, sitting area with comfortable chairs, ottoman, mini-fridge, kettle and coffee pot, generously sized lanai-style deck, bath and outdoor shower. The proportions of the premier and grand suites are considerably more generous (and provide an individual plunge pool for each unit), but the dimensions of the Garden and Ocean Suites are more than comfortable. The individual structures are placed in reasonably close proximity to each other, but the placement of each unit uses its alignment to the beach or garden and landscaping to maximize a sense of privacy in such a way that one is barely aware of, and unlikely to see nearby units.

2. Dining. The cuisine is top drawer in the context of each meal and its setting. Breakfast, dinner and some lunches are served at the main restaurant, with a luncheon beach barbecue saved at the Deep bay watersports area several days a week. The service is friendly and attentive and the dining room staff has an instinctive sense of how to pace the service. Each member of the staff-Janice, Kathy Ann, Lavern, Arlene, Cheryl, Novelette, Fernella, Donna, Yvonne - brings a unique charm and competence to her work. The bartenders - Lennox, Clinton, Leon and Monique - have an encyclopedic knowledge of Caribbean drinks as well as the old standbys and can be trusted to make insightful recommendations for wine pairings from the comprehensive wine list.

3. Activity Offerings. Thrice weekly snorkeling trips, guided expertly by Wayne, offer even the novice snorkeler an opportunity to explore nearby reefs and marine life. The watersports offerings at Deep Bay offer a choice among Hobie Cats, Lasers, kayaks and paddle boards, with plenty of advice by Leanro for novices. The ability to explore North Sound in a Boston Whaler offers a great opportunity to explore North Sound on your own. The hiking trails and gardens should not be missed, as the trails offer amazing vistas of Berchers Bay, Deep Bay and North Sound.

4. Staff. The Front desk staff and guest assistants (GA's) (Torrey, Frankie, Oma, Maggie, Jen and Betty) are always available to help arrange a trip or activity that requires any degree of planning or local knowledge.

We'll be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Although significantly more expensive than the Garden Suites, the Ocean Suites offer the sights and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
It is always so gratifying to read that guests have enjoyed their stay at Biras Creek and I thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive review. The staff are delighted to have been of service and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Biras as soon as you can make it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoy sports and physical activities, good dining and attractive facilities. We found Biras Creek to be a perfect vacation place for the two of us.

There are plenty of water sport options, as well as opportunities for hiking on trails. The restaurant is outstanding, which is to be expected in a Relais & Chateaux property. The facilities are attractive and comfortable. We stayed in two different types of rooms at different price levels. We found the room at the lower level quite acceptable but I would recommend the higher end room, which includes a plunge pool, if the budget allows.

Finally, the staff was friendly and very helpful. As an example, when I took a wind surfing lesson, my instructor kept running on the beach as I was struggling to keep my balance, shouting instructions continuously to keep me aflight.

On a practical note, I would suggest bringing an effective mosquito repellent; you will find mosquitos on all of the islands, particularly in the evenings.

All in all, we had a wonderful vacation and would love to return to Biras Creek.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your vacation at Biras Creek. It was a pleasure to have you here as guests and we are delighted that your experience was a good one.

Everyone here looks forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

To sum up: we had a fantastic time at Biras ("Bye-rus") Creek. It's a beautiful, very secluded, very quiet, understated, homey kind of place. We came home happy, relaxed, tanned, five pounds heavier each, and with a bottle of rum. If you are questioning why you're paying so much for such a place, it is for its unique location and seclusion, in my opinion. Don't have to read further if not interested.

Now, more details: look a map of Virgin Gorda and consider the location of Biras Creek, on the isthmus connecting the fat southern portion of the island to the small northern nubbin of the island. Virtually the entire local population of VG lives in the southern portion (Spanish Town). There are NO paved roads connecting Spanish Town through this isthmus to the northern part of the island, hence why Biras is only accessible via boat or helicopter. My point...one day we rented a car to explore Spanish Town (I highly recommend this, it was a fun daytrip). We explored the Baths (beautiful, but crowded with tourists), met a lot of locals, etc etc, found out that morning the entire island had a power outage for some time (apparently this happens every so often) but I had no idea--the resort wasn't affected. I was impressed. Biras Creek also produces its own potable drinking water using a reverse osmosis system; how many resorts you know does this? Consider the costs of running a property (max 34 villas) such as this with this location. When we arrived, there was no check-in; we were met by two assistants with rum punch, cool scented towels, and went on a golf cart tour of the property, which to me is like cross between a hilly botanical garden and a quaint Caribbean country village flanked on two sides by different seas. The room was already air-conditioned for us when we entered and music was playing. How charming is that?

There's a lot of water activities available as mentioned in previous reviews; I recommend the hikes which provide the spectacular views posted on websites and the complimentary morning snorkeling trips. The room decor isn't posh or very luxurious, but tasteful and has rustic charm. Some may like the outdoor shower, for me, it meant getting bitten by mosquitos while showering. Food: dinners excellent (those palate cleanser sorbets are soooo good!)--lunch good (most days of the week it's a BBQ grilled lunch w/ fixin's next to the beach, strategically planned so you can zonk out after lunch on the sand)--breakfast is ok--wine list excellent, as are the bartenders and the waitstaff. I find the BVI palate lighter on salt than American palates, which is probably a good thing--however on some dishes, some were completely bland on some days. BVI locals are refreshingly warm and friendly. We met several return guests there, usually a good sign. One couple has been returning there every year for over 10 years. We're considering returning also, which is not easy for us to say about a place!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a Grande Suite. It has its own dipping pool and probably the best ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thanks so much for the comprehensive reivew of your recent stay with us at Biras Creek. It is a very special place and it is always gratifying to know that we have achieved our goal of helping our guests to relax and have a wonderful vacation.

I hope that you will decide to return here. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Biras Creek offers gorgeous views, excellent dining and fine rooms. The staff is very good and most of them take great pride in their work. The beach is gorgeous, though at times windy. From the dining room you get views that are undoubtedly among the best in the Caribbean. As for the food, it ranged between very good and excellent, considerably better than at say, Caneel Bay, and from comments we heard from guests at Bitter End, far and away superior. We thought the bartender was outstanding-- friendly, and able to bring you something you like, even if you just say, "whatever." Biras Creek is a place that offers privacy, plenty of water sports and an excellent snorkling guide. You would have to be picky indeed not to love Biras Creek.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with an ocean front room, and if you don't want to walk to the gorgeous p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so very much for posting this review of Biras Creek Resort. Everyone here works hard to achieve the perfect balance of peace and tranquility, coupled with opportunities to be more active if the mood takes you. It is gratifying when we achieve that balance and very much appreciate your taking the time to write about us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Biras is really meant for couples. There is very little night life and that is how it should be. The Biras Creek Resort is a beautiful, luxurious place to spend time with your special someone. Replace the party scene with a beautiful sunset. Get up for the sunrise and watch the rays come into shore to feed, while a lone shark glides through the shallows. Use this tranquil place to slow down your life. See my entire review with photos at:

http://theworldaccordingtojud.com/2012/01/30/the-biras-creek-resort-virgin-gorda-bvi/

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review of Biras Creek and to write about us on your blog. Everyone on the team is thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful British Virgin Islands again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We love Relais & Chateaux hotels and this one ticks every box. Great staff who are friendly and want to make your stay as comfortable and special as possible. Good food, wonderful scenery, lovely rooms with very comfy bed (but no bath and a bit dated). Understated luxury with no flashy marble which suits the surroundings. We loved the little boats that could be taken out - great fun. Would definitely return and highly recommend it for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and book a full sea view room. 11A was gorgeous but the larger suites looked great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Biras Creek Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff take great pride in providing the best possible experiences for our guests. We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future to help make more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biras Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biras Creek Resort

Address: P.O. Box 54, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biras Creek Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized as one of the top luxury destinations in the Caribbean, Biras Creek Resort features 31 Suites nestled within 140 acres on beautiful Virgin Gorda. Only reachable by boat or helicopter and set amidst three distinct bodies of water, the enormous protected lagoon of North Sound, the open Atlantic Ocean, and the Caribbean Sea, Biras Creek provides a paradise for swimming, sailing, and snorkeling at the edge of the Resort's private white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Biras Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biras Creek Hotel North Sound
Biras Creek Resort All Inclusive
Biras Creek Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biras Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.