We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast buffet, but watch you charges in the grocery store” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bitter End Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Bitter End Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in North Sound
Surf City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet, but watch you charges in the grocery store”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was great. the omelet bar was wonderful, and the staff is very friendly. about $25/person. Later we shopped for groceries in the store. We charged $50, but they submitted the charge as $200. Waiting to hear from my CC company about the dispute. Price of the groceries are crazy- $12 for a bag of potato chips.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    65
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
112
103
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

BEYC is stunning. If you are coming for R&R, or water sports, prepare to be pleased. Service in the restaurant, however, is painfully slow (even for "island time"), and the stores were not stocked with an assortment of sizes (we were told they stock up in February - - too late for the tall folks back home who we hoped to surprise w/ a T). That said, the food was well prepared when it arrived, and what merchandise they had was of good quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

BEYC is gorgeous. Great sailing, helpful staff, and the beachfront cottages where we stayed were excellent. I titled this review in connection with how I guess things go at meals on a big ship. It is crowded, there is a lot of good food, but the service is mixed to be charitable. Order a drink and get ready to wait 20-30 mins. Some people may chalk this up to "Caribbean time"' but given the price and as compared to say Caneel Bay, we were frustrated at times. (On a couple of occasions we ordered wine when we sat down for dinner only to have the bottle arrive during dessert...this sort of captures it.). Also, this is a very big kite boarding place, but the only hitch was all the lesson slots were taken when we arrived for a week! (I would add btw, and separate from the kite "issue"', that the sailing stuff could not have been more engaging or helpful.)

I guess I would recommend (a) going during a shoulder season and (b) avoid getting a cabin on the hill as they are off in the boonies. Finally, they have a very well provisioned little store right there which is reasonably priced (but not a steal).

Room Tip: See above commentary
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We just did our fifth visit the the Bitter End Yacht Club with our three children ages 13-20. You can get a better location for a resort. Our favorite aspect about the resort is the incredible water sports and activities that are included if you stay for there for seven nights. Every day we are either sailing, scuba diving or doing an boat excursion to another beautiful destinations in the BVIs. The sailing staff and the scuba diver staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. We love how the suites blend in with the surroundings with your own outside decks and hammocks. The resort is very comfortable and casual - a bit rustic. The food is OK but it is always fresh and a good selection. If you are a sailor or boating type of person who think you are in heaven! By husband loves to watch all the boat activity in the harbor.

Room Tip: We prefer the suites located across from Saba rock since this area of the resort gets consistent win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The main selling points are for this hotel is that it is water themed and it friendly for children based families. The hotel resort is provides as much activities as possible so you can as much as you want or little. On the Monday they have a cocktail evening which gives you a chance to meet up with old friends or meet new friends. The hotel has its own fleet of boats which you can charter out for a day or for a couple of days and do your own thing. The staff and th hotel are amazing and would love to go back.... fingers crossed i win the lottery

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you are looking for paradise the Bitter End Yacht Club is it! The resort is amazing, with beautiful beaches and snorkeling, truly the most beautfiul place I have ever been! There is so much to do, renting sailboats, tours and wonderful dining options. We ate at the resort and also enjoyed the nightly movies they showed for kid's and they even provide free popcorn! The service is exceptional, and the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and accomodate anything you need. Wonderful "Must stop" when sailing or visiting the BVI!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was one of the many things that we saw as a must-do in the BVI. It was pretty busy but there were plenty of mooring balls so that wasn't an issue.We didn't stay in the rooms as we slept on the yacht, but we did have lunch, dinner, shopped, went to the beach and pool. It's not the cheapest place to moor up in the BVI, but it's certainly worth it. The food was excellent, good atmosphere in the Crawl Pub and all of the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The views are excellent from the Grill and you immediately feel relaxed. Although we didn't participate there are a lot of water sports activities to choose from here - you need to be aware of this when you approach either the marina or moorings as people are learning to sail dinghy's, canoe, kite surf etc and a lot of them don't have much control over where they're going. The views from the resort are gorgeous, but then that's no so unique in the BVI ; )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitter End Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.