We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bitter End Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bitter End Yacht Club to your Saves list
Bitter End Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is not easy to get to the Bitter End Yacht Club, but the effort is more than worthwhile. My husband and I spent 7 days in an open air cottage listening to the surf crash over the reef.
We loved all of the activities which included, sailing, windsurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, and stand up paddle boarding. The equipment was top notch.The staff is friendly and helpful. I loved the payment plan. Just give your room number (all the activities and food was included). We noticed many all generation families having a great time. This was an all time super vacation.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are a long walk to the dining room and there are quite a few stairs to navigate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    78
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
130
122
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a week at Bitter End with my three boys, 9, 8, and 6. We had a fantastic time and will return. Why we liked it:
1. It has a very friendly, family run (vice corporate) feel. The entire staff was friendly and ready to help us have a good time in any way they could.
2. Location is beautiful, water is blue and clear, hills, flowers, palm trees, very nice.
3. Food is abundant and excellent. Winstons pasteries and baked goods are incredible.
4. Water sports - Bitter End is a sailing resort with innumerable sailing options, from large mono-hulls to small hobies and sunfish and everything in between. And they are all there just to take advantage of any time you want. They also have kayaking, paddle boarding, wind surfing, and snorking right there on site any time.
5. Activities - There are planned, fun, and interesting on site and off site activities every day for the entire family. You can do them all or do none of them and just sit by the pool all day.

We loved it and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times now, and visited on many more, while chartering in the BVIs. The location is absolutely fantastic, although with that comes a fairly long travel time from the UK - flight to Antigua, local flight to Tortola, ferry to Bitter End. The last time we went, we were worried the flight delay would mean we missed the ferry, but it waited for us.

The rooms are a bit 'rustic' but this is perfectly in keeping with the surroundings, and all the facilities are there. Bed was very comfy, and we were glad we'd booked a room with air conditioning. We couldn't pick up the free wi-fi from our room, but it was fine (but slow) in the bar and the pub.

Food is plentiful, and of good quality. Breakfast and lunch are both huge buffets, with lots of choices, including fresh fruit and salads. This next point wouldn't matter to an occasional visitor, but I don't think the menu has changed in all the years we have been visiting, which can make it somewhat predictable. We usually try and get an evening on Saba Rock as well - they have a water taxi that will pick up from Bitter End. The food in the pub makes a welcome change, and the pizzas are good. Service is good everywhere.

There is so much to do, you're spoilt for choice - dinghy sailing, catamarans, SUPs, windsurfing, snorkelling, diving to name just a few. The dive team, Ben and Kay at Sunchaser, are awesome - so enthusiastic. I did my PADI referral with them, and enjoyed some great dives. The snorkelling trips are worth going on too - whether just a couple of hours on the Ponce de Leon, or a half day on the catamaran, Paranda, both are a great opportunity to see the huge variety of marine life on the local reefs.

All in all, a great holiday destination, and one which we're sure to visit again, you can't help but fall in love with the place......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I were on an day excursion to explore Virgin Gorda and ended up at the Bitter End Yatch Club. Sabna did my 1 hour deep tissue massage and her husband gave my husband a 25 minute back massage. Incredible. We felt so much better after our services. Pain free. I can only give a review about the spa. We didn't stay at the resort or sample the food, but the resort looks lovely. It was off season, so it was not busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The world is filled with beach front resorts, but the Bitter End is something special. Why?

Things we loved
The Bitter End is not a corporate Donald Trump, Marriott, Club Med, Disneyland resort. It's like Cheers, where everybody knows your name. One of the things we loved is that the rooms have no keys and there is a beautiful sense of privacy at the resort. Also, we never felt that we could not just be ourselves. The resort staff and all the guests seemed like genuine people who did not care what we looked like or how we acted.

Things we liked
The resort has many qualities, but they invest most effort into the following:  watersports and food. The watersports allowed us to scuba, snorkel, paddle board, kayak, sail, motorboat, and free swim to our heart's content. There are few resorts that have such generous water activities. 
We had the unique opportunity to dine with both Mo, the general manager, and Noel, the executive chef, on our second night at the resort. The dinner was delightful and inspired us. The Bitter End explores serving meals that delight, excite, and entice all of your senses (except for hearing). 

Things we disliked 
There are no rooms on the beach. Big disappointment. Also, the heat was oppressive at night. And no one should ever stay at the resort without considering a room with AC. 

Things we hated
One word: Mosquitos. 

The Bitter End is an experience that we will never forget. Despite its charming flaws, the Bitter End provides an oasis of joy and calm in an otherwise stressful world. For example, we spent two days scuba diving with Kilbrides scuba dive company. During those dives we never once thought about any of the things that stress us out in our day to day existence. That is why the Bitter End is such a special place. For one week, we simply enjoyed just being.

Before we elected to go to the Bitter End we reviewed many other resorts and potential destinations. We cannot tell the world that the Bitter End is the greatest resort on the planet. What we can say, however, is that we had an amazing adventure and an unforgettable experience. Life is not about perfection. The best moments in life are those we experience with the people we love. The Bitter End is the place you want to be with the ones you love. You will regret it if you don't come here at least once in your life.  It is a special place.  

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornelius, nc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fun for children and adults. Good food, atmosphere, activities, and appeared well maintained. Did not stay overnight so can't comment on rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went as part of a BIG (30+) family reunion, ages 6 months to 70+. Everybody had a great time. Even my non-sailing wife, who was pretty hesitant having read some of the reviews on this site, had a ball. The water activities are fantastic, the staff friendly and helpful. Food wasn't spectacular and the service at dinner for our big party was slow a couple times, but overall we were very pleased.

Room Tip: We stayed down near the pool, try to get a 'low' room to avoid climbing lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitter End Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.