We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nail Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Nail Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nail Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   P O Box 69, Spanish Town VG1150, Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nite, 50% on 4th.
Ranked #1 of 1 Spanish Town B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week on Virgin Gorda, staying in the Sunshine deluxe room at the Nail Bay Resort. We loved this resort! The room was lovely, well-equipped and kept spotless, the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, the restaurant was delicious and the views and location were amazing. The staff made this trip extremely easy from the very beginning. They coordinated a car rental for us, met us at the ferry to bring us to the resort, and recommended snorkeling locations, among other help. We found this to be a perfect retreat on its own, and a great jumping-off point for the rest of the island. I would definitely recommend this resort and plan to return again myself as soon as I can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    33
    2
    12
    1
See reviews for
22
79
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville, AR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nail Bay is a lovely resort, with a variety of accommodations. We stayed in Blue Heaven, a one-bedroom apartment located in the Island Time complex in early July. We found the apartment to be comfortable but slightly dated. There was also a very slight musty smell. However, the unit was just fine for our needs and served as a great home base.

The apartment featured a full kitchen and dining area, leading to a sunken living room. The living room had sliding glass doors leading to the private balcony. The balcony had a table with four chairs, a gas grill, and two lounge chairs. The view from the balcony looked over the tennis courts, restaurant, and pool and out to the beautiful Sir Francis Drake channel. We could see The Dogs in the distance. I loved sitting on our balcony watching the sailboats and catamarans drift by.

The bedroom was off the dining area and also had sliding doors leading out to the balcony. The bed was so comfy and we both slept very well. Also, we both appreciated plenty of storage space for our clothes. If you opened the drapes, you could see the ocean from the bed.

There were two bathrooms, one ensuite to the bedroom and the other just off the entryway. Both bathrooms had showers, which was nice when we came back from a long day of snorkeling and exploring. The toiletries and towels were high quality and we had daily maid service.

We did hear the neighbors upstairs from time to time, but fortunately they were not loud. I imagine that it could be very annoying if the folks upstairs were obnoxious. One night there was some type of party at the restaurant (wedding maybe) with a live band. It was very loud and we could hear the band inside the apartment with all the doors and windows closed.

We only ate at the restaurant once for lunch. The food was pricey and the quality was just average. The bar drinks were good and the restaurant overlooks the pool area and has lush tropical landscaping all around. It would be a nice place to enjoy a cocktail to end the day. We only dipped our toes in the pool the first day. The water had a strange green tint and the water did not seem crystal clear, so we were not keen to swim in the pool. We did visit the beaches around the property and loved Nail Bay Beach and Long Bay beach. We walked Mountain Trunk beach but did not swim it. Snorkeling was very good at Nail Bay Beach and at Long Bay beach.

We visited Tortola, Virgin Gorda, and St. John on this trip. Virgin Gorda was our favorite. We want to come back and spend more time on the island. We fell in love with the North Sound area and will likely try to stay on the North Sound next time. So, we probably won’t stay at Nail Bay again unless the price is really tempting, but only because we want to stay on the North Sound.

One thing that really sets Nail Bay apart from other properties is their attention to service. Kasha and Latha were wonderful to work with in the reservations office and they took care of everything for us. We rented a car through Nail Bay and the resort sent a representative, Cordell, to meet us at the ferry when we arrived. We stepped off the ferry and there he was. Cordell walked us over to the rental car rep, we signed the paperwork and then followed Cordell back to Nail Bay. He gave us a quick tour of the grounds and escorted us to the office where we were warmly greeted by Kasha. Once we were checked in, Cordell delivered our bags to the room. It could not have been any easier. Kudos to the entire staff at Nail Bay. Wonderful service the whole time.

We had great snorkeling at the Nail Bay properties and at Savannah Beach. But, our best snorkeling was at Spring Bay and The Baths. We loved this area so much that we visited it twice. If you go to Spring Bay, you can actually snorkel over to The Baths. Watch out for boats!

We ate at Mad Dogs, which is in the parking lot at the Baths. It was delicious and fun. Great Painkillers! We also visited Hog Heaven and enjoyed the BBQ and the view of the North Sound. I can’t remember the name of the drink I had there, but it was yummy. I had the ribs and my husband had the chicken and we both enjoyed our meals. If you get a chance to eat at Island Pot in Spanishtown, you should check it out. Great food and BYOB, so duck into Rosie’s grocery market and grab a couple of cold beers to take in with you.

The people of Virgin Gorda are warm and helpful. What a lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nail Bay is a great representation of the Virgin Gorda vibe. Everyone is so nice and helpful. Lots of laughter and singing too! It is a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful view. We snorkeled all over the island and found the experiences in Mountain Trunk Bay our favorite. Be sure to check out both ends of the beach. We hope to return to Virgin Gorda, and would be happy to stay at Nail Bay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at nail bay resort every may of each year since my honeymoon in 2004, it was (is) an idyllic little place, seemingly untouched, a true retreat- unfortunately I've observed a 50% increase in rates over the last 2 yrs- perhaps its worth it, it is a beautiful place- however most of the villas are a walk to the beach and I've seen comparatively lower prices for non beachfront properties
If your looking for resort amenities, this is not your place- it is private, with a small central communal restaurant/pool bar, where the drinks are fair and the food is horrid- I'm a little bitter I suppose as trip advisor has just rated nail bay an award for being an economical choice- it is not! As I said, I loved this place but am so disheartened by the recent rate hikes that I am forced to look elsewhere- its unfortunate- likely new management who see $ signs first and guests as the means to that end- so be it- it's a business- but please- get a web designer who can design a decent website- one where I can view the villa and the rate without having to email the owner- your old site was simple but effective- my tip for those wanting to stay in nail bay- go to vrbo- find an owner- and your stay won't break the bank

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Best resort on Virgin Gorda! We stayed at the Drake Villa and felt like movie stars. Absolutely stunning views from every room. Well-equipped, clean and comfortable rooms. Tastefully decorated. Not recommended for families with small children or older people. A lot of steps and steep walkway to beautiful beach. We were a family of 6 and had plenty of room. The private pool was fantastic. Villa is secluded and private. Service was very friendly and helpful. Rent a car!

Room Tip: Drake Villa is perfect for adults/older kids/teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Everything about Nail Bay was wonderful, from the time we booked, to the time we left. The assistance in booking a rental car, advice on Ferries and schedules, being met at the dock, the check in process, were all delivered with the highest level of professionalism and customer service.

The home we rented, Island Spice (Nail Bay is a collection of private residences), was incredible value for money. It had two large identical bedrooms, each with their own private bathroom, a large main living space with a fully-equipped kitchen, a verandah on which to lounge and enjoy the views, and a small, private pool. All of this is totally private (clothing definitely optional if appropriate for your group). When you're tired of your villa, all of VG is very accessible, and Nail Bay has access to three of it's own private beaches. Definitely plan on a quieter vacation, but if you are looking for relaxation, this is the place.

A shout out of recognition to a few staff members - Kasha, the ever-present voice on the other end of the phone, Cardell, who met us at the dock and made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped foot on VG, and Latha, who helped us with all of out planning.

One last note. DO eat at the Sugarcane restaurant at the resort - it is fantastic (see my separate review).

Do not hesitate to go to Nail Bay - you will not regret it.

Room Tip: For four people, you cannot go wrong with Island Spice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Good overall holiday, for me and my sister 20yrs & 16 yrs, it was a bit isolated and there weren't any activities such as horse riding and water sports. There was a public swimming pool but I never saw anyone in it, probably because most villa's had there own.
Unfortunatly the plunge pool and waterfall on the roof of the villa wasn't running and we could only use the downstairs pool.
Compared to other places I have stayed, the sugar mill house felt more like your own home then a holiday and was quite relaxing. The views were amazing and there were a couple of beaches within very close walking distance.
The area is not very tropical but there is quite a bit of wildlife, such as lizards, snakes, birds ect.
You would definatly need a car to stay at this resort because the only things you can do there ( in walking distance) is visit the beach, play tennis, or go for a meal at the 1 resturant.
I would say its worth a visit but its not a place I would go back to :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nail Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nail Bay Resort

Address: P O Box 69, Spanish Town VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > Spanish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Spanish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nail Bay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 19th century sugar plantation, today experience the distinctive 148-acre Nail Bay Estates and Resort. Perched on hillside and framed by three private beaches, this Virgin Gorda resort is situated in the heart of the British Virgin Islands. A resort capturing the antidote to urban life - from a collection of private villas and charming suites, to breathtaking ocean views of the Sir Francis Drake Channel, with affordable luxury to invite guests year after year. Minutes from Virgin Gorda’s renowned attractions including The Baths, and North Sound. Beef Island Airport (EIS)- 22 mi/35km, 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Nail Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nail Bay Hotel Spanish Town
Nail Bay Spanish Town
Nail Bay Resort Virgin Gorda/Spanish Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nail Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.