We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, first rate sevice, great value on villa rentals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nail Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nail Bay Resort to your Saves list
Nail Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   P O Box 69, Spanish Town VG1150, Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off the 5th Night
Ranked #1 of 1 Spanish Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb location, first rate sevice, great value on villa rentals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

If you have done your research and are planning to rent a villa (house) anywhere on Virgin Gorda, you know you are choosing peace, quiet and beauty far from the crowds and touristy trappings found on other Caribbean islands. At Nail Bay the villas are clean and well-furnished. The staff all will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable - I cannot praise them highly enough. The location, with its superb views and the gorgeous Mountain Trunk Bay beach, is perfect. Nail Bay lets those things speak for themselves without adding much more. If your idea of a good beach vacation includes resort-type amenities like room service, nightlife, a watersports director etc., you are looking in the wrong place. If you have concerns about the hilly, walking-required environment being right for anyone in your group (a toddler, an older relative) you should carefully review the details about the different villas online and email with the staff in the office before booking. Words for first-time BVI visitors – these relatively undiscovered islands are very civilized but also lightly and recently developed, so do expect competence, dignity and order but don’t expect manicured perfection.

Room Tip: Research online! We loved Nyumbani - insanely gorgeous views, very comfortable for 5 adults. Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    35
    2
    12
    1
See reviews for
25
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

If you want action, don't go to Nail Bay! But if you want a quiet, peaceful getaway, this is the place. This was our third visit to the resort, and we were not disappointed. The resort and units are clean and well maintained, and the staff could not be nicer or more helpful. We stayed for 3 weeks in Drakes View, and ate half our meals at the unit, enjoying beautiful sunsets and a chorus of tree frogs. We had everything that we needed including a pristine gas grill. Nail Bay's location is perfect with easy access to the North Shore and Spanishtown. The restaurant is greatly improved, and we enjoyed several freshly caught fish dinners. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Sail Watch unit. The staff was tremendously helpful, and couldn't have done more to provide great service. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and the beach down below was no different. Cool wet sand, stunning rocks, and a peaceful place all around. If you're looking for a relaxing place to get away from it all, this is it. They have a tennis court, an onsite restaurant, and the walk to the beach is an easy 5-10 minutes. The views driving up from the ferry dock, the rock formations in the water at Spring Bay, and The Baths aren't to be missed.

Why not 5 stars? The only thing that I thought could be improved was the bed in our unit was a bit hard. The condo however was well equipped and they had everything we needed. Our stay was a brief 3 nights, so we also had a little trouble finding activities/entertainment/other humans that fit into our schedule. We ended up taking the ferry to Tortola for a day sail, and there just isn't much nightlife near the resort.

Room Tip: Just a general note that the island is very expensive. Groceries and food in restaurants are 2 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in the Mystic Waters Suite and felt - within this class of lodging - Nail Bay is one heck of a deal. Here's a complete lowdown....

* The Room. Our villa had a small full-service kitchen where we could prepare breakfast and also keep lunch supplies. It was an open, bi-level unit with a small living room down a few stairs. There was a nice plasma tv (one hiccup here was that the only station it didn't carry was CBS (or was it NBC?) - so we couldn't watch the end of the Super Bowl!!). Very clean, relatively new furnishings. The plunge pool was such a treat! We've never usually wanted to carve out time for a happy hour back at the room, but how could one pass up enjoying a Carib staring out at the sun setting over Sir Francis Drake channel from such a private pool? The shower reminded us of the one at Cap Juluca in Anguilla we had on our honeymoon -- private, yet open air. Loved it! Be advised, some of the villas are not located right by the pool/restaurant. I relished the 10 minute walk from our locale, but others might not be so happy about it.

* The Service. Kasha and Latha couldn't have been nicer at the reception area. They always went the extra mile, whether it was dashing over to advise they'd confirmed a dinner reservation, handing over some of their own coffee because we had forgotten to buy more at the market, or making inquiries about fishing licenses, boat rentals or other activities.

* The Restaurant. I had a nice lunch here and we had also had a lovely dinner. The wine list definitely isn't the greatest and the food certainly isn't on par with Biras Creek or Little Dix -- but it's not competing in that class, so it shouldn't be.

* The Beach. I walked over to Mountain Trunk Bay - which was really hard to find, despite asking a few people for directions. Nail Bay is not beach front. It's about a six/seven minute walk from the pool to get there - and it's steep coming back up. No biggie for us - we only went there once and actually wanted to get out and explore the island's other beaches. But you should know that going in. Long Bay was supposedly 10 minutes from our particular villa and I tried to find it, but gave up. There are no signs pointing you to some of these more remote beaches.

* Location. We found this to be a perfect home base. We wanted to drive to the Baths to snorkel, hit Savannah Bay beach (gorgeous!) and also have the option to go into Spanishtown without it being too far. Yet, we also wanted to be relatively close to the Gun Greek ferry to go to dinner at Biras Creek and also go to the Bitter End some days for the watersports rentals. That ferry was less than 10 minutes - perfect.

Nail Bay is a great option if you don't want to spend the money at one of the pricier resorts, yet you'd still like something more than the average hotel room. No, you will not get drink service on the beach. It's not Cap Juluca. But then again, neither is the price. :)

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Nail Bay in a villa between Christmas 2011 and New Year's 2012. I would recommend this resort for those who want a more quiet atmosphere and are able and fit. The staff was friendly and helpful and the view was absolutely stunning, but there were some hiccups in our stay. The resort was undergoing some renovations so before booking, I recommend you understand exactly what the impact of these will be on the area you are staying. This is NOT a full service resort, but rather villas with a restaurant (which happened to be closed while we were there much to our dismay). There is NO drink service at the beach. You have to take your own food and drinks to the beach.

We stayed at Seaglass Villa and studio which is up a steep hill from the main part of the resort. This villa is new and lovely, but is only suitable for those who are healthy and have no physical limitations. We had one family member on crutches and it was unnerving. There are many steps between the parking area and villas. I would not recommend this for any elderly guests or families with very small children who are mobile. It would be much better for adult groups or family groups with no elderly or very young guests. There are balconies inside and out which would worry me with small children. We are a family with teens so it was fine for us. We had to drive to the beach. I hiked it several times, but no one else in our group would attempt the hike as it was too steep. The decor is new and very tasteful, but I would not describe it as luxurious, just simple and tasteful. We enjoyed the location as we could get to Leverick Bay, Gun Creek ferry to go to Bitter End and Spanishtown all in 15 minutes or less. This is for a more adventuresome and low maintenance clientele. We enjoyed sampling some of the local cuisine at different restaurants and felt we had good value for our money except for the fact that the restaurant was closed due to construction.

I would highly recommend the studio at Seaglass Villa for a honeymoon spot! The shower is huge. Incredible view and privacy as long as the larger villa is not rented at the same time or if you want the ultimate in privacy, rent the whole compound! Again, this is not a luxury property, but it is good value for the money, clean, and the view will take your breath away!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I called before I booked to confirm that Nail VBay was what I was looking for for a brief but much needed escape. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and informative. They arranged a rental car for me, had the ferry from Tortolla wait for me (so I would not have to wait two hours for the next ferry) as I went through customs and helped with dinner and activity recommendations. The room was clean and precisely as advertised. All in all, I would stay there again on a next trip to Virgin Gorda.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our second trip to Virgin Gorda to stay at Nail Bay. The staff of Kasha and Latha were so helpful in arranging our travel (Big Planes, Little Planes and Ferry Boats). We actually went to Jost Van Dyke for a week prior to our visit to scuba dive and had to do some ferry juggling to get to Virgin Gorda. Last minute we were able to book a dive tour to the RMS Rhone and they dropped us in Road Town for the ferry. We ended up getting into VG 3 hours early and I gave Kasha 30 minutes notice (via email) and she had a rental car agent meet us at the Ferry and we were checked into our villa "Island Spice" well before sunset. The villas was so decked out that my husband acutally thought we may be in the wrong unit. The photos on line did not do it justice. Picture walking into your IDEAL island home with 180 degree views of the blue ocean with tiny islands and sailboats in the horizon. Now picture every convenience of home at your finger tips. We took a quick dip in our private pool then kicked back with a rum and coke on our hammock for two (the rum was compliments of Nail Bay!) and watched the sunset.
The Tranquility package that we purchased gave us a sporty little SUV and we were able to take in the whole island during our stay. Truthfully the best part was Nail Bay's beach Mountain Trunk Beach. The snorkeling was as good as anywhere in the BVI's. And the best part was that our party of 4 were the only ones on the beach in the afternoon.
We discovered Hog Heaven, a cute mountain top beach bar and restaurant that served amazing pork (imagine that!). But the views were off the chart. Every night we enjoyed dinner out but we could of easily stayed in an grilled out on our patio. The staff made all of our reservation for us and each place we went we were treated great. The Rock was our favorite spot for a fancy dinner and their paino bar featured female singer Jen Porter who could belt out Lady Gaga to Elton John. Country, the bar tender to great care of us and we stayed well past dinner.
Nail Bay is renovating their restaurant and I am sure that it will be as good if not better than the Rock when completed. Last time we visited we enjoyed 3 meals in one week there and they were all wonderful. They are also renovating their Spa. Since I could not go to the Spa the therapist came to our villa and I enjoyed a Thai massage with Jeenesh on the upper patio overlooking the ocean. It was heaven.
We met many other people that were staying other places when we were out on our dive trips with Ben and Kay from Kilbride's located at Bitter End (A first class dive operation - by the way). Many people had mosquito or bug issues at their hotels, or expensive meal plans and bad food. We experienced none of this at Nail Bay.
I hate to tell anyone about Nail Bay because I plan to go back and I want to be sure I can get a room but I want them to be successful so that the facility will continue to be well cared for and retain great staff. Virgin Gorda is not easy to get to, but it is SO worth the trip.

Room Tip: Rely on Kasha to help you pick the best villa or room for your trip. Each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nail Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nail Bay Resort

Address: P O Box 69, Spanish Town VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > Spanish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Spanish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nail Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 19th century sugar plantation, today experience the distinctive 148-acre Nail Bay Estates and Resort. Perched on hillside and framed by three private beaches, this Virgin Gorda resort is situated in the heart of the British Virgin Islands. A resort capturing the antidote to urban life - from a collection of private villas and charming suites, to breathtaking ocean views of the Sir Francis Drake Channel, with affordable luxury to invite guests year after year. Minutes from Virgin Gorda’s renowned attractions including The Baths, and North Sound. Beef Island Airport (EIS)- 22 mi/35km, 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Nail Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nail Bay Hotel Spanish Town
Nail Bay Spanish Town
Nail Bay Resort Virgin Gorda/Spanish Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nail Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.