We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away, but well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarcane Restaurant

Sugarcane Restaurant
Nail Bay, Virgin Gorda
(284) 494-8000
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Tucked away, but well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spotted the leaflet for this restaurant while moored at Virgin Gorda marina and were attracted by the prospect of the curry night. The cab ride was about 20 mins, but once you are there you quickly realise how beautifully isolated this place is on a hilltop overlooking Nail Bay. The open kitchen is a nice touch and the restaurant has beautiful views and a small pool right off the back of the bar, which was great as the kids were allowed to swim whilst we ate and we could still keep an eye on them. The food was excellent. We had the chicken madras which although fairly mild was very tasty and beautifully served. The only slight gripe is that management have given ipads to the staff to take orders, but it ends up being about 10x as slow as just writing it on a bit of paper! Not their fault though and they are all very pleasant and cheery. Getting the bill was a bit slow as they had become quite full by that point, but the chef gave us a free ride back to the marina, so I can't exactly complain! One of the best restaurants we visited during our sailing week in BVI.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We actually found this place on our way through the back roads to Hog Heaven - everyone needed a bathroom break...Anyhoo - we stopped by late afternoon and happened to catch the wonderful aroma of the chef preparing for Curry Night - we already plans that night, but right then and there, we all made a blood oath to return. Although our palms were bandaged up from said blood oath once we returned, we still had a really nice experience. We came in around 6pm, and were literally the only ones there besides the staff - that was a little disconcerting to be honest, but we powered through our collective urge to run away and set to ordering from the friendly staff and their iPads. Wife and kids collectively ate huge chunks of cute little lambs - we didn't see the lambs alive, but let's face it, they had to have been cute before they ended up on the plates. I think lack of speaking and clean plates are the ultimate marker of the quality of the food, and we had both in this instance - that being said, I don't think this biased my soon to be revealed assessment of my own food, but c'mon - a solid 15-20 minutes of not listening to the kids bicker or the wife nag? Awesome. So on to my dish - Anegada lobster. It was marvelous - that being said, it's hard to screw up. THAT being said, they seemed to master it - great sides, excellent preparation, and sublime presentation. The only thing that gets this place 4 instead of 5 little bubble thingies is the drink menu. I know, I know, little quibble, but important for people who really love booze. My wife in particular was disappointed with her cocktail. Otherwise, great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate twice here. First time was good, second time (Good Friday) very average. Poor service (trainee apparently) luke warm food, rain out of a certain wine just a catalogue of disappointments sadly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Trying to be something it's not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The most disappointing restaurant experience I've had in the last 12 months. Our family of 7 attended an evening dinner service. The beautiful and polished atmosphere of the Sugarcane Resort and restaurant automatically sets your expectations too high. The local service staff obviously have not received the same level of training as at Coco Maya. The servers at Sugarcane have not been educated that guests would like to sit at a table that is stable and won't launch your drink into your lap. Rather than interacting with the guests and helping with menu items the ill trained servers robotically and slowly navigate their iPhone menu ordering app to place your drink and food order. Restaurant 101: serve all seated guests their drinks before serving any food. Sugarcane has decided to rewrite the rules and bring some of the appetizers before any beverages are served, then bring some of the beverages, then some of the mains, and then the rest of the beverages. We found the food average. The poor experience we had was no fault of the wonderful and friendly local people of Virgin Gorda who are employed as servers. Shame on the ownership for throwing the staff to the lions. The poor experience we had left us feeling used by hands-off resort owners who think a well manicured property will compensate for ignoring basic rules of service. Spend less and have a better experience at Bath and Turtle in Spanish Town; Rose will appreciate your business more. Spend a little more and be blown-away with polished service and menu at Coco Maya in Spanish Town. I'm no foodie, and I'm not hard to please, but I felt used at Sugarcane.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick bite--fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are staying at Nail Bay and dropped in after our 12 hours of travel from Chicago to have a light snack. We had the fish and chips, cod with a batter, fried crisply, with the flesh perfectly cooked. The outdoor setting and open kitchen were just what we needed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane Restaurant also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sugarcane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarcane Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.