We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive & dated hotel for the retirees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Little Dix Bay to your Saves list
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 70, Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive & dated hotel for the retirees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We got in later in the evening and were seated for dinner in a very mid-century modern building. I noticed that everyone at the surrounding tables was over the age of 65 years old. As my stay here progressed in time, I started to notice most of the other guests were not only older but also from the Southern parts of the USA and often voiced political opinions at breakfast time (because this is when they got their free xerox of the NY times headline stories) that were uncomfortable for me to listen too.

I loved the beaches here, this hotel has a great service in which they will take you to basically any local beach via small boat & for $45 you can get a picnic lunch for 2 with an umbrella. There are a ton of fish nearby in the waters and many of the rooms have a small private patio connected to the beach. The spa at Rosewood Little Dix Bay is incredibly expensive, expect to pay $200+ per basic service like massage. The meals are mostly buffet style and will run you anywhere from $50-125 per meal including breakfast.

Our room felt relaxing however it lacked some basics like no coffee maker or TV. The remodel that was done was done in such a way that it looked unfinished, some bad design choices. The hotel needs some updating in general especially the lounge room with the games/books/computers/tv felt dirty and chaotic.

This hotel was hard to get to, if you fly into Beef Island I would pay the extra money to have the hotel pick you up by boat otherwise expect delays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodLittleDixBay, General Manager at Rosewood Little Dix Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear "Shannon B,"

Thank you for taking the time to review Rosewood Little Dix Bay.

We are sorry to hear that the resort did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We will certainly share your feedback with our resort staff with regards to our dining options as well as the rooms and public areas. We have planned updates that will take place in the very near future to refresh the resort, in particular our public areas. We hope that once the updates are complete you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back. We certainly look forward to the possibility of delivering an experience that truly exceeds your expecations.

Kind regards,

Edward Linsley
Managing Director
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    129
    38
    22
    7
See reviews for
144
449
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed Aug 7-12:

Travel - Arriving was difficult due to 2 separate airline travel issues. Major storm in ATL caused a 2 hour delay departing ATL to SJU on Delta. Definitely NOT the airline's fault, it was a ground stop absolute inundation sitting on the tarmac. We arrived in SJU with 12 minutes to get to Seaborne for the departure. We obviously missed that.

I had corresponded with Seaborne and Little Dix while GoGo was still working and was able to look at possible alternatives to get there. Seaborne was great in accommodating us on a 7 pm departure from SJU to Tortola (we were on the 3:20 pm to Virgin Gorda directly).

Seaborne's 7:00 pm was delayed by nearly 2 hours due to their IT system crashing. Finally landed in Tortola around 10:15-10:30.

Immigration was abysmal - pointlessly slow and painful.

Then - Vacation began!! Little Dix representative met us outside of immigration. They had kept up with our delays and changes. Quick shuttle to the boat - cold towels and rum punches and we were off on an 11:00+pm boat ride to Little Dix!! Gorgeous starry night set the tone for the rest of the trip.

Check-in was seamless in the room; complimentary bottle of rum, etc. We stayed in Treehouse #6 - nearly in the middle of the crescent-shaped bay and a short walk to Pavillion/Sugar Mill in 1 direction and fitness center/tennis in the other.

Since our first day there was a Thursday, they had a picnic at a remote beach. We chose to hang at the resort instead - great idea. I counted no more than 4-5 other people on the beach the entire day!! It was so quiet - exactly what I needed.

The entire stay was really highlighted by the small number of people across the resort - giving the feeling of a private resort.

Room - 50 steps to the beach!, perfect laid-back room design with a bit of a rustic beach feel - suits my taste perfectly. Outdoor rain-shower, lounge chairs on the deck, hammock below - just perfect. Housekeeping came 3-4 times per day and were really invisible - couldn't have asked for anything better.

Food - For me, it's all about fresh fruit/veggies, local fish, simple preparation. We booked through AMEX's FHR, so got he breakfast buffet included. Fresh fruit was abundant and beautiful. They had grilled mahi on the breakfast a la carte and I added that on a couple of times.

Lunch - IMHO, was the best meal each day. I typically had the local grilled fish and a side salad - each day the fish was based on whatever was local and fresh - mahi, swordfish, snapper - cooked to perfection!!

Dinner - Large buffets at the Pavillion most nights. I'd give them a 7/10 on those. Great selections, etc., but each night the fish was overcooked. For a large group, I know it's hard to get that right, but they could have done much better IMHO. Sugar Mill 1 night was fine, but not extraordinary.

Beach/Beach drops - perfection!! Ideally, I'd like a secluded beach with clear water, beautiful sand, snorkeling and body surfing. No waves here for body surfing, but the rest they have in spades!! Effortless access to beach, floats, snorkel gear, hobie cats, kayaks, paddle boards, etc., all free of charge and plentiful. Did a complimentary beach drop to The Baths - again, effortless!

Staff - Was very nice, accommodating, friendly, etc. We had a couple of less than friendly people on the wait staff, but nothing overt, just not as warm as the stupendous ones.

Spa - With FHR, got a $100 Spa discount. 90-minute deep tissue massage, infinity pool at the spa, etc. - all were marvelous. There's a hike down to a secluded beach past the spa. Went there for a few hours and again, I was the only one there.

Departure - Smooth as silk. Departed from VIJ to SJU on Seaborne. Small planes with huge windows made the flight pretty cool. No issues on the travel day back!

Notes: I'd be wary of the large buffets and be prepared for delays in customs. If you are looking for laid back, casual, intense beach time, etc., this is the place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This review will concentrate on the many pluses this property offers it's guest. We were a little frugal during our stay so we will show you how to save a little if you are a little budget conscious.

We were picked up by their personal boat at Trellis Bay in Tortola, offered refreshing punch drink and probably at the Hotel in 30 minutes or so. Was met there at the Dock by their receptionist Caroline and was taken from there to the main hotel by golf cart. We did not touch our luggage again and it was in our room when we arrived.

There was a nice bottle of rum and various complimentary drinks in the small refrigerator in our room. We stayed in the property they refer to as a Tree House # 52 great location, close to beach bar and right at the beach. WiFI available and a call to Hotel Desk you would have a Golf Cart ride to dinner or anywhere on the property. In the morning Coffee, Tea, fresh squeezed Orange Juice, and Danish are available at the Beach Bar and up the hill at the main Bar no charge. If you wanted a larger breakfast that would be available also for a charge.

The beach bar served nice salads and sandwiches which we usually shared but they closed each day at 5:30pm. A nice treat which is free is their afternoon tea, which included ice tea, hot tea and some other drink along with nice breads, scones, with whip cream and numerous other toppings. Also cantaloupe, watermelon, blue berries, bananas, etc., This is at 4:00pm well worth finding time for this treat.

A real highlight is they offer each day to take you to one of seven beaches along the Virgin Gorda coast including the Baths by boat. You can pre order a lunch, drink etc., and they will
have it for you when you leave. They also provide a large umbrella and floating mat if needed.
They take by boat drop you off and return to get you and bring you back no charge.
The beach is perfect with snorkeling right there (side note check out computer at main desk and you can see several of my snorkeling trips on the beach taken by my GoPro)> The turtles and Sting Rays tend to hang out more in the grassy areas especially when there is a lot of snorkelers along the reef. The Managers meet and greet is very nice and you should try and take that in.
The gym and tennis courts are a good as you will find anywhere you may travel so take advantage.

When taking advantage of the beach trips let them know you interest and they will probably match you up to the right beach for a nice experience.
The lunch barbeque is worth the money and is a nice experience on a beautiful beach.

Service was good all over the property one of their employees that really helped me was their IT person Kelly he went out of the way to help me match my GoPro to my Mini IPAD and when we had a little snafu he was patient and went around the problem so I would have everything on the Mini. Yes I would go again everything they do is nice. I would probably go into town and visit
Cocomaya, a nice restaurant in Spanish Town close to the hotel> Great view and excellent food.
Taxi is cheap about $3.00 per person each way.
Little hard to accept was $12.00 mixed drinks with 18% gratuity in a plastic cup. But was always done to perfection :) Dinner was always nice but usually too big for us so we ate from the "Bar" menu several nights. But is you know about Cocmaya you have a great restaurant option.
I've stayed away from the few negatives in countered because overall we had a nice trip and may one day come again.

Room Tip: The whole beach is great but if you stay more over on the bar side it makes it convenient for lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is really a kind of place on heaven. The hotel/resort is in a outstanding condition and the rooms are very clean. The beach is terrific and very clean. The customer service is very good overall and the employees are very friendly. The only minus point are some of the breakfast staff which didn't act very friendly, maybe because we booked breakfast inclusive (no separate tip).
The food is good and fresh but very expensive! We paid Michelin star Manhattan prices.
The employees at the dinner restaurants are great and helpful. You need to see the spa, really outstanding especially the location. You like to play tennis? This hotel has 7 courts in very good conditions and at a great spot. Be careful which way and airlines you use to get to the island. I'll never again use American Airlines, they canceled the flights from San Juan to Virgin Gorda and let us alone so we had to organize the flights. On the way back the same situation, no customer service at all and we had to book additional flight with a other airline! We had a confirmation but it didn't help, they didn't care about it. The best way is maybe over St.Thomas and a flight or ferry to Tortola, from there the hotel boat ( costs apply) takes you quick to the hotel. Be sure use the right travel service and agency so you get the service you need to get there.
Take a rental car to enjoy the small island, it's worth it and its not expensive. Overall a great spot and maybe I'll get back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had the suite room directly on the beach. Big room and outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our 8th visit to Virgin Gorda and Little Dix. We used to do a little island hopping but deicded Virgin Gorda and Little Dix were where we wanted to spend our limited vacation time. We rent a jeep for most days so we can dine off property a few nights and get about the island on our schedule but the taxi service works well if you dn't want to drive on the left (but the roads are so much better than they were 20 years ago on our first visit). CoCoMaya is an excellent new restaurant on the island and Hog Heaven BBQ truly has a million dollar view. The resort is so well maintained - the landscape, simple Caribbean decor in the rooms, nice toiletries....the food is very good quality, the beach is lovely, lots of or as little outdoor activity as you prefer. Beautiful spa. We really enjoyed no TVs and not using cell phones (as calls/texting/email would be costly since it would incur international rates) except a very limited amount for work calls - and the free WiFI works quite well so I could handle work email from my laptop. We would absolutely go back again (and either fly into Tortola and have LDB bring you over or fly into Virgin Gorda itself....). I agree customs is sometimes slow at the Tortola airport - and would have to be quicker at the Virgin Gorda airport as the number of arriving passengers is small there. it is hard to get to from the Midwest (3 planes and then the LDB ferry but the LDB ferry and the free rum punch on the ride over is a favorite part of the trip...coming around the point and seeing the bay and the beach means we are truly on vacation) All the checking in and checking out (including a very early morning ferry ride back to Tortola to catch a 6:30 am flight) were handled flawlessly.

Room Tip: junior suites are lovely; but we've stayed in every category except the true "one bedroom s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First visit to Little Dix Bay and it will not be the last! First the bad...it's not easy to get there. We flew into St. Thomas and took the ferry over to Virgin Gorda. Customs, as you can imagine, was disorganized and not a particularly great experience. I get the impression that if you fly into Tortola and let the Resort handle the pickup, it would be a much better experience. However, once we were there, it was a fantastic stay. We were greeted at the front desk by the Manager on Duty as well as the General Manager. Great first impression! The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are newly renovated and quite nice. The outdoor shower with the rainfall shower head was heavenly. There are no keys to your room. You can lock it from the inside, but not from the outside when you leave. This took just a little bit of getting used to, but we then found it very liberating. No keys to keep up with. There is a good-sized safe in the room for any valuables. Yes, food and drink are expensive, but typical of an upscale Caribbean Resort where most everything is imported. The in-house dive shop (which is actually a separate business, Dive BVI) was absolutely first rate. We found the staff to be friendly and genuinely interested in providing a good stay. We plan to be back again next year!

Room Tip: My friend and I had rooms 5 & 6, the treehouse rooms. I really liked being on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Service is average, unrefined, and offered with too much attitude. Chaotic buffets abound.

Not a "diverse" clientele, so to speak; either honeymooners or grandparents prevail.

Be warned, this is not a gay-friendly destination.

Another important caution: immigration entering Virgin Gorda excruciatingly slow.

Be prepared to stand in line for over an hour without movement.

It seems that some people bribed their way to pass more quickly.

Otherwise, individuals will need approximately 15 to 20 minutes each to proceed through passport control.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodLittleDixBay, General Manager at Rosewood Little Dix Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear "matt c,"

Thank you for taking the time to review Rosewood Little Dix Bay. We appreciate your honesty, and we are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.
Guests of Rosewood Little Dix Bay should only expect excellent service, so we will certainly use your feedback to improve our standards with regards to service and dining options.

Our staff pride themselves on delivering excellent service with the goal of exceeding our guests' expectations. Should you choose to return to Rosewood Little Dix Bay, we would gladly welcome the opportunity to deliver an amazing experience in our little piece of paradise.

Tropical Regards,
Edward Linsley
Managing Director
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Address: PO Box 70, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Little Dix Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.