We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, wonderful location and really outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Little Dix Bay to your Saves list
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 70, Virgin Gorda   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
chesieres
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, wonderful location and really outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came here after three trips to north Queensland in the last four years. So, unfortunately for Virgin Gorda, I had an unreachable level of expectation.
If fish watching is your priority, reconsider the Great Barrier Reef.
In my fist snorkel on the hotel’s beach I did not see ONE fish in the first 5 minutes. The day after I saw there a nice friendly turtle and sting ray though.
Having said this, the BVI are beautiful, the quality of the water is top class and the climate is possibly the very best. Never too hot, always slightly windy with perfect perfect (2 times) air temperature.
The resort is extremely well run; the staff is excellent with the perfect mix of friendliness and respect. The service is smiling and efficient. They really give you the impression that you are important to them.
The marina service are friendly and very efficient the (complimentary) beach drop service is excellent and the Diving is professional, efficient and correctly priced.
The rooms are good and very well kept.
They have three restaurants. The best is the beach one, with a simple menu of things made just to your order, fresh and nice. Also the Pina Colada is best there, where it is made to your order and is not the pre-made, minus 50 degrees frozen thing that you cannot taste because too cold.
The main cafeteria called the Pavilion is not a Michelin three stars, but it serves reasonably proper cuisine, basic menus but well done. The weak point is the supposedly top class restaurant called the Sugar Mill, where cuisine is not at the level of the ambition. We dined there two times and both were uninteresting, with overcooked fish and no flavor. I had grilled swordfish that I was obliged to cut with my knife because too cooked.
All in all, after we came to terms with the fact that sea life is Caribbean and not to Australian standards, we had a very outstanding sea experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    120
    37
    22
    7
See reviews for
133
429
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Can't wait to land at the very hot and very small Virgin Gorda airport again and ride 5 minutes to Little Dix Bay! The beach is white sand and the water is vivid turquoise! Sea turtles swim just off the beach so snorkeling doesn't even need to involve a boat or much effort at all. Our last stay was in Beach cottage #56 barely 100 yards from the sand, a chaise, a palapa, and drinks and food served at the edge of the ocean. Frances entertained us while she made sure our cottage was impeccably clean. If you would rather dine in the open air lunch restaurant just walk a short distance along the beach...food and service is great. The Sugar Mill restaurant on property offers delicious dinners and wine. The Pavillion is a gorgeous setting with a la carte menu or theme buffets and a bar with music some nights. The spa massages are fabulous and the spa is very peaceful with an amazing view. Little Dix is close to several delightful restaurants and a small grocery market for snacks and drinks which can be stored in the very small refrigerator in your room. We have also stayed in the 4BR homes which are beautiful with views to match! Love them, but a golf cart ride away from the beach. Tour all of Virgin Gorda but it is nice to arrive back at Little Dix for bedtime and the next day! Very personable staff and an enchanting setting. We prefer San Juan to Virgin Gorda via Air Sunshine instead of Tortolla and a ferry ride to Little Dix. The 5 min ride from Virgin Gorda airport to Little Dix Bay is complimentary! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms and cottages closest to the beach and the middle of the resort instead of closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I cannot stop talking about this place. It is one of our top 2 vacation places. I was a little freaked out at first because they do not have keys to lock your doors when you leave the room but quickly got over it. The staff at the resort are top notch. Magdalena in the restaurant is the best. When we were leaving she ran to the dock to hug us good bye. If nothing else she will be the reason we come back. You MUST but Venitas hit sauce before you leave. She actually works there and is as sweet as pie. I do not remember her name but the women who cleaned our room (58) we were there April 6th - 14 always had a smile on. One day they assigned her to another room and we called and asked her to clean our room. She would leave flowers in our room each day. Without a doubt the best vacation. The rooms are clean, gym is perfect. All we did was sit on the beach all day of our 9 day vacation. It's pricey but worth every dime. If you are going up be on Virgin Gorda this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My friend and I treated ourselves to a day of pampering at the spa at Little Dix Bay - it was wonderful. We both had wraps, massages, facials and pedicures. The services were excellent and the setting really can't be beat. The one thing to be wary of with the half day package is that they say there is lunch, but lunch is not included - we found it very misleading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent service and beautiful location. The resort is well managed by Rosewood. Many of the staff members were long time loyal employees and were more than willing to make sure guests satisfied with their stay. The Island had a very friendly atmosphere and I cant wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Would give the hotel an A+++ in every category. My husband just returned and are already thinking about when we can go back and bring our kids. Rooms, staff, beach, pool and food was all outstanding!!! Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first we thought this property & crowd were a little too high brow and quiet, but rooms along the beach were spectacular, and the location is walking distance to Spanish Town Harbor that had a few good restaurants. The dress code in the Sugar Mill restaurant on the property is a bit extreme and unnecessary for a vacation resort. The Pavilion dining is excessive and the a la carte menu was god but not outstanding. The Beach Bar lunch was the tastiest food, yet it closes at 6pm. It would be ideal for sunset dining. You must try Venita's hot sauce on everything. Miss Hyacinth made everyday a delight. Carlton the bartender was also good fun and added a personal touch to an evening's nightcap. Yoga at the spa pool will make your heart sing. Even if you do not do yoga, visit the spa pool. The infinity edge overlooks the ocean & is dreamy. I wish they offered more yoga classes.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are worth the cost. Rooms 40-60 were just far away enough from the Beach Bar , Pavilio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Address: PO Box 70, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Little Dix Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.