We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saba Rock

Saba Rock
Saba Rock Resort | North Sound, 1150, Virgin Gorda
+1 284-495-7711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With a reputation that far exceeds its modest size, Saba Rock boasts not only a famous over the water lounge bar and restaurant, but also an 8 bedroom hotel, 10 slip marina, gift shop, gardens and sun deck. Saba Rock Restaurant is one of the more respected establishments in the British Virgin Islands, offering both a lounge menu and a dinner menu with a wide selection of seafood (including local conch and lobster in season), salads and grills. The boutique hotel, which is consistently ranked among the top hotels in the BVI, is accessible via a 10 minute ferry ride from Virgin Gorda. Alternatively, you can arrive on your own boat and take a slip in the Marina. The Saba Rock ferry is available to pick up guests from any dock in the North Sound, simply phone ahead (1 284 495 7711) or hail us on VHF channel 16 to make arrangements. Reservations in advance are recommended for the Hotel, Marina and Restaurant. We look forward to your visit!
plymouth, ma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“beautiful, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You can access saba rock by taking a free ferry from gun creek. the drive there is fun, beautiful. You can ask the customs people @ gun creek to call the ferry for a pick up. Saba rock is a small, lovely, resort island. The food is great, fun to hang out for a few hours for lunch, or whatever. It really is a nice way to spend an aftenoon, "yacht watching."

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    115
    49
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great view but very pricey and poor food quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We picked Saba for dinner given it's wonderful view and laid back vibe. Sadly we were very disapppointed the service was slow and the food was institutional. Had the entrees not cost over $30, we might have been more forgiving. Avoid the rock for anything more than a drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Crummy lobster dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I ate at Saba Rock last week during our sailing charter. We've had many enjoyable lunches and happy hours there over the past years, but dinner was a disaster! We both ordered lobster, which is sourced locally. Either they served us some bad lobsters, or their chef was clueless, but the meal was terrible. The texture of the meat was mushy, Yuck.
We would have said something to our server, but she never once came by after serving the meal. Never refreshed the water, never asked us for another drink. Just showed up long after we finished picking at the meal and dropped off the check. When we said the lobsters were bad, she just sort of rolled her eyes.

Saba Rock has a great and popular happy hour. Stick to that and order simple things like a burger or a salad, but don't waste your time or your budget on anything fancy from that kitchen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“MUST DO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Saba Rock was one of our favorites restaurants on Virgin Gorda.

The water taxi picked us up from Leverick Bay where we were staying (always on time = awesome), and took us to Saba Rock, sometimes via Gun Creek and Bitter End. The plus side is that you get to ogle the yachts on the trip over.

Tarpon Feeding at 5pm was really fun. They also have a large pool of critters they feed, including a lobster, moray eel, and sea cucumbers (great for kids, and for nerds like me).

Drinks were delish, $3 at happy hour, $6 otherwise.

View is unbelievable! So nice at sunset, though you can't see the horizon.

There are a handful of hotel rooms on the rock, which might be fun for a night but not multiple days.

Overall, everyone was really friendly, good people watching, lots to do, and we just loved the whole shebang. Don't miss this one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“What a view.. Great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Speaking of dining on the water, Saba Rock is a tiny island built on a reef that overlooks North Sound, Virgin Gorda. food is a bit pricey but the staff is great. David, the manager of the whole resort, is often chatting with folks and clearing tables. Wonderful happy hour! $3 Pain killers, rum punch or beer from 4 to 6 pm. They feed the tarpons at 5pm... Try will let you hand a trip of fish flesh in the water....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saba Rock also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Saba Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saba Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.