We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saba Rock

Saba Rock
Saba Rock Resort | North Sound, 1150, Virgin Gorda
+1 284-495-7711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With a reputation that far exceeds its modest size, Saba Rock boasts not only a famous over the water lounge bar and restaurant, but also an 8 bedroom hotel, 10 slip marina, gift shop, gardens and sun deck. Saba Rock Restaurant is one of the more respected establishments in the British Virgin Islands, offering both a lounge menu and a dinner menu with a wide selection of seafood (including local conch and lobster in season), salads and grills. The boutique hotel, which is consistently ranked among the top hotels in the BVI, is accessible via a 10 minute ferry ride from Virgin Gorda. Alternatively, you can arrive on your own boat and take a slip in the Marina. The Saba Rock ferry is available to pick up guests from any dock in the North Sound, simply phone ahead (1 284 495 7711) or hail us on VHF channel 16 to make arrangements. Reservations in advance are recommended for the Hotel, Marina and Restaurant. We look forward to your visit!
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never again!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been traveling in the Caribbean for over 25 years. We know all about island time, But Saba Rock Restaurant is even slower than island time. We had 7:30 reserveations and not served our food until way after 9:00 pm..there were 10 of us in the group and the dinners came out one at a time with long time spaces between..the wine was placed on the table unopened we had to go find a corkscrew...... the food was overpriced and really terrible....There are so many other restaurants in the BVI that are so much better...stay away from this one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    102
    49
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Dinner, Scary Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went with my family while staying in virgin gorda in Mango Bay Resort. The drive to the ferry was frightening to say the least. We drove up and around Nail Bay, and the roads were thin and trecherous. Later we had to drive back down similar scary roads. However, we did find our way to the dock. The ferry ride was enjoyable, and once we got to the restaurant our server was lovely. Even though it was during the evening rush, she was prompt with our drinks, and the atmosphere wasn't too loud. The buffet was lovely, many great options and my mom and brother were more than full with delicous food. My dad and I ordered other food though, and that took a little bit longer. However, we all thought our food was exceptional, and would gladly eat there again. Not only that, but our view from the deck into the water was wonderful and we saw many huge tarpon swimming around in the water. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience and I would recommend Saba Rock to other travelers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Saba Rock was nice; food was okay (considering i selected the buffet) but staff could be more attentive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Relaxed lunch just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having filled up with water at the jetty near by, and wandered into a branch of Pussers during that process, what better than to moor up, take the dingy to the Rock, walk a few yards and then enjoy a lunch in the semi-colonial atmosphere of Scaba Rock restaurant? We didn't need fast service, so enjoyed the time and space, and returned later in the evening when folk were feeding tarpon in the sea and drawing a number of onlookers. We enjoyed it all - and what a location!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Location is great, food and service lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Saba Rock is a beautiful place; however, the service was the worst I have ever experienced. We asked for the pub menu which is cheaper than the regular dinner menu. It took a very long time to get our drinks and our food. We watched food sit in the window getting cold, while waitresses disappeared. Overall, a very disappointing experience. The maitre'd tried to help by coming by and checking on us, but he was not successful in getting the waitress to speed up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saba Rock also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Saba Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saba Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.