We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - not great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Cafe

Rock Cafe
The Valley, Virgin Gorda
+1 284-495-5482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Amongst the famous Virgin Gorda's boulders with waterfalls cascading down. Incredible natural setting. New addition: the Treehouse restaurant. A walk through nature for an experience ABOVE IT ALL !!!
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food - not great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I went to the Rock Cafe based on a brochure I had seen showing what appeared to be a cool "cave" like restaurant. When we arrived at the restaurant it looked nothing like the brochure. It was raining that night so perhaps there was outdoor seating that looked like the brochure - I don't know. I ordered a pepperoni pizza that was very good and my husband ordered a calzone. (after eating fancy food for several days we just wanted something basic) The pizza and the calzone were both big enough that we could have shared. Wish we had known that before we ordered. Our server was friendly and attentive and the food was very good. As I mentioned, the setting was just okay. There was someone playing the piano and singing but I found it to be a little too loud and the singing was just okay. I would go back for the food, but not for the setting. There are so many restaurants that are on the beach in Virgin Gorda that I feel the setting is a drawback. Having said that, perhaps there is outdoor seating that we missed and it's really cool. If you found this review helpful please give it a positive vote.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    53
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roman Forest, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved Rock Cafe! The outdoor cafe was beautiful and so unique! The treehouse was very cool!! Great menu, service, and the food was excellent! The piano bar was a lot of fun and made for a great place to unwind with a tropical drink.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was relaxing to sit among the boulders and waterfalls enjoying a glass of wine and an outstanding meal. The lobster pasta was full of huge pieces of sweet lobster meat. My husband is originally from Brooklyn, NY (home of the greatest pizza) and he said the pizza crust at Rock Cafe was the best he's had outside of the "old" neighborhood.

After our meal, we went inside to Sam's Piano Barfor after dinner drinks and enjoyed the live music.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Visited 6/15/13 nice touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best food we had in a non resort on our trip
- waitstaff very good
- owner(Dwight) very sociable
- accommodated our family with professionalism
- nice setting outside but we dined in
- would come again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Cafe food for gourmet prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We came to BVI as part of a wedding party. Although the setting of this restaurant is beautiful , and the servers pleasant enough, the entrees were nothing extraordinary. Drinks were overpriced. Expected better quality of food and more creative preparation for the incredibly hefty prices we paid.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.