We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mine Shaft Cafe

Mine Shaft Cafe
Road, Virgin Gorda
495-5260
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Have been coming to VG for years and always enjoy the Mineshaft. It is amazing that year after year these guys continue to provide excellent food at very fair prices. My vacation can't start until we head to the Mineshaft. Tuesday all you can eat ribs might be the best meal on the island.

Don't miss the Mineshaft!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chickens sleeping in the trees.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Best to visit before nightfall to enjoy the spectacular views. At dusk the local chickens and roosters fly up to their night-time roost in tree branches alongside the dining deck.

Cocktails are good - the bushwhacker and painkillers were popular in our group.

The food was hit or miss, Based on visits in previous years we opted to stick to appetizers on our latest visit. Our group liked to calamari. The nachos however appeared to be just chips from a packet with sauce from a jar and extruded cheese, perhaps squeezed from a tube? Probably the worst attempt at nachos I've encountered.

We also ordered conch fritters from the menu but were disappointed (and surprised) to be told that they didn't have them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Bar in the BVI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stopped by here after the Copper Mine. We had a blast. A great time and the owner was so much fun. Stories were great and the drinks were better. What a great view and a great place. This is a don't miss place. While we did not eat we saw the food coming out of the kitchen to other customers and it looked great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Come for the sunsets but enjoy the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We heard that the Mine Shaft had the best sunset views on VG and we think they are probably right but the sunset was all that spectacular since the skies were relatively clear. They had a relatively extensive menu but we had the hamburgers and they were done to perfection. For the fries selection definitely try the home made fries which were much better than the regular french fries. The wait staff were super friendly and made the evening more enjoyable with there bright smiles and happy attitudes. When we were leaving the restaurant everyone in the place including the cook and the other patrons said good night to us. We will definitely go back when we return to VG.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Open air, sunset view, perfect night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is our fourth year of dining on VG and probably our 7th dinner at Mine Shaft. We usually dine on a night when Morris Mark is singing, but this year we understand that Morris is only at Little Dix, Mermaids and Chez Bamboo and is not performing at Mine Shaft. Our food and drinks were all excellently prepared--3 grouper dinners and one rib dinner. We all thought the food was prepared excellently and we especially liked that the meal came with sauteed vegetables [broccoli, carrots, green beans] and fried plaintains [delicious!], as well as baked potato or rice. The Key Lime Pie was a perfect finish the the meal. We sat on the west side to see the sunset over the islands; this gave us a close look at the roosters and chicks flying up into the Mimosa tree as darkness descended. This is a true VG experience and should not be missed. We can only hope that management finds a way to get Morris Mark back performing here; maybe that would help increase the number of diners at this pleasurable spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mine Shaft Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mine Shaft Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mine Shaft Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.