We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, local cuisine in paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Virgin's Cafe

Fat Virgin's Cafe
North Sound, Virgin Gorda, BVI's, Virgin Gorda
+1 284-495-7052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Virgin Cafe's simple "Caribbean fusion" menu offers the best casual waterside dining in the BVI. Our delectable home style dishes include tender guava glazed baby back ribs, West Indian boneless chicken roti, grilled wahoo fish, gourmet sandwiches, fritters and homemade soups. We always use the best quality ingredients, including locally grown produce, freshly caught fish and Angus-grade beef. Homemade sauces and dressings such as sun-dried tomato aioli, lemon-poppy seed salad dressing, and mango chutney are house specialties. Gourmet magazine loves our Fat Virgin Hot Sauce. You can relax on our front deck with a drink or a 3-course meal. Bring the whole family or make it a special occasion for two. As long as you're ready to slow down the pace and savor our culinary delights, it doesn't matter if you come in your high heels or your bare feet.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honest, local cuisine in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent Roti's or fried chicken with cold beer and cocktails served on a porch looking west over the length of the Virgin Gorda sound. Ahhh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    32
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, service in casual comfortable setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

During a recent catamaran charter trip in Virgin Gorda we stopped by Fat Virgin Cafe for dinner. From the moment we stepped off our dinghy, Roty was there to greet us and welcome us to a colorfully-painted picnic table just a few feet from the water's edge. Roty gave us top notch service throughout our meal, checking on us to make sure we were happy. The traditional Chicken Roti was excellent - one of the best I've had in the VIs - and my husband's goat soup/stew and fish sandwich was delicious too. Our friends enjoyed ribs, and a burger and everyone was content with our meals and especially the very attentive and quick service. We did not have reservations that night which was fine for the slower mid-June season. This is our second time to Fat Virgin Cafe and I would recommend it to anyone / everyone. It's a consistently great place. Small, casual with a great view of Biras Creek and the Bitter End mooring field. The prices are also a nice alternative to the more expensive restaurants in Gorda Sound.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Not your typical cafe. We had lunch and the burgers were wonderful. You will not be disappointed. Perfect little place by the water.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not your typical BVI Beach place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Tucked away near the impressive Biras Creek resort is the tiny Fat Virgin's Cafe. Don't let its small size scare you off, this is easily THE best service and food in the North Sound. We arrived by dinghy, tied up and within 5 steps were seated at on of their picnic tables overlooking the Gorda sound.
Hands down, the chicken roti is the way to go here, but ask, ju-u-st in case they might have conch roti the day you visit. Our host all three visits was Ratti, a fellow who can write the book on low-key, but attentive service. Genuinely a great experience, on of the highlights of our trip to the north Sound.
Conch fritters were also sampled, very nicely cooked, crispy but not overdone on the outside, and unlike some places, cooked all the way through. The Fat Virgin burger is also a crowd pleaser, the chicken ceasar salad was also very good.
Cold Carib beer, friendly efficient service, great food prepared with care, and a great view.
This Fat Virgin ticks all the boxes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks a lot for your review!!! We are opening next week and hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards!
Fat Virgin Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Divine Food by the Caribbean, and a wonderful gift shop too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Besides the best chicken roti I have ever eaten, wonderful service, delightful location right by the sea, and I could go on and on lauding this wonderful Cafe, the gift store for me is a must! I always stop by to see what I can buy! This time, see picture, we purchased a beautiful, metal wall hanging of a FAT VIRGIN! She is so beautiful, and so well priced, well, I had to have her. Before that I would say this is one of my favorite gift shops on the island, as Esther really has terrific taste in clothes, adornments, artistic hangings, jewelry. Last year I bought my favorite, bronze turtle! Another great item, and reasonably priced, considering the quality and art!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! We are very happy to receive all of these positive and great reviews! We hope to see you back soon! Lots of love from Fat Virgin Café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Virgin's Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fat Virgin's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Virgin's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.