We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Average, Poor Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Bamboo

Chez Bamboo
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda
2844955752
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mediterranean, Tapas, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food Average, Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Food was so-so. My wife and I were the only table in the restaurant in mid November. Literally the ONLY table at 8pm on a Friday. Now I know why. Lobster bisque had one piece of lobster. My steak was totally overcooked. My wife liked her fish. But the service was terrible. The waiter messed up our appetizers, and we were the only people in the restaurant! I think there are better dining choices on the island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    38
    9
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We had a very lovely dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a very lovely dinner at the Chez Bamboo. The service was excellent. Leonard took great care of us. The food was wonderful. We were with 3 other families but didn't have reservations. We ordered a miscellaneous selection of tapas. They were all lovely. Unfortunately, I ate too much. The drinks were great as well. The atmosphere was amazing as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love the new menu and revamped decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a really great meal at Chez Bamboo. The food was excellent, with very well balanced flavours and great potion sizes. The cocktail list is a little conservative, but the wine list is adequate. It wasn't cheap, but we definitely got what we paid for. For 2 adults and a kid, 2 courses with a couple cocktails we paid $200 including tip.

We can't wait to go back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Meal in an Interesting Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were on a cruise around the islands and stopped in Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda. We enjoyed a very good dinner at this interesting restaurant. Service was excellent and the staff were very attentive. The food was very good, The entertainment provided by Morris Mark a local musician was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very cute restaurant with an interesting menu. We enjoyed our meal and the attentive service. Nice change of pace from the LDB restaurants and very close to the resort if you'd like to walk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Bamboo also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Chez Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Bamboo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.