We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmans

Save Saved
You added Frenchmans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frenchmans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in West End
caribbean
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We recently got married at Frenchman's in the gardens. Its truly a hidden Gem. The grounds, the views, villa, and staff were incredible. Felt transported to paradise. I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
142
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Frenchmans is a quiet, relaxing place to stay at the West end of Tortola. It was about a 40 minute ride from the airport over some interesting roads but worth the drive. We had a rental car for our 4 day trip so we could explore the beaches and restaurants. Michele, the concierge, helped us find a rental company and book a fun snorkeling trip. She was very helpful with any questions we had during our stay. We stayed in the Lime which was beautiful and had an excellent view for both sunrises and sunsets. We fell asleep listening to the ocean. There is a restaurant at the resort but we came during the off season and it was set to open in November. There was a pool but we chose to swim at the local beaches. We did cook a few meals in during our stay and the kitchen is beautiful and fully equipped. We were a short drive from Smugglers Cove which is a superb beach and very private during our stay. We were also close to several restaurants that were open during the off season. Many of them reopened in October. Both Michele and Ashleigh were very helpful with suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Overall, we had a great time and would recommend Frenchmans.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Frenchmans is a hidden gem tucked away on the beautiful West End of Tortola. Perched at the end of a quiet road the pastel villas sit stylishly on the mountain side providing incredible views of the ocean and cove below. They are tastefully decorated, clean and airy and incredibly comfortable. Having seen some of the other accomadations on the island I concluded that Frenchmans is certainly one of the best!

I spent an entire day relaxing in the delightful Clubhouse overlooking the pool and the private beach whilst enjoying a cold drink. If the view isn't enough to take your breath away the cool breezes that cruise through the Clubhouse provide a refuge from the sting of the afternoon heat. Wireless internet throughout the resort meant you still had a connection with the outside world however it was just so easy to forget all that and appreciate your surroundings, Frenchmans is forced relaxation!

Manager Ashleigh is a godsend. She organised every detail. From the warm arrival greeting to suggesting delicious restaurants to eat at, great beaches that are off the tourist track and organising chartered day trips of the surrounding islands. Her knowledge of Tortola and surrounding areas was like having your very own tourist information centre at your fingertips.

Frenchmans provided me with the much needed relaxing break and I wouldn't hesitate coming back again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We arrived to find we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa which was a great treat! The quality of the villas is superb - absolutely 5 star!. And I must mention the towels - they are so-o-o soft.
The fridge was very well stocked for our daily breakfast (eggs, bacon, beans - so hubby was in heaven) and there was a fabulous fruit platter for me! Also a bottle of wine in the fridge which I thought was a nice touch. Our friends had a yacht in the marina so we enjoyed the daily walk to see them which was about 15 mins. One evening they came for drinks and Ashleigh kindly went and got "nibbles" for us.
Michelle was so helpful before we arrived that I felt like she was an old friend by the time we got there.
We really loved the place and would highly recommend it.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, but would highly recommend Jolly Rogers and cafe/bar at Pussers - great food!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The Frenchmans Villa resort is simply the best place to stay on Tortola. The accommodations are outstanding (we stayed in Mango - 2 bedroom wtih our two teenagers) and the quality and thoughtfulness of the kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms were outstanding. Ashleigh and Michelle provided us with anything and everything we wanted (from reliable Taxi's to pick us up from our BVI charter or recommendations to restaurants/things to do...they were both outstanding and most importantly knowledgable about Tortola). The property is phenomenal and the views are tremendous. We snorkled around the point and used the pool/tennis courts quite a bit. The service and location of this resort is 5-star all the way. We have rented villas/houses from Colorado to the Outer Banks and this is the nicest place we have ever stayed at...the website photos are exactly what you will find in this secluded yet family friendly resort. If your looking for a romantic villa or a family get together this is perfect. The villas are laid out so nicely (you really cannot see the other villas) and are very secluded. The Watermark was not open when we were there but the breakfeast served daily was good for us....its a short walk to the Marina as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Tingo so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.