We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Year In A Row - Another Great Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Frenchmans to your Saves list
Frenchmans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
NYC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“2nd Year In A Row - Another Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Decided to go back to Frenchman's based upon last year's experience. Glad I did and another great visit. These people know how to run a property - when a small situation occurred with housekeeping (just the hours of service, nothing nefarious) management addressed the situation and frankly, overcompensated, by leaving some nice bubbly in the fridge as an apology. The team there is great, and always does a great job. Hope to make it three in a row next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchmansBVI, General Manager at Frenchmans, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review... we are really pleased to hear that you may be coming back again next year!

Scott Hart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
159
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I, traveling with another couple, just returned from a few heavenly days at Frenchmans. It is really a wonderful unique little spot. Because there are so few villas, you really feel like you have the place all to youself. Everything is top quality. The beds and linens are more than comfortable. The kitchen is nicely equipped, which you can provision with whatever you may want to cook while there and gourmet breakfast is included. The chairs and tables under the gazebos and around the beach and pool invite afternoon naps and when you are ready to get active, the kayaks and snorkel equipment are provided.

We didn't experience the bug problem that others mentioned as there was always a nice breeze while we visited. If you do experience issues during your visit, rest assured that the villa is equipped with bug spray and cintronella candles and all the windows have screens to keep them out. The bedrooms in our villa (Mango) were air conditioned and the main living room and kitchen area had large ceiling fans to keep the air moving if you were warm.

The staff, including Chris, Julisa, and Nadia were so accomodating, taking care of any of our needs and questions. (and I had a lot of questions before we arrived) The girls at the bar and restaurant were very attentive and warm as well every morning for breakfast and for drinks in the evening.

If you are thinking of visiting Tortola, you need to stay at Frenchmans. It is worth every penny and more and is a special place where you will feel like royalty, away from the big crowds at the larger resorts. It is within walking distance to Soper's Hole - where you will find a few cute shops, a bar and restaurant along with several day sail charters if you want to get out and see the other islands. It is hard to walk away and check-out from here. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week on Tortola - who knew we would need to travel to the Caribbean to avoid a hurricane on the East Coast!! We stayed in the one bedroom Passion Fruit villa at Frenchmans. It was a lovely villa with plenty of space and was kept very clean. Two minor points with the villa - (1) the vegatation should be groomed to permit a better view of the ocean and (2) there is no air conditioning downstairs and at times it was unbearable. We very much enjoyed the location of Frenchmans on the island, but it is not close to an abundance of dining options. That said, we never went hungry.

The food at the clubhouse, particulary the breakfast, is very good. The best party of eating there is Lucilla and Karen - both true assets to Frenchmans.

The beach is small, but was perfect while we were there as only 3 other villas were occupied. The snorkling right off the beach is some of the best we've experienced throughout the Caribbean and Hawaii.

Definitely try Sugar Mill for dinner - good food and a great atmosphere.

Plan on renting a car - there is much to explore and it's too cumbersome to rely on taxis that really look to pack huge vans full for all rides.

Beware of the ferries to and from St. Thomas. Despite schedules that indicate daily service by at least two operators, rarely do both operators operate everyday, the ferries (particularly on the weekends) fill up hours in advance, and are NEVER on time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I went to Frenchmans for our Honeymoon in December 2011 and we still cannot stop talking about it! We loved the privacy of having our own cottage (Passion Fruit) and and kitchen and basically our own beach and restaurant! We went at a slow time of year and the weather was wonderful and nothing was crowded. I think there were 2 other couples staying at Frenchmans while we were there! It was so nice! We woke up and ate amazing breakfasts at the restaurant at Frenchmans every day and then spent our days doing a wide variety of activities available at the resort or on the island - kayaking, swimming, exploring, driving, eating and relaxing! Frenchmans sent a cab to pick us up from the airport and had a rental car waiting for us at the hotel. They also were very helpful in arranging a couples' massage with the spa down the road. Everyone there was so nice and we loved visiting with the waiters and bartenders... as well as other guests! We tell our family and friends about it all the time and we are always saying that we will definitely go back one day. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Frenchman's! We just returned from our honeymoon at which Frenchman's was our first stop. Because it was off season we were the only guests and had the resort to ourselves! The whole resort can only accommodate 27 adults, so you already know you are going to get an intimate and exclusive experience. I'm sure if you are one of 27 or one of two, the entire staff there will make you feel like the only people in the world.

The staff was so friendly, helpful, and accommodating and the grounds are breathtaking. We took advantage of our honeymoon package which came with a lot of amenities, but to be honest, spending a week at the resort rotating from the pool, to the beach, to snorkeling, and to kayaking would have been enough as well!

The villas are beautiful and come fully stocked with everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay (although who really needs iPod docks or TV when you are in such a paradise!). We spent many many hours sitting on the porch of our villa sipping cocktails and watching the sun rise and set, and looking at the beautiful water.

We also really enjoyed the location of Frenchman's, which is a more remote part of Tortola. Although you are on the West End and away from some of the businesses and restaurants of Road Town, you have access to most ferries from the West End Ferry Dock and can still check out neighboring islands without traveling far.

We plan to make Frenchman's a regular stop on our anniversaries in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I were literally blown away by the location and level of service.
Chris, Nadia, Julisa and all the staff seemed to be two steps ahead of us guiding the way to the best honeymoon ever!!! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We honeymooned at Frenchmans in June. We loved it- everything from the service to the location was perfect.
The cabanas on the beach were the perfect place to relax by the beach.
Can't wait to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.