We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Towers | West End, Road Town VG-1110, Tortola   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Attn: Boating Enthusiasts
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although the entire island of Tortola is magnificent, it's wonderful to be able to get away from the people (and the rosters) and just be. You'll be close enough to everything but far enough away to relax. The property itself is clean and lushly tropical and the rooms spacious, comfortable, and each provide a beautiful view. We loved the staff! They consistently steered us in the right direction, particularly in regards to where to eat. We will be back!,,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    83
    26
    31
    14
See reviews for
74
169
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green River, Wyoming, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a long overdue review but, better late than never. Four of us stayed for 1 week at Fort Recovery November of 2012. We all enjoyed the stay very much. Everything was great. We had a 2 bedroom villa which suited our needs perfectly. Our first day there we rented a car from the hotel and drove into Road Town to get provisions for our stay. We later found that when going down the road to Soper's Hole for lunch at Pusser's Landing there is a well stocked grocery store on the marina. We did eat at the hotel's restaurant a couple of times for dinner and every meal was delicious. You don't order from a traditional menu and each night there are a few different meals offered. You make a reservation early in the day and select your meal from the list. They didn't have a cocktail menu but, were still very accommodating when we requested cocktails with dinner. The sunsets from the property are beautiful and we spent every evening watching them from the beach. Loved that the beach and ocean were so accessible from our villa. After our daily activities which included a trip to The Baths on Virgin Gorda, a snorkel trip to the Indians & Norman Island with lunch at Willy T's, a short drive over the mountain to Smuggler's Cove, The Bomba Shack, Cane Garden Bay where we visited Green VI Glass Studio and then lunch at Myett's, after dinner every evening we would take a late night swim in the surf just steps from our door.(On the way over the mountain the first time, took a wrong turn ending up on a very rough gravel/dirt road. It was a more scenic and adventurous trek than the paved road. Taking this road took us about 45 minutes to get to Long Beach. Coming back on the more traveled, paved road only took about 5 to 10 minutes from Long Beach! lol)! I highly recommend renting a car from the hotel. It is much more convinient and alot less expensive than taking a taxi. It might take a bit to get used to driving on the "wrong" side of the road but, it was a unique experience and easier than most would think. Doug was extremely helpful with any questions or requests we had before arriving and during our stay. Even though there was a wedding planned during the week we were there and Doug was very busy with wedding arrangements, etc. he was always very accommodating and helpful with whatever we needed. The ground's staff were very friendly and retreived coconuts for us from one of the trees one lazy, relaxing afternoon, removing the tops of the coconuts for some fresh coconut water. As I stated earlier the 2 bedroom villa was great. Loved waking in the morning and looking directly out on the turquoise blue water laping at the beach. Then taking in the ocean views and tropical flora and fauna while having a morning cup of coffee sitting on the deck just off our bedroom or the deck at the entrance to the villa. The kitchen provided everything we needed for cooking and if we needed something we would ask Doug and he was usually able to provide the item requested. All in all a wonderful vacation. A once in a lifetime vacation for some. One I hope to repeat :) Thanks Fort Recovery!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Where to start? From the road, it doesn't look like much but as soon as you walk from the lobby to the beach, you know this is a special place. View was insane, villa was perfect combination of charm, cleanliness and beach, and Doug and Rita were excellent hosts.

If you want a relaxing, private, vacation with a beautiful view that makes you feel like you have the Island to yourself, this is the place. You can easily rent a car and get to any other beach or into Sopers Hole or road town for activity. If not, you can make some pussers punch in your villa and sit on the porch or beach and feel like its your own private island.

We looked at every other hotel when we got there just for comparison. None are as nice...either they are not waterfront, or the waterfront is really rockfront, or the beach is crazy rough and loud. At Fort Recovery you fall asleep with the soft lapping sounds of the gentle ocean.

The food was delicious. Seriously, again the best food we had on the island. We tried several other restaurants including Sebastians, Pussers, and Myetts. Other guests told us they went to Sugar Mill which was they said was not as good as Rita's cooking and really over priced. So stock up at the liquor store and eat at Ft. Recovery

Seriously, we cant say enough about Fort Recovery. We had stayed at night in St Thomas at the fancy Marriott before we got to Tortolla and originally were going to spend ourtoast 2 nights back there but we cancelled them as soon as we saw the view from our villa.

The whole team there was so warm and polite. They made you feel welcome like an old friend but also gave you space. I have to say Doug and Rita were really fantastic!

It was one of the most romatic places ever. Even though there were other couples and people were friendly, it was still very private and quiet with no loud kids or rude adults.

We look forward to going back again soon!!!

We love you Dougy and Rita. (from your favorite Jersey pussers drinking guests. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you want a place that feels like you're staying in your favorite relatives home....a place where they greet you morning and evening with LOVE, a place that will give you every service and amminity with pleasure....a place where you can disappear from the world.....a place where you can close your door to eveything or a place where you can leave your door unlocked and hear only the sound of the surf all night....a place that will delight you on arrival and a place that will make your heart so sad to leave....then you will LOVE Ft. Recovery.
The only complaint we have is that there is no web cam to go back to every day and see our beautiful spot at Ft Recovery. Also recommend buying your own coffee to make in your room.
Some of our favorites: air conditioned bed room, games & knitting available, quiet, surf sound and our very favorite was Doug, Rita and Anita in the front office.

Room Tip: Complete privacy in the upstairs penthouse rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Friendly and comfortable with a lovely view from the balcony. Doug and the other staff made us feel at home and also arranged a snorkeling boat trip which was great. I would definitely like to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Dominica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a family, long weekend stay at Fort Recovery. Our 3 bedroom we stayed in made me feel like I was at home and not a hotel. A very warm and friendly feel to the rooms. The view is wonderful with a constant light sea breeze. The beach in front was raked every morning and I've never seen such clean rooms! Our meals were stress free and delicious! The staff and owner were very friendly, helpful and eager to please. Doug is a real hoot!
Most people know, before booking, the location of the hotel, so don't be surprised if you need to rent a vehicle or use taxi's while there if you want to venture out.
I have recommended Fort Recovery and will keep recommending.the hotel. After just 3 days I felt stress free! Can't ask for better than that!
Keep up the good work. See you next year. Thanks

Room Tip: South side faces the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It is very expensive, as most things on the island are. We stayed over Easter weekend. Upon arrival, they didn't have my booking in the system, but luckily I had brought my confirmation. They said they would put me in a one bedroom, I had booked a two, but weren't able to give me a refund on the cost difference. So then they offered me the 3 bedroom, but said I would have to switch rooms on my last day due to another booking. I refused to move rooms during my stay so they gave me the 3 bedroom, and told me how great it was that they were giving me such a wonderful upgrade. Tis true, it was an upgrade but after about an hour of discussions. The hot water ran out on the first day, the fuse blew. Then the hot water was spotty the rest of the weekend...they said it was they city's fault. The grounds and our room were very clean. The sheets in our master were scratchy. The staff is super nice and eager to please. The location was fine, but you need a car to get anywhere on the island. We had breakfast one morning, it was good. All in all, this is the most money we had ever spent on a hotel per night and I have to say the experience was not equal to the $$$. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom 3 bath was very spacious and had a kitchen stocked with most all tools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG-1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.