We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, rooms and staff make this a wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Towers | West End, Road Town VG-1110, Tortola   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Road Town
scutler
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely location, rooms and staff make this a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids) just returned for a week at this hotel. We have travelled to many more touristy locations such as St. Thomas, the Caymans and Mexican destinations, and everyone agreed that this experience was much more relaxing and felt really authentic. All of us had a blast. The hotel staff, especially Doug, but also Rita and Ivette and everyone that works there, are genuinely warm and helpful. They will do their best to provide anything you need. We had a lower level villa and loved just rolling out of bed onto this gorgeous BVI beach with scenic days and beautiful sunsets. Our only "cons" (nothing is perfect after all) would be that the bedding is a bit firm and we felt new mattresses would be a good investment. We also felt that they should provide some simple toiletries such as shampoo in the bathrooms. These were not a big deal. The location is central to many places to visit, but you do need to rent a car for sure because this is not a "full service" resort in terms of restaurants/bars/entertainment. It is a great home base from which to explore a gorgeous island either on land or sea, and great for relaxing on the beach, but you will feel isolated pretty quickly without wheels. If it is a busy time, make sure to arrange the rental before you go. Jerry's is a 3 minute drive from Ft. Recovery and we had no trouble renting from Jerry. In fact, they drove us and our family of 5 and luggage to the ferry when we returned the car, which was a very nice touch and saved an expensive cab ride. When we left after a week we felt like we had visited a special place that we could return to again and again and almost feel like a home away from home. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We loved being on the ground floor, but all the villas looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    80
    25
    31
    13
See reviews for
71
159
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just completed our 3rd trip to the VIs in the last 5 years, but this is the first time we have stayed on a BVI, choosing Tortola as our home base for the week. In order to fully appreciate the BVIs, and Fort Recovery in particular, you need to have the right expectations. If you are looking for a party atmosphere with waitresses pushing drinks, then this place is not for you. Fort Recovery is very laid back, and any drinks you get are made in your own kitchen. However, this works out great because your villa will probably be no more than 50 ft from the ocean. Our 3 BR unit with 3 baths was no more than 10-15 feet from the water. Also, if you are looking for a perfectly manicured lawn and giant pool, look elsewhere too. The resort is small and the pool is an afterthought. We are "beach people" though, and could hardly care about these items.

The beach at Fort Recovery is very nice. There are break walls strategically positioned to make the water very calm. There is also complimentary snorkeling equipment to use. While the fish life offshore is not spectacular, doing some free snorkeling is a good source of exercise and a fun way to pass the time. One turn off for some people may be the sea grass about 30' offshore. However, it was quite easy to swim over it if you are easily squeamish about those things.

We explored other beaches on the West End of the island and each had issues. I found the beach at Frenchman's Cay to be very lacking, and it was a complete turn off for me. The Long Bay beach did have way too many rocks on its floor as others have written about the resort, but if you walk west from the resort, the ocean bottom is all sand. This beach is also the only one we found with big waves, which children love, but adults may find a bit noisy. The beach at Smugglers Cove was nice, but nothing special either. All things considered, I appreciated the Fort Recovery beach and set-up more after visiting these locales.

The villa itself served its purpose perfectly. It was not luxurious, but it was very comfortable, and we all slept well. Given the 4 adults are difficult sleepers, that is saying something. I do wish though each bedroom had its own TV.

Even though Fort Recovery is very nice, do make it a point to plan some day trips. Our trips to Virgin Gorda's "Baths" and White Bay on Jost Van Dyke were wonderful. Also, plan at least one day of snorkeling to the Caves and the Indians off Norman Island. I have written reviews on each. Also, you should get a rental car even though the roads on Tortola are awful.

Our room rate included 1 free filet mignon dinner, and a 1/2 day of snorkeling. Given that the villa is the equivalent of 3 hotel rooms, the rate was pretty fair - especially for being right on the ocean. Whether on the front porch or resting in bed, you will be serenaded by the gentle surf hitting the shoreline - very nice.

You will notice I gave the property the highest rating. In truth, it probably is more like a 4.5 star resort in my book, but as the week went on, I appreciated it more for what it was and minimized its few areas to improve. Unless you are a very pampered traveller, you should enjoy yourself here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am quoting our daughter when I say Best Wedding Ever but I definitely agree. Our daughter got married on November 6th surrounded by family and friends at this absolutely beautiful resort on the beach with beautiful flowers, music, weather and to the most fabulous accommodations. We had her reception on the porch of the beach house with cocktails inside and e band playing steel drums outside. The table set wasnsomthing out of a magazine!!!!! Flowers, candles and the most beautiful linen napkins with crocheted tatting trim. Oh it was spectacular. When planning this you can only hope it turns out as well as you can imagine....imagine it being ever better because it was. Everyone at Fort Recovery was eager to make this day as special as we wanted it to be. No detail was left unattended to. Anita, Pamelah, Doug, Rita, Ivette and Anne all made sure it happened as planned. And the others Perfecto and Risky were there in the background quietly attending to all the little details. We did yoga in the am right there on the waters edge, had massages to relax us beforehand. The rehearsal island barbecue was delicious as well as the filet mignon dinner at the wedding. Oh it was a wedding and a trip of a lifetime and I can't thank the owner, Anita, to making sure our little girl had a wedding she only dreamed of but actually she was able to give her. The memories will be imbedded forever and words cannot express the gratitude for everyone there to make this dream a reality. Thank you all from the bottom of our hearts. If anyone is planning a destination wedding this is the place to make hour dream a reality. Once I figure out how to post the pictures I will. Thanks to everyone again....it was the best dream of our life! Donna and Eddie.

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauma Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I must preface this review by saying we stayed only one night, but it was a stay that made the most positive impression I've ever had in a smaller family-run Caribbean beach hotel. My wife and I (late 50's) needed a place to relax after a week of chartering a boat around the BVI. Choosing Fort Recovery for the job of winding us down turned out to be one of the best decisions we made for the entire vacation. Apparently sailors have been coming there to rest for about 400 years, so we were unknowingly following a very traditional activity in this part of the islands. My first impression was that the grounds were spotlessly clean. After being greeted on the front steps by Doug the manager (his Hawaiian shirt and flip-flops clued us in to the casual atmosphere, but did not reveal his very focused attention toward everything else), he walked us over to an astonishingly beautiful suite, on the beach with an awesome view across the channel to St. John in the USVI (the view later had us gazing upon a perfect Caribbean sunset). After having stayed in several upscale and less than ideal hotels in the Caribbean and elsewhere, I have to say that this was the most beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and and comfortable room I've been in with the possible exception of my own home. In fact, with the bookcases full of books, art objects on the walls and horizontal surfaces, perfectly functioning appliances (A/C, mini-fridge, TV, bar sink, bath and toilette), I felt like I was in someone's home -- someone with superb taste and attention to detail. Even the marble tiles on the bathroom wall had their vein pattern matching and the grout was laid to the construction standards of a very high-end hotel. Stepping out the back door onto the deck led to steps down to the beach. A walk around the property revealed more attention to detail -- every structure was freshly painted and workers were busily servicing rooms and attending to landscaping. I felt like I had stepped out of the typical tropic attitude of "no problem, mon...been like dat for months..." and into the first class, "yes sir, I will address that immediately" universe, but somehow located on a gorgeous tropical beachfront -- except that someone who really knew what they were doing had already addressed every potential concern before I arrived. This is a place to completely unwind -- a large freshwater swimming pool sits between the ancient fort ruin and the restaurant, and the sound of waves on the beach is gradually replaced with the tradewinds in the palm fronds and one walks though the compound. They had simple one bedroom suites, to units with kitchenettes, to large villas for big groups or families (Doug graciously allowed us to inspect them since we indicated our intent to return as soon as we could), all uniquely decorated, and all with views great and small of the beautiful water and islands. A 35 foot motor yacht is available for charter at the dock, and the on-site restaurant serves a small but delicious dinner menu to hotel guests only, that one orders in advance. The resort is not particularly close to other eating, shopping or entertainment sources (probably intentional to keep things calm and quiet), so a very short, inexpensive cab ride (the biggest surprise in the BVI was the low cost cab fares -- everything else is quite pricey) would be needed for those not choosing to walk the mile or so over to West End/Soper's Hole. If you need a getaway sort of stay at a place that is relaxed, quiet, and more clean and comfortable than expected, this is an exceptional choice and worth every penny.
Alan Jorgensen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Fort Recovery for 4 nights in November. Room was beautifully decorated, large, clean and very comfortable. We were in a Superior 1BR suite. A/C in bedroom worked great and cooled the living room a little bit too (enough to be comfortable). Kitchen area was small and mini fridge was a little hard to access because of the way the door opened. Beautiful view from our balcony. Staff (Doug and Rita) were friendly and helpful. Ivette took very good care of us at breakfast. When we booked, our package had a continental breakfast included (which they no longer offer), but they accommodated us when we asked about it. We thought it was a very convenient place to stay on the West End and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a fabulous time at Fort Recovery. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and extremely clean. The entire staff was friendly every day of our 6 night stay. We had a couple of glitches when we arrived - door didn't lock correctly, stove gas was off and Douglas took care of it for us right away. I sprained my ankle on the trip and Douglas let me borrow his ice pack and wrap for it. The maids who made up our room were fun to talk with and did a fabulous job. We had an amazing Thanksgiving dinner in the resorts private restaurant for its guests. Best Thanksgiving dinner we have had in years!! We took the snorkel trip that the hotel offers to its guests and had an amazing time. We went to the Norman Islands Caves and the Indians - snorkeling was fantastic. Other must do trips are day trips to Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke - just get the ferry at Roadtown or West End. The hotel is convenient to both. We rented a car from Jerry's car rental and had a great time exploring the island. Had lots of fun driving to the different beaches. Snorkeling is good at Brewers Bay and the waves at Long Bay Beach are fun to jump in. The city of Road Town has a beautiful Botanical Garden that is worth a visit. We met lots of great people at Fort Recovery - both staff and other guests! The only sad thing about this vacation was leaving! We hope to return soon to Tortola - an amazing island and great central spot for seeing all of the BVI . When we return we will surely stay at Fort Recovery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a week on a bareboat charter, this was a fabulous last night in the BVI. The suite was clean, on the beach and close to west end (Soper's Hole). The staff opened the kitchen to feed us lunch even though they don't normally serve lunch (they do serve breakfast). The food was very good and they were so accommodating. I just wish we had stayed longer! The suite we had was fully appointed with a full-size kitchen (all appliances) and with several markets nearby, this would be a great place to hang for a week without having to venture out for all your meals. We will be back!

Room Tip: Highly recommend a beachfront suite - fabulous sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG-1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.