We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlies

Charlies
Wickhams Cay II | Moorings Village, Road Town, Tortola
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 22 Restaurants in Road Town
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had dinner here our first night on Tortola. We had Seared Tuna and a Pizza. Sitting on the edge of the water with a great view of the harbor was a perfect start for our trip. Our server was great. Very friendly and hospitable. We had a great time and would go back any time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    31
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charlies Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We enjoyed some great seafood as well as pasta. The service was very responsive and the food was prepared very well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

sadly enough for such a great venue. Overpriced ($25 for a bowl of pasta), and very slowly served. We were a captive audience at the Moorings marina, and felt we were taken advantage of.
Thsi restaurant could be so much more than it is. Friendly smiling wait staff, but very slow food delivery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & view, limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten at Charlie's several times over the past years, so this was a return visit. We had reservations and our party of four was seated promptly. Drinks and wine were served promptly. The food was very good but the menu was somewhat limited. The prices are on the expensive side. Service was good. You probably need to check out the menu before making a reservation. Great view, atmosphere,and ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our group completed a six day sail around the islands of the BVI. Stunning. We so admired the islands, clear water, snorkeling and the exceptional treatment we received at all the restaurants in the various ports. Following our return, we spent the night at the Moorings and elected to dine at Charlie's. We made reservations for dinner and were seated right on time. The food was good and the atmosphere excellent. We were finishing our wine, having elected to forgo desert, but were considering another bottle when one of the wait staff apologized for being rude, but we needed to move our party to the bar as they needed the table.
We were stunned. We were into our meal just a little over an hour, a good 30 minutes of that was food prep and awaiting for service. We had spent nearly $300 on the meal and they had the audacity to move us in order to turn the table. There were 2 open tables and one fellow by himself with a computer and a bottle of wine only. Our captain took the complaint to the supervisor who acknowledged that we needed to move.
If you are wanting good food on a hustle-up time frame, Charlie's is the place. If you want to enjoy your meal in the beautiful setting of the harbor with friends and a few bottles of wine- take to town and hit a bbq joint. You will save yourself a sad ending to a wonderful vacation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlies also viewed

 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Charlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.