We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great enough for 2 visits!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe

Le Grand Cafe
Waterfront Drive, Road Town, Tortola
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Road Town
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: It's new, but on the same site previously was Le Cabanon which you list here: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g147354-d1046031-r115390991-Le_Cabanon-Tortola_British_Virgin_Islands.html. Le Grand Cafe should appear in the Road Town Restaurants list as well as the Tortola Restaurants list, as it's almost next door to The Dove Restaurant, which is in that list. Also, Pussers is in the same location but again it's not on the Road Town restaurants list: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g147354-d1046052-Reviews-Pusser_s_Road_Town-Tortola_British_Virgin_Islands.html
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great enough for 2 visits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

On our two-day stop on Tortola, we enjoyed this cafe enough for a repeat visit! The lamb gyro is fantastic and generous enough to share! The waitstaff was great. Many ex-pats, sailors, and locals were dining when we visited - we knew the food must be good!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

best place to go on a night with good dj and drinks..
ENjoy to the maximum

Situtated near the ship ferry and the market.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disputable ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The music was unpleasantly loud and the food very poor. There must be a better way to serve food even in the BVI. Not to be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
“Perfect food and nice athmosphere since new owner took the helm in latr 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We got the best food we had on Tortola - by far! Very good quality meet, carefully prepared and kindly and fast served. Walking distance from Village Cay Marina. Perfect choice for dinner and drincs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than a watering hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I would probably not write this review because this is a restaurant guide, but we tried the food and it is worth visiting, though fact is, that you should probably go there for drinks and get friendly with the owner, because he is the nicest guy in all of Caribbean, i'm more than sure of it, even if i only visited the BVI in Caribbean. Welcoming as he is, you'll see him running through the place, from the grill to the bar, caring for the meats cooked over the fire, and distributing shots of jeager to unexpecting guest, stopping for a chat and a laugh.

Concerning the food: beautifully done crispy goat cheese salad, was our favorite. Simple flavours, but clean and full, good quality products, all you need to enjoy it.
I have also eaten the biggest steak of my life there, delicious, done to perfection, with a tasty peppercorn sauce, and crispy peppery fries.

We have picked this joint to be our watering hole for the stay, and we're very happy that we did. We got to meet a great guy with a great outlook on life, actually the atmosphere there is so nice, that we met a lot of people there, and it seems like locals love to go there, listen to live music (very nice bands play there towards the end of the week) and chat with Paul and other locals.

Go there if you're not a fancy-shmancy uptight person and you will enjoy yourself for sure

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Le Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.