We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that impressed. Very disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Discovery Tortola

Dolphin Discovery Tortola
Prospect Reef Resort, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
1-866-393-5158
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Dolphin Discovery Tortola like an insider
$79*
and up
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the Caribbean paradise of Tortola. We offer a range of programs for all ages, a family-friendly adventure you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Clayton, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not all that impressed. Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We thought this would be the highlight of our cruise. However, there was to much emphasis on taking pictures. I paid to look at the dolphin not at the camera for a very picture intrusive sales pitch. For the amount of money, you spend very little time with these animals. Instead of having us perform for the camera, I would have rather just gone out into the dolphin area & spent time being around the dolphins. Very disappointed!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    62
    17
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Keepler is the smartest Dolphin in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had the best time ever , Was an awesome program you get to play ball , swim with,Kiss,Dance and more with the Dolphin. They have a great gift shop and even offer great photo's.If ever you are in Tortola this is a great place to go,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting, but would not do again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Swimming with dolphins was pretty cool. My fiance loved it, but I was kind of disappointed with what can only be described as the ultimate money making enterprise. Trained dolphins living in the confines of these small pens. As others noted, they also sell the photos aggressively. $100 for a dvd with your photos, or $25 per print.

Staff was friendly and knowledgable. Would probably recommend more if going with kids.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A well-run operation with love and respect for the dolphins who live there. Had a full hour in the water interacting with these beautiful creatures. Would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Go early and try for a smaller group.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bucket List Complete!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Swimming with dolphins was always a dream of my dad's. After he recently passed I knew I had to do it. During my stay in St. Thomas I went to Tortola to experinece these animals in their natural habitiat. I say natural habitat because they are not in some man made salt water pen, but rather they are in a netted portion of the carribean ocean. The trainers were amazing, and they let us really experience these gorgeous animals. Since we came during the off season, our group was one of the few that were scheduled for that day. The trainers decided to let us stay an extra hour with the dolphins, and let us swim in the calfs that had been this year! If you get this extra experience, you won't be let down.

The prices of the pictures are what you should expect from a tourist/bucket list place. They are high, and you can't take your own camera into the water. Rather somone has to sit out and take your photos for you.

Overall, It is a wonderful experience, and I will recommend it to anyone going!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Tortola also viewed

Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Tortola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Discovery Tortola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.