We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, but water, wifi and TV issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel to your Saves list
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road Town, Tortola   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Room, but water, wifi and TV issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed there on the day before, and the day after, a sailing trip. The proximity to the marina is the only thing that would really attract anyone here in particular. Very nicely decorated rooms.

Issues: 1) Very limited hot water both visits. On the second visit, the water was off for an hour or two; 2) the wifi antena is in the lobby. Reception there is good, but probably almost non-existent in most of the rooms; 3) my TV the second night would only pick up one or two channels.

There's a nice cafe under a pavilion up the dock, with good food. The service in the resaurant down the dock (near the small beach) was very bad, in every respect. Among many things, they never brought me the second glass of wine I ordered to go with my dinner... but charged me for it. It engendered such lengthy debate that I finally decided just to pay for it, in lieu of a tip.

Room Tip: Confirm the wifi, TV and hot water situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
22
32
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Since the Tortola BVI Charter Boat Show was held at Nanny Cay in November 2012 3 of us stayed at the Nanny Cay hotel. We are all Charter Brokers and friends. The beds are comfy and wide enough for two females to share. The AC worked, the water was hot when needed and the location first rate. The service and attitude of emplyees was first rate. However the Charter Boat Show brought more than Nanny Cay is used to hosting all at once. I spoke to a representative of the owners and he reports that although they tried to prepare the staff for the onslaught there were several issues. I believed him when he promised that next year the staff will be much better trained.
Nanny Cay is wonderfully convenient. A good pool, a beach, Beach Bar, several restaurants, a handfull of shops (although the newspapers were several days out of date). Take a room on the second floor for hot water. Hotel staff were super nice and helpful. We look forward to staying there next year.

Room Tip: our room on the first floor had good hot water. friends above complained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

stayed at the hotel; clean large rooms, very good service staff; good water pressure in the showers lukewarm shower temp at best. shops and grocer and restaurants /bars very close by.restaurant food was average as well as the prices; same can be said for the prices of the drinks at the bars. This hotel is really meant as a way station for sailors who are either picking up or returning on a sail trip. The location of Nanny cay in relation to Roadtown (the major city on Tortola) is not within walking distance for most people; so for those who would want to sightsee and shop in Roadtown, a taxi would be required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and only persisted as it had been booked by our hosts (business) and we didn't want to offend. The receptionist was less than helpful and we really felt we were putting her out - when we asked where we would find our room she waved her arm and said 'over there' and then walked away. The room was dark and we couldnt open the shutters as most of the mosquito nets were missing and boy did we need them. The beds squeaked and constantly moved (on wheels), the headboard was just about hanging on to the frame and the horrid nylon bed throw looked like it came from the 70's. The door locks on the patio were non existent - having said that security obviously isnt a priority as one day we came back and found the maid had left our room open whilst she went to fetch something, speaking to another guest they had the same experience. Maid service seemed to be an all day affair in that it was done in stages so we kept getting interrupted till in the event we said we would rather skip the rest of the service.
The hotel is quite a way out of town so you'll need a car or taxi to go into Road Town, which is ok if you know in advance.
Check out was as bad as check in, so we didn't bother saying anything as it was clear the receptionist didn't care whether we had enjoyed our stay or not.
The pool was great and in a nice location. It was nice to walk around the Marina, and if you like beach bars and beach parties you might enjoy it more than we did.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Nanny Cay before and after our sailing charter. This year was our second time in the BVIs. Like others have said, it is great for this as everything is in one spot. Peg Leg's has good food, as does Gennakers for breakfast. The beach bar is ideal for a few happy hour drinks and the pool is nice. They have been doing some upgrades to the marina and some of the grounds. The new condos are also an upgrade - it appears someone is spending some money improving the grounds.
If you want a basic, clean room in close proximity to your boat, this is the spot. If you have a large group in for a charter, it might be worth looking into booking a condo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent two nights at the NC Hotel, in late July, while taking sailing classes with Rob Swain sailing academy.

We found the hotel staff to be quite rude. On the other hand the folks working at the two restaurants were quite friendly, and the food was also quite good. The marina side was very hot. The beach side was much nicer but the actual beach was quite small.

Probably won't be going back unless we're taking another sailing class.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

nanny cay hotel is one of the best hotel the receptionist are very nice well i must say i see three receptionist and out of the three two of them is nice which is diana and ishauna they are two very nice persons it have one who does sit down all the time never stand and never smile which is bridget and she deal with you sitting :( i will go back to this hotel any time the house keeping does and good job wouldn't see excellent like the front desk and the pool is good , the restaurants are nice , the ice cream polar is expensive i can go on and on but i would leave it there for now and i will be staying it this hotel for my entire stay as long as i am in the british virgin islands

Room Tip: ocean view is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel

Address: Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Cay Marina Hotel Road Town
Nanny Cay Marina And Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.