We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Incompetence” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel to your Saves list
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road Town, Tortola   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Nokomis, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Total Incompetence”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Never in 40 years of traveling as an adult have I ever experienced such incompetent staff who clearly dealt with their customers with contempt at best. No greeting, messed up reservation dates, no apologies, and no service. The keys were thrown across the counter by the receptionist, who could hardly take a moment away from the computer game she was playing. When we requested towels for the pool...she said she did not "see any". When we asked how to get them, she said "here". We asked her if she could provide them, she said she would call housekeeping. In a small hotel, with possibly 50-60% of the rooms empty (low season) we waited 30 minutes for towels and the 2 well worn towels showed up with a look a contempt for having asked. When we asked if cups could be provided in the bathroom, we were told to get or purchase two plastic cup from the pool bar. When we went to the pool bar, the bar tender said she does not provide cups for the hotel. You just can not make this up. I work for a very large corporation, and if any of our personnel ever treated a customer like this staff, it would be your last day of work. I will write the management and name names, but suffice it to say...this is a great location to stay, prior to a boat charter from the various charter companies resident in Nanny Cay....but beware the hotel staff, they disdain all of humanity!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    21
    16
    11
See reviews for
22
33
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed 1 night before and 1 night after charter with Horizons. With Horizon's discount room rate was under $100. Rooms were spacious and clean. Marina has a couple of restaurants, nice beach (small) and pool but is a bit remote if you are staying more than a day or 2. Property is well kept up but keep in mind that this is the BVI, not St Thomas. Most of the staff very nice but one woman at the desk needed a major attitude adjustment (or needed to be moved to the back office)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The place is right by the piers and the yatchs, the building is kind of old and with no charm, the rooms are just ok with a tiny dark bathroom, and the service is REALLY bad... I think it is totally not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed at Nanny Cay Resort, while taking sailing lessons with Rob Swain Sailing School, before heading out with a charter with TMM (another review). We were not impressed with the accomodations of this "resort". We were placed in a room right across from the cleaners, down a long dingy hallway, when we asked if this was the only room available we were told "yes" but it was clear while walking around that there were plenty of empty rooms. The room was only moderately clean, the bed sheets were not cleaned in the 3 nights we stayed, and we continually had to ask for enough towels for the 4 of us as we kept on getting only two towels. The TV did not work, and the air conditioning stopped working. We did ask for the TV to be fixed and also called about the air, but only the TV was looked after. The front desk staff were the least friendliest people that we have ever encountered while on holidays. They were not welcoming or informative and really seemed to care less if we were there or not. The first couple of questions that we did ask were met with such a dismissive attitude that we stopped asking, and just kept the attitude that thankfully we were only here for 3 days. The pool area is very small and the beach area rocky, dirty and uninspiring, the only positive was the food in the resturant. We went for dinner one night and although expensive, was well worth it - the food was well presented, substantial, very tasty and our waitress that night was extremly pleasent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed one night prior to taking keelboat course at Rob Swain Sailing and then taking taxi to Sopers Hole for 10 day sailing charter with Voyage Charters. Arrived after a long travel day from Canada. Flew Toronto - Miami - St Thomas, then took 1/2 hour taxi ride to Red Hook and then 45 minute private water taxi to Nanny Cay. Arrived around 7:30 pm, checked in, ate at Pegs Landing, slept and checked out the next day. Staff were fine, not overly friendly but had no issues. Rooms were large, quiet, clean and air conditioning worked great, beds were good. Would recommend hotel for staying either at beginning or end of charters. We had some time to kill while some of our crew did the keelboat course, ate lunch at Marina, did a little bit of shopping and hung out by the pool and beach. Hotel let us keep our luggage in the lobby until 4pm and arranged a taxi for us to get to Sopers Hole Marina. Very easy start to our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed here the night before our Horizons Charter - which was great (another review). Our flight was delayed an hour from Puerto Rico and than it took an hour to get through disorganized, SLOW customs. We took a taxi from airport which cost $36 total and got to hotel after 8pm. It had been a long day and we were hungry. Peg Leg's served us even though by time we got there kitchen was about to close. I had pasta pinwheels and he had Mahi-Mahi dip which were both good. The hotel is 3 star at most. It is very conveniently located to dock where our charter was so thats why it chose it instead of dealing with ferry from St. Thomas the next morning. The rate of $170 (with Horizon 20% discount) I thought was high still. The rooms were decent with a table and chairs in a small porch area. We used the coffee maker, fridge and provided bowls to eat cereal we brought with us. The bed and bath were ok. The only hotel in immediate area so while it was handy for us - they know it and charge accordingly. I like the marina surroundings with cafe and sm. provisions market. The shower facilities for marina guests was done very nicely. I didn't get to see fitness area because it was closed. The main thing was the high price! But, again it was convenient!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We had a great stay at Nanny Cay Hotel. The beds were so soft and comfortable and the air conditioning was very welcome after a day in the sun - only complaint was a kettle would have been nice. The location is perfect as all amenities were within walking distance- shops, cafes and restaurant. All recommended. Could see both the Caribbean and the marina from our room, and didn't hear a thing at night except crickets and frogs. Nanny Cay were also superb when our flight home was cancelled and put us up for 2 more nights.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel

Address: Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Cay Marina Hotel Road Town
Nanny Cay Marina And Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.