We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian's on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sebastian's on the Beach to your Saves list
Sebastian's on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Apple Bay, Road Town 9999, Tortola   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a short taxi ride from Road Town, Sebastian's on the Beach appears around a corner. I only stayed one night, but it was my introduction to the BVI and its wonderful people. I had read from previous reviews that staff was not particularly friendly or helpful--but that is not the case! The bartender took great care of me with beverages and food. The room was clean, quiet, and restful. I felt like I was in the middle of a jungle.

Room Tip: Rooms without an ocean view have a jungle view and are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    56
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
26
72
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. We have spend a lot of time in the BVI and had a pretty good idea of what we were in for. The room we ended up with ( another story) was on the second floor on the road, but with a view of the water. It was extremely comfortable and clean, some road noise until about 11 at night, then starting in the morning, ( we like our windows open at night ) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic!!!!! We had 2 kids with us so we had to have the bigger room, but if you are able to get a room on the water ( 1 king bed )
that is the ideal spot! The little attached store is a great idea. This place is great for the easy going traveler with an island mentality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sebastians was just a great little sleep nook for us, clean, had air conditioning, small fridge is all that mattered, little store, price was cheap stay around off season, I didn't have high expectations. Great location, close to National car rental,10 minute walk away connecting to Long Bay Beach Resort, Also close to Famous Bomba Shack hangout for tourist. Staff was pleasant, very secluded and private. Sebastians Restaurant is closed around September but open spring and summer months. I typically walked to Long Bay Resort to eat as they are open all season (loved the scenic walk) great food and service there. Try the Pain Killer alcohol drink, really good drink that was. Don't expect the grand Ritz, only cause I'm not Queen Elizabeth. I enjoyed my stay, be adventurous.

Room Tip: Ask for Beach Front rooms, I saw them repaint, renovate all of them while I stayed there :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, Ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After having stayed a week on Jost Van Dyke we needed a transition stop & Sebastian's was the most convenient. The staff have been Very friendly, the rooms super clean and the location can't be beat. Have not checked the Villas but they look nice also. On full moon dates it is very close to Bomba Shack. That may be loud but we are missing the "experience" by a few days.

Room Tip: Ocean front would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

my family stayed here for 4 nights end of january. i had booked three rooms through hotels.com... was given a total $ amount, but was told to pay cash on arrival. well on arrival i was told i owed $400 more than what hotels.com had told me. the owner showed me her receipt and i showed her mine. they definitely did not match. i am not blaming her for hotels.com mess up, however i am angry about the way she handled the situation. i obviously asked to not pay the extra $400 since it was not my fault. i even asked to "split" the difference with her. she basically said to me "if you don't want to stay here you can leave because i have other people that will take your room". well sorry but it is peak season and everywhere is booked... and with a group of 12 that is virtually impossible to just go search for another hotel. i had no choice but to fork over an extra $400. i have honestly never been to hotel that did not care if you left. so rude. the next day we ate at their restaurant which is basically on the beach. the waitress was awful. i have traveled to SEVERAL islands and know that service in the caribbean is slow... so that was not the problem. but every time we asked for something she would ROLL her eyes at us. we are very friendly so this caught me off guard. i had requested hot sauce a couple times (getting the eye roll), so i went inside and found the other waitress. i asker her if she could just grab me a bottle because my other waitress had forgot. she said "we are just really busy right now"... i responded with "i know, that is not the problem. it is that every time we order a drink, etc she rolls her eyes at us." not five minutes later our waitress is at our table yelling at me saying that she is "not rolling her eyes, but that she is just menopausal!!" the WORST experience i have ever had at a restaurant in all the caribbean. i will never ever stay at this hotel again. and i would never recommend it to anyone. the only reason i gave it one star was because i had to (and the beach is nice).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms are your standard beach room. Beautiful view . It really is time for this place to be updated.
Would we go again ?? NO
The noise level is unbearable . When the drunks next door came back at 4a.m. and started slamming doors, yelling and fighting our sleep was over for the night . It sounded like they were OUR room. There is a bar/party palace about 3/4 mile down the beach and they party from sundown to sun up. They must have speakers the size of a '58 Buick. We had to deal with this all 5 nights we were there.
Once you are at Sebastians , you better have a lot of money for cabs if you want to leave the place . $50 is the standard cab fare from airport to Sebastians or anyplace else. The restaurant is very nice .. Good breakfast and great dinners, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Enjoyed our visit very much. Quite surprised by the room, which was on the second floor overlooking the beach, like other reviews have said most are mediocre. Beautiful view. It's now "our place"! It was great to open the windows and fall asleep listening to the waves right outside our balcony. Maid service was excellent and left the room smelling wonderful, not damp and musty like some beach places can be.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sebastian's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's on the Beach

Address: Little Apple Bay, Road Town 9999, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sebastian's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Sebastian's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian`s On The Beach Hotel Road Town
Sebastians On The Beach Hotel
Sebastian's On The Beach Tortola/Road Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian's on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.