We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar

Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar
67 Main Street, Road Town, Tortola
+1 284-494-0313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had dinner at the Dove after a great week of sailing in the BVI 12/6/2013. Based on the reviews expected a good meal, however the meal was truly excellent. Eight people at the table, had 6 different entries, all of which were great. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    33
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday dinner but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

First of all - the food was amazing. Ambitious combinations of local seasonal flavor that really worked! From pickled asparagus to roasted sauces to a divine flour less chocolate torte, we were enchanted. The service was attentive and the setting sweet, small and colorful. Loved our little table by the window! I will echo another reviewer that noise was somewhat an issue - luckily not when we arrived at 8 but by 9 the place was packed and loud - we got dessert to go :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten path but WOW!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

After a long week at sea this place was like finding a buried treasure. Small and odd looking from the outside but simply fantastic on the inside. Décor was nothing special but simple, clean and welcoming. We were greeted with a smile and acknowledgement that our reservation was ready and we were seated at once. Our servers were dressed professionally, were attentive, knowledgeable and engaging. They helped us with drinks, starters and main courses like true professionals. Everything from our water, wine, starters, mains and coffee were simple fantastic. If you are ever in Road Town you must visit this place. Serving 8 demanding, grumpy people isn't easy but or server Laura did it effortlessly. Pricy but worth every dime!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Restaurants in Tortola don’t give you too many options. Our favorite restaurant “The Sugar Mill” was close; therefore we decided to have dinner at The Dove.

We were sited in the corner, next to the window in a very cozy environment, however, there was no air conditioning, no fresh air, nothing, just a melting place to be. There was a group of 4 that were sitting close by, and they requested to be moved. We did the same, since the main sitting has small A/C units, however, the area is quite noisy, and the traffic in the new area were we were moved was rather disturbing. Having waiters passing behind with food and drinks, plus the rest of customer passing behind it’s not my idea of a pleasant dinner environment. The music was nice.

The food: nice presentation. We requested Mussels as entry; the flavor was just OK, nothing to talk about a little too much lime to my like.
As a main entrée, the Fritter Steak: it arrive cold, and the mushrooms and potatoes hot (I couldn't figure out why) any way, I didn't like it, therefore, didn't eat.

The price on drinks: moderate.

Overall customers are young adults, not a place to take children (even though there were some in the main room). The service is expedite, not the regular “Island Style”. Good place to have drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, but can be noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've gone here a few times with my wife and the food has always been nothing short of superb. We don't drink, so I can't comment on the wines, but the restaurant was pretty noisy for two of the three times we've dined there. If it's at all possible, try to get one of the 3 tables in the "private" corner (i.e. the little nook that's on the side of the building nearest to main street), howeer, it's a crapshoot sometimes, cause I've tried to reserve it once and I was told they would try to hold it (didn't happen), however we got lucky the 2nd time. If a more quiet ambience is more important for the occasion, skip it but you'd miss out on some of the best food on the island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.